We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in West Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay in West Crete”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed for 10 days in a comfortable apartment here at Mirtilos Studios. From here travelled to some wonderful beaches (Phalasarna - my favourite, Balos and Elafonisi), hiked through olive groves and relaxed in Kissamos town centre and ate at some lovely restaurants. The owner and staff helped to recommend sights and places to eat around the town.

The room was regularly cleaned throughout our stay and comfortable - as I would expect for the hotel's rating and the good price we paid.

We didn't really use our kitchen for much other than making hot drinks and storing food in the fridge: when we discovered a chopping knife missing from the kitchen one was quickly supplied (likewise with a hairdryer). Staff were quick and helpful with any requests.

The pool was a wonderful treat, one day it was so windy we couldn't go to the beach, but here we were sheltered from the gusts and could enjoy the sun. The bar by the pool was lovely too: we didn't eat anything here (you can choose to have breakfast here), but drinks were good, including one very delicious Mojito.

Overall, a good base for Western Crete adventures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpotsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    83
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
66
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a great simple place if you're coming for a trip in west Greece. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The stuff are very nice and helpful! The only thing is that the water weren't hot at night...but other than that total value for money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naama_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 10 nights at the Mirtilos Studios end July. Our family suite and beds were ok sized for 3 adults and 2 children, cleaning was ok, no hairdryer even though promised, small balcony, stove was working poorly and it took 20-30 mins to cook some water, and in the toilet all racks and parts were loose. Airconditioning only in the living room but early in the morning the temperature was cool enough. If you disconnect the key from the part that has to stay in the room in order for the A/C to work, it was cool also when we went to sleep. Pillows by the way were very flat, so you need to ask for additional pillows from the cleaning ladies.

Do remember to read the fine print in the room details, I booked the family suite because it could accommodate "4+", but to our surprise you needed to pay extra for the fifth person. Our mistake, yes, but the owner really DOES want to charge 115€ extra for a 5 year old with no need for extra bed or towels.. The owner, who by the way has the biggest mustache in the Crete island, does not seem to like kids at all even though the hotel grounds are very good for families. No play area, but there's a large green area (where you are not allowed to play anything though), ping pong table, nice pool (just don't jump or have too much fun there). The owner with family had reserved seats right next to the pool and we felt like he was watching every move we made. He also lives in a family suite on the ground floor, so you don't want to stay up late on the balcony. The hotel is quiet after 11 PM, and if you make some noise then the rooms right next to you will be disturbed.

The location of Mirtilos is very good, short way to tavernas and beach road. Kissamos is quiet with more locals than tourists, which we liked very much. Excellent restaurant/taverna on the beach was "Sun Set", which was the cheapest and had by far the best food and waiters/owner in the village. There are great beaches and snorkelling spots in the nearby, also a tennis court and a great gym was found. Sunday mornings the nearby church wakes you up at 7 and 8.

In short, hotel rooms and facilities were very nice at Mirtilos especially as the hotel is 1 star only, the owner almost ruined our stay though with his arrogant behaviour, location is very good in Kissamos and overall the village was to us much better choice compared to the very busy Platanias and Agia Marina.

Room Tip: Family suite was to recommend, studios for 3 & 4 were not very large and two beds are situated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Great location to access Balos/Gramvousa cruise and Falassarna beach. Room was big, well appointed with kitchenette and very clean. Also had a nice view of the peninsular from the large balcony. Theodore made us feel very welcome. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atommanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We checked in yesterday so this is the first impression, we have another 3 nights to go. Close to the ocean and tavernas and to town. Looks great when you arrive, nice pool & lobby but it ends there. Yes it's clean, but there were holes in the sheets, the aircon doesn't work and the beds are not comfortable. We have the 1br and the kids essentially sleep in the kitchen - and there's no aircon at all in there, only in the bedroom which as I said, doesn't work anyway. We had to sleep most of the night with the hall and veranda doors open just to get some air through so we didn't die of heat. Bathroom is tiny and there 's no bath. I would have expected a bit more for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brekalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Kissamos is a good location to explore the beaches and mountains of western Crete. Great fresh produce available for self catering and nice row of tavernas by the beach front - slightly less of a full on "resort" than some other places. The Mirtilos Studio apartments provide easy access to it all - nice, airy and clean with enough of a kitchenette to enable eating in. The pool was the highlight -kept lovely and clean, with pool bar for that essential late afternoon Mythos.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent three days in june 2013 on the beautiful island of Crete, in a small village called Kissamos to Mirtilos Hotel.
Kissamos is very well connected by public transport despite the fact that it's a little far from Chania. It's about a 40km distance
This did not bother us at all because there are a lot of places to visit in the vicinity and if you choose to relax @ the wonderful hotel pool, the staff is so friendly that you"ll sit there all day long.
We travel a lot but I met no place like here, they changed the bed sheets every day, thing that impressed me considering the low price that weve paid. I could compare without any exaggeration with a 4-star hotel
They are so nice that they booked us tickets for a small cruise on Gramvousa Island & Balos.
I strong recommend this hotel given that a successful holiday where you stay counts 70 percent.
Thank you very much because you made our vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinaBudac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
3.1 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
0.4 mi away
Sunny Bay Hotel
Sunny Bay Hotel
#7 of 16 in Kissamos
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirtilos Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirtilos Studios & Apartments

Property: Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Address: Tzanakakis Square, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#10 Family Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Mirtilos Studios & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mirtilos studios & apartments is centrally located in Kissamos, 150m. from the sea, at the point where they meet the beautiful beach of Telonio and the historic commercial center Enjoy the studios and apartments Mirtilos, the magnificent view of the enchanting bay of Kissamos, the beautiful green valley and mountains, the gardens and the pool. It offers cozy, comfortable and elegant rooms, each with its own personality. Enjoy our local products during your breakfast in our designated area of Mirtilos Hotel. Our Bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening΄s entertainment or relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mirtilos Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing