We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!”
Review of Terramara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kissamos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terramara
Ranked #7 of 16 Kissamos B&B and Inns
aberdeen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back Again!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed our 2012 stay at Terramara that we came back in July 2013. Margaret and Andrew were in Blighty so Tish and John looked after us along with Harry and Frodo (Tish's dog).

Again we had a marvellous stay exploring all that West Crete has to offer, trips to Balos, Falasarna, Aptera, Maleme, Sougia, Paleochora etc etc. Terramara's approach to warmly welcoming their guests was sustained by Tish and John and we enjoyed several discussions around a glass of wine or two, setting the world to rights.

Above all you'll marvel at the commanding view from your apartment's terrace, looking across Kissamoss Bay to the Gramvousa peninsula. Breakfasts in particular were a joy in the cooler morning sun.

Thanks for another great stay and say hello to Harry for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Thank you Andrew and Margaret for being excellent hosts and making us so welcome. Spacious, well equipped room with a fantastic view. Peaceful location overlooking Kissamos with every amenity you could think of. BBQ and pool were particular highlights.

Overall a fantastic week, we couldn't have asked for better hosts or a more beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pip-and-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Its off the beaten tourist track but with superb views of the Bay of Kissimos as well as the surrounding hills covered in olive tree plantations. A great welcoming and friendly place to stay - self-catering - but there's a large supermarket only 15 minutes away by car. And in the morning, its only a 5 minute drive to get your fresh chocolate croissant from the bakery in the village down the hill. Its also ideally placed to be a base from which to investigate many of the sites and beautiful countryside of north-west Crete. And if it gets too hot - there's always the swimming pool....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Whoever likes surprises will love this place.
Harry the tail wagging dog is the first to welcome you (right after the amazing view). Next comes Maggie and Andrew with a lovely smile.
The room was spacious, with a huge glass door to give way to the green mountains and sea.
The kitchen had all one needs for a good meal, and there is a cool place for BBQ.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleinerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Terramara Apartments are situated close to the village of Plakalona, near Kissamos on the North Western coast of Crete. We visited these apartments during the first week of September this year. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners Margaret and Andrew and their gorgeous dog Harry!! The view from these apartments is just breathtakingly beautiful. They are set on a hill in olive groves overlooking coastal mountains and the Bay of Kissamos. We had followed the instructions on their web site as to how to get there and found them no bother.
There are 4 apartments in this small family run establishment. All are very well equipped with en suite rooms, kitchenette, beautiful patios and lovely gardens which were at their best when we were there. There is a small swimming pool and the most friendly bar you have ever been in.
As well as the equipment supplied in your kitchenette there are washing and ironing facilities available which means a lot if you are moving to another location after leaving Terramara. You're travelling with all clean clothes!!!!We did a lot of touring from there also. The nicest place we visited was Elafonisi, which is on the south West coast, about an hour and a half from Terramara. This is a stunning beach with turquoise waters and clean golden sands.
Both Chania airport and Herakalion airports are easily reached from Terramara.
I would recommend Terramara to anyone who wants to experience the real Crete and some real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M.Comerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Fantastic location, wonderful, friendly host and comfortable well equipped rooms. Margret and Andrew have put together an idyllic holiday venue and are natural professionals.

I have no hesitation in awarding Terramara and its host 10/10, and highly reccomend this great venue to all travellers in Crete.

We will be back...so keep the fridge well stocked!!

Brian and Nas

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianandNas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The fact that I never take the time to write a review should say enough. Margret & Andrew are very friendly and helpful. Their recommendations (and knowledge) on which places to go in West Crete are a bonus to your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissamos
7.0 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
413 reviews
4.1 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#26 of 109 in Chania Town
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
169 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
348 reviews
4.5 mi away
Revekka Rooms B&B
Revekka Rooms B&B
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramara

Property: Terramara
Address: Terramara | Plakalona, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill deep in the Cretan olive groves overlooking the coastal mountains, Terramara is a small, family-run establishment with rooms for up to eight people. Facilities include private pool, patio, sun loungers and bar area.Each spacious en-suite room has a private patio overlooking the sea and mountains. Twin-bedded rooms include fridge, kettle, toaster and desk; double rooms also provide a kitchen and breakfast bar. Rooms with adjoining lockable doors comfortably accommodate families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terramara Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing