We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Bay Hotel, Crete”
Review of Sunny Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Sunny Bay Hotel lives up to it's name. Sun all day, the family were lovely, especially Roula and Costas who looked after our every need. Costas even persuaded me not to have a particularly strong cocktail, and so I stuck to my tried and tested Marguerita. Delicious. He probably wanted to get to bed early some nights, but kept on serving, as is the Cretan way. The Hotel is not, and does not pretend to be 4 star European place - it is a 3 star Cretan hotel with the added bonus of their care and hospitality. Clean, welcoming, friendly and relaxing. The wind blew up a bit but that didn't matter. As Roula said, " I'm sorry I can't control the weather" . No prob, it was still pretty hot for us Brits!
Some people stay at the Sunny Bay and use it as a base for touring so it is very flexible and it meant that the pool was never over full.. The resort itself is quite quiet but it depends what you want. For the money I think Sunny Bay is about right. Not many Brits apart from us, but the other guests, Scandinavians mainly, were very considerate. Probably more than us, so apologies if we were a little noisy when the football was on. Some beautiful trips around the area if you want a base, or if you want a nice quiet week, try Sunny Bay - right on the beach and a chance to chill.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms in 2 parts - extra for front part with sea view but as I didn't spend much time in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Went here with my son 3½ years old for a week between 8 - 15 th of june and we had a fabolous time! First of all is Kissamos a nice, calm and small village with wonderful taverns. The hotel was very clean and beautiful, with safe pools and with the beach just on the backside. The owner familly is so nice, felt like we were their familly and we had top service all time! I recommend you to take half board beacause the dinner buffet was very tasty. Very well cooked meals and mostly ecological foods. Apricots from own trees etc.Thank you very much Roula for taking so good care of us. We miss you and the sunny weather, at the Sunny Bay!!! Best regards from Madelen & Olle in Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
2  Thank Madelenefromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Me and my husband have stayed in Sunny Bay in June 2010 and June 2011 and we hope to be back in summer 2012. The rooms (with seaview ) are really great. The pool is big enough if you want to stay there and the beach is clean and great for swimming. The staff is really great, specially Stavroula the owner is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is quite allright and you don´t leave the table hungry! I strongly recommend this hotel if you want peace, quiete and a relaxing holiday in a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are just wonderful and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inkkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here for two weeks in June 2011.This is a family run hotel and the standard of service was excellent. The facilities were more than adequate but the main feature I should like to comment on is the genuine friendliness and helpful attitude of all members of staff. Nothing was too much trouble and I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TomTom5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I ve been twice at Sunny Bay Hotel with my familly and for sure we will come back again!It is a lovely family rated hotel with an excellent hospitability that makes you feel like being at home!The owners Roula and Nikos are always happy and available to fulfill any wish you have ,while their son Kostas has the best service at the pool bar (best cockteils too!).The rest of the stuff is very kind and well trained.The rooms are big and clean with nice balcon either with sea or pool view.The philosophy of the owners concerning the food (breakfast and dinner) is that quality is above quantity!We agree!Besides the hotel is at the proper position to visit wonderful places of Chania!Thank you for making our summer holidays,a summer dream!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Sunny Bay hotel is worth recommending. The personnel is very polite, the rooms are clean and the food is very good. There is a wonderful atmosphere there. A brilliant view from the rooms on the beach and the sea, which is next to the hotel. Kissamos is a charming town, quiet and peaceful. I hope that I will go to Sunny Bay next holidays :)

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the sea are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MajaaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

STaff and pool are very nice but that's all. Food is very narrow in its variety and sometimes very much stinking with heavy pork. We went on HB and in fact after a nice meal in tavernas we ate only some vegies for dinner as there was anything tasty. Food is for 1 or 2* hotel.

Side sea view rooms are very windy - wind noisy whistling under the entrance door to the room so we felt more like in Siberia, we had to use towels to clog it. SO if you have choice - we didn't - choose rooms with sea view - north exposure.

The beach very pebble one and small , no walk along the beach possible due to big stones uncomfortable to walk.

In the sorrounding many not finished houses (the Greeks had their house credits turned down and as they spent it on living and not building ...) look like in a poor or after-war area, so it does not seem like pleasent view and reminds you smth did not very well in the place - meaning no escape from reality.

The hotel has no garden or grass area. No trees in the area either. If you look for cicadas - not there.

A very windy area.

Cheap car rentals - Seicento even 20EUR/day if you feel safe in such a car.

Room Tip: north exposure - sea or swimming-pool some of the rooms have exposure on the staircase - you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WarsawEdyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnver, Manager at Sunny Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Edyta
Concerning the food we cannot change your opinion. May you prefer other type of cousin but I would like to inform you that all the meats are fresh and high quality, from local butcher and cooked every day in the hotel.
About the room, you are the first who didn’t like the room in front of the sea, even with wind. The winds are happened and we cannot change them, but is not all the time and of course is not like Siberia.
The surrounding not finish buildings are some under constriction new houses and there are no so many. Kissamos is a calm, country place, so don’t compare it with a capital. Unless you escape better from reality in places like Manhattan.
About the green and trees? I don’t know… look at the pictures you caught in the hotel!
I think you're a little unfair with your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
1.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kissamos
205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Molos Bay Hotel
Molos Bay Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kissamos
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Bay Hotel

Address: Kastelli Kissamos, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
#10 Family Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range: £32 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sandy beachfront of Kissamos, Sunny Bay Hotel offers accommodation with sea or pool views, traditional Cretan cuisine and free Wi-fi. Kissamos's centre is an easy 10-minute walk. Sunny Bay's restaurant serves an extensive buffet of local and international dishes during breakfast and dinner. The indoor and pool bars are perfect for drinks. Staff can provide beach umbrellas or arrange bicycle rental. Sunny Bay features a games area with table tennis and billiards. An on-site store is available for necessities. Each air-conditioned room includes a private balcony with seating. Rooms also feature satellite TVs and well-stocked mini bars. Famous Falassarna beach is just 15 km away and the archaeological site of Polyrinia is only a 10-minute drive. Chania Airport is 50 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Bay Hotel Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing