We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in an trip around the island”
Review of Camping Nopigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Nopigia
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nopigia is an easy to find camping, a little outside, well... outside everything. a good area to visit when traveling aroud, clean (sometimes a little outdated, but thats crete) sanitary and shady places. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bram D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Maybe because we haven't camped abroad a great deal, we were really blown away at such good value. We paid Euro 20 a night to hire a tent with a bed, fridge, light, table and chairs, with a sea view, in the shade of the trees. The tent was a bit grubby as it had obviously just been pulled out of off-season storage, but kept the bugs out. We used this as a base to visit places around western Crete such as Samaria, Elafonisi, and Kissamos. Not a problem with a car, except the Samaria gorge is pretty hard to get to from here - a 6am bus from Nopigia, but the bus back was late so we missed our connection, cue difficult journey and late night. The campsite is a short stroll to the village of Nopigia where there are a couple of very nice looking eateries right on the beach. It's a 10 minute drive to Kissamos which has a whole promenade of restaurants to choose from, as well as services like cash machines and supermarkets. The campsite itself centres round their amazing pool. There is a little shop and bar. The only thing that lets it down is the toilet block which needed a good clean - bit of a shame really. The shower blocks also had no doors on so there was nowhere to get changed. The washing machine was 5 Euros - pretty steep but balanced by other bargain prices. Overall, excellent, just sort the toilets and it can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Hire a tent instead of taking your own. Cost a couple of extra euros but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My partner & I spent 12 nights in a 'Tent Number 1' which is the big 2 room tent. Our site was shady, it came exactly as described (bedsheets, pillows, plates, plastic cups, k/f/s, table, chairs, fridge, lighting, power) and the campground facilities were really quite good. Outdoor kitchen with pans, saucepans, herbs, oil & vinegar. Outdoor laundry for handwashing plus access to a washing machine for a fee. Hot showers & clean toilets. Taverna by the GORGEOUS swimming pool (as good as in the photos!!), mini mart with limited supplies (no fresh fruit or veg).
Overall, we were super happy with our stay, but it's worth mentioning these 2 things:
1. There were buses full of schoolkids (tweens) that came & went throughout our stay, which occassionally meant the pool was overrun with teenagers and there were lines for the showers at peak showering times (8am and 7pm).
2. CICADAS!!! I assume this is a seasonal issue, but they start at 6am and don't stop until 8pm, and they are deafening to the point that you don't really want to just lounge around your campsite.
They actually drove us a little bit crazy, and we often had to raise our voices while sitting around our camp table just to make ourselves heard.
However, 5 minutes walk up the road, there is a terrific beach bar called 'Ble' which we would often escape to. Also note that while there are buses around Crete, we made very good use of a hire car for a few days as Nopigia is quite remotely located.
Camping Nopigia is excellent value for money, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys sleeping in a tent with the added luxuries of a bar & pool!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We rented a tent direct from this campsite. We had a pleasant stay, the reception was friendly and helpful and the pool was very nice, site kept very clean as they all work hard.
Thank you Camping Nopigia :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orchidbristoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was a very good campsite. The location offers ample space for tents, under high trees and has a nice pool area with free chairs, and a bar/restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere. Prices are reasonable and the staff are very friendly. There are good lavatories, hot water, sufficient mirrors, sinks and sockets. There are several restaurants nearby. The surrounding area is beautiful and the vistas on the bay are very peaceful. We didn't really find a perfect beach but it is possible to swim in the sea.
One drawback: the crickets in August make a hell of a lot of noise, so staying under the trees can sometimes be really deafening.. The campsite is also a little bit isolated, not ideal for hikers, but there are buses and friendly people around who will give you a lift.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hackertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnaGiordana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissamos
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
0.0 mi away
Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family
0.0 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Alegre Beach Hotel
Porto Alegre Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nea Kydonia
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Koutsounari
Camping Koutsounari
#1 of 7 in Koutsounari
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Elizabeth
Camping Elizabeth
#33 of 114 in Rethymnon
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Nopigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Nopigia

Address: Nopigia | Kissamos, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Kissamos
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping Nopigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Nopigia Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing