We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiar hospitality in a very relaxing landscape”
Review of Maria Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria Beach
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Familiar hospitality in a very relaxing landscape”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Despite the complex was sold out with cheerful groups of French and German trekking amateurs, families with children and couple as ours with our two friends, the well organized family of the Maria Beach handled all these type of customers with incredible kindness and flexibility to our extremely different needs. Nothing seemed too much trouble to them as we could see them only smiling from the bottom of their heart.
Before leaving to Italy, we had the pleasure to embrace Mrs Maria, the core and the soul of this relaxing place in Kissamos. We will be back again for sure because there were a place for anyone there: a romantic couple of chairs in front of the the sunset, a quite lounger under the shade of the trees to read your book, a young bar for people surfing on internet and a clean beach to enjoy swimming and Greek sun.
Their restaurant is a gourmet surprise: the first evening we were in the centre of the town for dinner. Nice, pleasant, something everyone should try in order to know the surroundings but when my wife asked the hairdresser where the locals prefer to eat, she told her: “at Maria’s Restaurant! They cook for customers as they do for their relatives!”
The owners make the difference in this hotel, it is not only the beautiful place: everything is made with love and passion and it is for this reason that you feel at home.
Brava Maria, bravo to all your family!

Room Tip: We asked two apartments with sea view and we were really happy of the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a wonderful time during our week at Maria Beach. We'd had a nasty experience with Ryanair (haven't we all?) and were feeling a bit stressed but as we arrived and saw the beach before us we soon started to relax.

The surroundings are lovely. The beach is in a bay and feels very private. I'd certainly recommend going in September as the weather was beautiful but there was never more than a handful of folk on the beach at any one time.

The service was outstanding with all employees happy to go above and beyond. The owners were very approachable and happy to chat. Nothing was too much bother.

The food was outstanding. The very best of Cretan cusine - lovely slow cooked stews, beautiful seafood, glorious salads delivered in bowls as big as your head. The dips we had down at the beach mid-afternoon with a beer were incredible.

The rooms were basic but clean and represented excellent value for money. All in all, a superb experience. We'll definitely be returning and we've already been recommending the place to family and friends. Ideal for a relaxing beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsAshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on travelling tour of Crete. Very good service from manager. Lovely clean and comfortable room. Downside is the "extras". You have to pay an additional daily rate for aircon and sunbeds. However, would still recommend it. Kissamos itself is a bit run down but there are still plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2012, and has only positive things to say about the hotel. Right on a sandy clean beach, very good service and they treat you like family, clean rooms, excellent food (especially lamb in the oven), calm and quiet place to stay. Like a little paradise. A different side of beauiful Crete.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Offseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spend 3 nights at Maria Beach. The room was very nice, big and clean. Big balcony with a real sea view. The beach just two step literaly from the fantastic beach. Everybody were nice and helpful. The bar and the reastaurant on the sea. Every night dinner with amazing sunset and fantastic food. Prices of rooms and food very very affordable. Good position if you want to reach balos lagoon and falasarna or elafonissi, best beach of the island. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tucone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caffy2
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were staying about 30kms away from Maria Beach, and on a very windy day decided to explore. Took a bus from Platanias to Kissamos, and wow, we found Maria Beach. Decided to have a drink, however, stayed for lunch, dinner and booked in overnight. Have to say, we loved the place so much we went there about 6 times.
Andri, the hotel manager was absolutely delightful, very very helpful and professional. Our room was typically Greek - we loved it. Very clean, comfortable, and with fabulous sea views.
As for the restaurant - cannot find anything negative to say. A family run business, so friendly, you felt you were part of their family. Food was fantastic, and I have to say, the freshest, tenderest calamari and octopus I have ever tasted. As for the wine... yes, we loved it!
You must take a trip here, and I can say you will have wonderful memories,
Finally, the beach is perfect for children - sea shallow, sandy, crystal clear waters and beautifully clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We are back in Canada and my daughter and I want to confirme that you have contribute very much to make it a success...! Warming peoples, good breakfast with good coffee serve with smiles and judicious advices to plan our explorations...Everything to help us to feel welcome, and add on this very good price...! The olive oil is delicious...say hi to your mom and dad...! Rejean Genesse

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.8 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in Kissamos
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Beach

Property: Maria Beach
Address: Mavros Molos Beach, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#4 Family Hotel in Kissamos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maria Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Beach Hotel is located at the sea shore of Mavros Molos in Kissamos, Chania, crete. It is a small family hotel with a sea front restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Maria Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Beach Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing