We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed!”
Review of Maria Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria Beach
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on travelling tour of Crete. Very good service from manager. Lovely clean and comfortable room. Downside is the "extras". You have to pay an additional daily rate for aircon and sunbeds. However, would still recommend it. Kissamos itself is a bit run down but there are still plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2012, and has only positive things to say about the hotel. Right on a sandy clean beach, very good service and they treat you like family, clean rooms, excellent food (especially lamb in the oven), calm and quiet place to stay. Like a little paradise. A different side of beauiful Crete.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Offseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spend 3 nights at Maria Beach. The room was very nice, big and clean. Big balcony with a real sea view. The beach just two step literaly from the fantastic beach. Everybody were nice and helpful. The bar and the reastaurant on the sea. Every night dinner with amazing sunset and fantastic food. Prices of rooms and food very very affordable. Good position if you want to reach balos lagoon and falasarna or elafonissi, best beach of the island. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were staying about 30kms away from Maria Beach, and on a very windy day decided to explore. Took a bus from Platanias to Kissamos, and wow, we found Maria Beach. Decided to have a drink, however, stayed for lunch, dinner and booked in overnight. Have to say, we loved the place so much we went there about 6 times.
Andri, the hotel manager was absolutely delightful, very very helpful and professional. Our room was typically Greek - we loved it. Very clean, comfortable, and with fabulous sea views.
As for the restaurant - cannot find anything negative to say. A family run business, so friendly, you felt you were part of their family. Food was fantastic, and I have to say, the freshest, tenderest calamari and octopus I have ever tasted. As for the wine... yes, we loved it!
You must take a trip here, and I can say you will have wonderful memories,
Finally, the beach is perfect for children - sea shallow, sandy, crystal clear waters and beautifully clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We are back in Canada and my daughter and I want to confirme that you have contribute very much to make it a success...! Warming peoples, good breakfast with good coffee serve with smiles and judicious advices to plan our explorations...Everything to help us to feel welcome, and add on this very good price...! The olive oil is delicious...say hi to your mom and dad...! Rejean Genesse

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My family stayed here for three nights at the end of July and had a wonderful relaxing time. The restaurant served some of the best food we had on our 10 day trip. Comfortable, friendly and relaxing... what more do you want on vacation. The owners even sent us home with some of the family olive oil. I will never eat a black olive again without thinking of this trip. Watching the kids enjoy the beach, and NOBODY with a vehicle should skip the coastal road trip to Elafonisi! Take the inland road back through the long tunnel, but the views on the coastal road are gorgeous! White-knuckled for the driver, but unforgettable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We: a family of 5: parrents with three kids aged 6, 7 and 9 years + two other fmilies of 3, stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel in August 2012.

A very nice, privatly owned hotel n Kissamos. Consists of three buildings: two new and one older. We stayed in an older one which has a bar downstairs. This didn't disturb us in any way.
Every day we had nice, continetal breakfast there with eco food (eggs, home made cakes, fruits...)

We tried many restaurants and taverns while sightseeing in Crete but at the end we came back to the hotel restaurant. Octopus is the best! Not mentioning lamb in the oven or filet (!) SARDINES and many other meals. I think we tried all of them. Even our kids liked the food which is the best recomendation as they are very picky.

The rooms were big, with the kitchen anex if somebody is so desperate to cook. Some of the rooms have a sea view, not all of them.

The rooms were cleaned every day.

The owners are very hospitable, friendly, careing and helpful.

It's not a porshe hotel. I recomend it to everybody who wants to relax and have peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a sea view which can be an adventage when the sea is not calm... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BiBi-COM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.1 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kissamos
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kissamos
Hotel Kissamos
#6 of 18 in Kissamos
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Beach

Address: Mavros Molos Beach, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#4 Family Hotel in Kissamos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range: £25 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maria Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Beach Hotel is located at the sea shore of Mavros Molos in Kissamos, Chania, crete. It is a small family hotel with a sea front restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maria Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Beach Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing