We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Breath taking"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balos Beach and Lagoon

Balos Beach and Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$176.69*
and up
Full-day Tour of Balos and Gramvousa by Boat with Diving
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Breath taking"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Worth to see this place!
After a fantastic roadtrip, beware by the road quality, you have to leave the car on the top of a mountain and hike for 20 or 30 min, down to the sea.
A fantastic wild laguna with a unique landscape with turquoise water and a huge sandy beach surrounded by mountains and water, all in a unique form. Beautiful place !
There is a small restaurant nearby and a local guy who is renting boats and kayaks on the beach, but otherwise there are not many services in the area. You may have a beautiful walk between rocks, water and sand so be sure you have good hiking shoes just in case. The place is big, it could take the hole day to spend in but we chose to stay on the beach and as a tip be aware of the sun burning because we feel that sun is "stronger " in this area.
We was a little worry for the hike because of our little daughter but she manage that very well.
A fantastic experience for a family who like hiking and nature.
Family /two children/April 2014

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank axyco2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,078
    898
    288
    115
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“do it by car (or bus)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

a "must do" if you are spending your holidays in crete.
there is plenty of review and pictures describing the beauty of balos.
to reach the beach you can either take the boat or the bus/drive your car.
the boat is the "lazy" option but if you are not scared about walking for 2km down a steep and rocky path (flip flops are not the best choice) and back, do it by car. the view is just breathtaking and it is worth the energy spent.
there is also a "donkey taxi" service for 9€.
the bus service from kissamos is very good and it avoids damaging your car on the dirt and bumpy road.
the bar on the beach only served (bad) sandwiches and no other food. better to bring your own food.
2sunbeds+umbrella for 7€, 1€ per person toll for the road, free parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tofuso_Lamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was probably the most beautiful beach in Greece we've seen.There's two ways to get there- either by car or by boat. If you travel by car you need to keep in mind that most car rentals won't provide insurance if something happens on that road as it is quite a rough gravel road. To be honest I found the road to be not that bad and it was worth seeing that breathtaking view as you go down the path. Bare in mind that you will need to park your car and walk for about 20 minutes down to get there and on the way back it can be quite a challenge.
That place is unforgettable and you won't be able to see it from the boat in full.
Def recommend to everyone!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank vetanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Put this on your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Make sure you visit Balos Lagoon. It was amazing! We had a great day. It is a bit of a drive, and a hike but it's worth it! We went at 4pm which was perfect, not the hottest time of the day and we got to catch sunset, a must see! The drive is not for the the timid and the walk is not for the weak. It's 2.5 km down to get there but the walk up is a bit difficult since the beginning is in the sand so wear good shoes and bring sunscreen. I had a waterproof camera, which was a hit bc the water was so clear we took a bunch of photos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmonkey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crazy drive to a beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First let me start by saying this is likely the nicest beach I've ever been too. The shallow waters, the incredible views and the backdrop of the island make this a special place to visit.
I drove there with my wife during our honeymoon in early August 2014 from Chania. The drive was approximately 1 hour to the entrance and another 30 mins to the parking lot. The drive beyond the entrance is on an unpaved and very bumpy road. We had a dinky rental car, a brand new Kia Picanto, and the entire time I was worried I'd damage the car somehow. Luckily we didn't have any issues except a dirty car upon leaving. For those of you that aren't comfortable driving on rough terrain or don't have great suspensions on your car, I would recommend taking the ferry to the beach.
The nice thing about taking the car is that we arrived at 10:30, before the major crowds had arrived. This allowed us a parking spot in the lot (if you arrive later, you'll have to park along the edge of a cliff and possibly walk a fair ways) and our pick of a sun bed. The walk from the lot to the beach is a pretty steep decline, about 15-20 mins long. Upon reaching the bottom and finding a nice spot, we realized we'd left our wallet in the car. There was no way we were going back up there to get it, so we were fortunate enough that the attendants trusted us in paying when we returned to the car, which we did in good faith.
The tour boats arrived after noon, but I never felt that the beach was overcrowded.
The trip back up was a bit strenuous, but manageable. Another treat with driving is the amazing panoramic pictures you can take midway up the cliff to the lot.
I would definitely recommend this beach to anyone in Crete and if you decide to drive, get there early and don't forget anything in your car!

Helpful?
3 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balos Beach and Lagoon also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Balos Beach and Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing