We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little piece of Paradise”
Review of Terramara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kissamos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terramara
Ranked #7 of 16 Kissamos B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have just returned from 4 nights at Terramara and wish I could have stayed longer. The rate, in the middle of high season (July), was very good at 55 euros per night for two. The room was big and spotless, with a well appointed kitchenette and the view from the terrace was amazing, overlooking Kissamos bay and the mountains of western Crete.
Another reviewer mentioned the location being "remote", but that is just the reason why I chose it! It is still close enough to Kissamos (a 15-min drive) and just 5 minutes away from the small town of Koleni. It is also easily accessed from the island's main motorway linking Kissamos with Chania and Heraklion. Some of the best beaches in Crete (or even the world) are within an hour's drive.
The owners are absolutely delightful and will happily recommend restaurants and places to visit. They even have written guides which guests can use.
A few cats and a lovely dog are also here to entertain us, and they are ver well behaved. I am normally afraid of dogs but after meeting Harry I want one!
I will definitely come back should I be in Crete again. Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and all have a view of Kissamos Bay. They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I spent 5 very enjoyable days at Terramara as guests of Andrew and Margaret. In thinking about how best to describe our experience there a number of factors which combine to make Terramara a very special place.

1. Location, location, location

Terramara enjoys a commanding location overlooking KIssamos Bay and the Gramvousa peninsula. The view from your bedroom terrace is breathtaking, as you take in the sweep of the hills running down to Kissamos with olive groves and villages nestled within the landscape. Each morning we had breakfast on our room terrace and we marvelled at the grandeur of the view.

2. Value for Money

The rooms are extremely well furnished and come at a price that shouts out value for money. Andrew & Margaret are themselves seasoned independent travellers and they know what you are likely to want during your stay with them. They obviously wish to make the business wash its face (they are still trying to recoup the significant building investment) but the prices they charge are very reasonable for what you get. The rooms are very well furnished, to a high standard and the range of facilities including a swimming pool and adjoining bar, self service laundry, free food and materials left by previous guests all combine to make this a first class establishment.

3. Customer Service

When you stay with Andrew and Margaret it is as their guest, sharing the enjoyment of their marvellous home. Nothing is too much trouble to provide, from helpful assistance in booking your hire car, to providing advice on where to visit or eat or simply to share your experiences with them or sorting out the troubles of the world at the end of the day around the pool bar. When we left Terramara, both Andrew & Margaret saw us to our car and we said our goodbyes. In doing so we felt our custom was valued and that they cared that we enjoyed our stay. In saying this I do not wish to give the false impression that Andrew or Margaret had a brooding presence-you are free to engage with them as much or as little as you like.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are of comparable quality but the middle 2 (sorry can't remember their names) offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We capped our Greek honeymoon with a four night stay at Terramara. I simply can't imagine a more idyllic place to stay. The rooms are spotless, featuring well equipped kitchens, satellite TV (not that you'll watch it!) and large balconies overlooking an expansive view of mountains, olive groves, and beautiful deep blue seas. But the rooms are only the tip of the iceberg at Terramara. What makes it such a special place to stay are the owners, Andrew and Margaret. They go the extra mile for their guests, providing advice for day trips and dinners, loaning an extra beach towel, or - in our case - even helping with the laundry! But what is most special about Andrew and Margaret is their company. They are such kind and interesting people, after a day at the beach we found ourselves looking forward to heading back to Terramara to enjoy a glass of wine with them. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Tripadvisor askes me : Did you finally set foot in a place you've always dreamed of?

Yes I did :)

After 2 weeks in april, I was back in may/june and september.

The most wonderful people and the absolute best equipped apartment I ever lived in my many holidays in Greece and especially Crete. The area is close to everything and with the most wonderful views.
With all my heart I can not make enough recommendations it is just a place that has it all.
Easy to get to and affordable.
Many different villages with authentic Greek atmosphere close.
The local market in Kolimbari every Friday, definitely among my favorite places when you should buy the local specialties, but of course there are plenty of small traders in Kissamos and many larger supermarkets.
Wonderful experience, for example putting up one morning at a cafe on the square in the middle of Kissamos right at the bus station and look at the very local life.
Do not be surprised if you see cars with goats pass or make a brief stop at the kiosk. Or watching a Greek on a moped with a mule at his side. There is life and bustle.
After an enjoyable day exploring back to Terramara, have a chat at the bar with Margaret and Andrew, tell them about your experiences and they will give you even more ideas about where you might want. For more great events, find great restaurants nearby.
Enjoy the sunset from the terrace

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annette_prehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited Terramara as part of our multi-stage honeymoon trip to Western Crete and Athens. In total we stayed for three nights and found the rooms to be beautifully situated, well equiped and very clean. The owner's were approachable and friendly and had clearly put a lot of thought into covering all the requirements guests may have - particularly impressive in this respect was the amount of literature they had compiled to aid tourists unfamiliar with the local environs. this extended far beyond the usual local attraction leaflets to annotated and laminated maps that could be borrowed and their own tour guide information. A very nice touch, which we found particularly useful when we drove the coast road to Elefonisis beach and the wonderful mountain village of Elos (a circular route and excursion I would certainly recommend).

A rental car is a must to get the most from the location, as the site is very close to the excellent national road which connnects Kissamos to Chania and eventually on to Iraklion. Although you could probably manage locally with taxis, being able to get further afield is a must in my opinion.

I have no hesitation recommending this destination, both the rooms and western Crete as somewhere to visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay (two families, 5 nights) in Terramara. Terramara is far more than the nice and well equipped rooms. It's isolated location on a hill gives you a stunning panoramic view over kilometers of land and sea. Really idyllic! As there are no direct neighbours, you can walk freely whereever you want. It feels like having booked a whole ranch for yourself. The hosts Margaret and Andrew are very interesting people. They can provide you all the necessary travel information like local maps and explain you how things work in Greece. If you are travelling with children: The local dog Harry and the cats proved to be perfect baby sitters;).
Having a rental car or bike is recommended when staying in Terramara.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luk3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

What a beautiful place!!! A spacious, clean and well equipped apartment and a beautiful terrasse with a stunning view over the hills and the sea. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying at Terramara, which is ideal of you are looking for a calm place to relax, close to nature and not too far from some of the most beautiful beaches in West Crete. Margaret and Andrew are lovely persons and they were really friendly and helpful to us, giving us advices and making us feel at home. It's a pity that we didn't have enough time to try the swimming pool and the barbecue... we would have surely appreciated them!

Room Tip: All rooms have the same beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene_e_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissamos
7.0 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
423 reviews
4.1 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#22 of 108 in Chania Town
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
357 reviews
4.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Revekka Rooms B&B
Revekka Rooms B&B
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramara

Property: Terramara
Address: Terramara | Plakalona, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill deep in the Cretan olive groves overlooking the coastal mountains, Terramara is a small, family-run establishment with rooms for up to eight people. Facilities include private pool, patio, sun loungers and bar area.Each spacious en-suite room has a private patio overlooking the sea and mountains. Twin-bedded rooms include fridge, kettle, toaster and desk; double rooms also provide a kitchen and breakfast bar. Rooms with adjoining lockable doors comfortably accommodate families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terramara Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing