We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing holidays”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We spent 10 wonderful days in Samos. Beautiful island with lots of green and nice seaside. Our stay in Mary Apartments was perfect. Confortable clean room with a nice view. We enjoied our nights at the poolbar (drinking and dancing), where we met some intersting people. Filimon, Nikos and Mary were very friendly and helpfull. Filimon booked for us a car in a very good price, so we discovered around the island .
We 're looking forward to seeing you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ANTONYKinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

RAY & MEXICANS visit to HOTEL MARY.Well what can i say ,after 14 holidays to the same apartments and looking forward to 2010 holiday,We have known Filimon,Mary Nikos now for 8 years and everytime we return we are treated as there own family This must speak for itself. Homely,friendly excellent family run . The rooms are excellent and clean, and we have stayed in most of the rooms. Everywhere you go in the hotel there are flowers ,and plants. The reception is very welcoming. The pool is great, with sunloungers and there is a cupboard with loads of books to read if you just want to relax. The evening can be spent around the resort, plenty of bars taverna's places to eat Nostos, Anna's great food. As you walk from the road upto the Mary Hotel it stands out from any other , flowers drape the hotel.I have uploaded some pictures of some great nights at the hotel. All i can say go the once and you will definatley go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RAYMEXICAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have to agree with a couple of recent reviews. These apartments are very disappointing, and simply not what we expected given the mostly very positive opinions posted on Trip Advisor.

We agree that the rooms are very tired, and definitely need refurbishment. The catering facilities are extremely basic and tatty. We would also complain that bins for general household rubbish, together with toilet bins, were not emptied during our stay. These bins should be emptied daily.

There were very few other guests at Mary Apartments during our stay, with maybe as many as six rooms occupied. The guests we chatted with were also disappointed with the accommodation.

The bar area was as dead as a dodo every evening. There was most certainly no music, and you can hardly dance without music. Not that we're complaining - we prefer P&Q.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim'n'Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

After being persuaded that we must visit Samos and stay at Mary Hotel mainly because of the atmosphere, especially at night, we arrived in mid-September to be told that the bar had closed for the season the night before and that the hotel was closing fully two days after we were due to leave. Consequently, whilst the owners were very helpful and sat with us by the pool on occasion, there was an air of winding down. We agree with the previous reviewer that the rooms are very tired and in urgent need of repair and redecoration. We were particularly disappointed that the cooking facilities were so very limited, one medium and one tiny hotplate, two saucepans and few utensils. One of the joys of being abroad is to visit local markets and prepare the occasional meal rather than eating out all the time. Unfortunately, we had to eat out 12 of the 14 days which meant that the holiday cost much more than anticipated. In conversation with local Greek residents it appeared that the Mary Hotel was also very expensive for the time of year. We were offered a whole three bedroomed house for €20 per night less than the Mary hotel.

We loved Samos and very much enjoyed the Flavours bar and the Mad Promegarate bar. Best restaurants were the Blue Bucket in Kambos and Stella's, a small Cypriot place in Balos, a lovely little seaside village about 10km away.

We might well go back to Samos, but would stay in Pythagarion where there is a much greater choice of things to do and is a lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IainDroitwichSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Mary Apartments is Trip Advisor's most highly rated place to stay in Samos. We are very puzzled.

For sure, the owners are very nice people. Like most Greek hotels, the accommodation here is basic, and the rates are reasonable. However, the rooms are disappointingly tired, and in need of refurbishment. The kitchenette area is shabby and cramped, and you only get the most basic equipment. During our week's stay, nobody cleaned any of the rooms. Even worse, nobody emptied the bins in either the bathroom or the kitchenette, which doesn't earn top marks for cleanliness. Those bins got very full, and we had to keep compressing the contents (nice job for the toilet bin). The other guests we spoke with made all the above comments themselves, and were similarly disappointed - so it's not just us! Overall, not good enough.

Maybe a few years ago this place might have deserved a top rating. But not now. We realise our comments are very different from other reviewers, and will be read with great scepticism by many of you. You may think we are whingers, who are never satisified. Can we REALLY be right, and can every other reviewer REALLY be wrong? We believe so.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0tusEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This place was quite lovely but far off the beaten path. We didn't realize that when we booked it. We arrived in late afternoon at Pythagorio and had to rent a car when we realized how far away Kampos Marathokampos was. We enjoyed the drive there. The only problem with our selection was that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the hotel or little beach town where it is located because we went to Ephesus the next day, returned at dark again, and left the next morning. It would have been good if the proprietor Nicoli Filimon had explained that the hotel was on the opposite end of the island from both Samos City and Pythagorio and sent us directions so we could have understood.

The hotel was lovely - clean and comfortable. I think we had to supply our own soap, etc. Nice pool. This is the kind of place to go and enjoy a beach vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Mary Hotel and apts proved to be a great place to stay on Samos. We enjoyed visits to Karlovassi and Pythagorio, but were glad we didn't stay there. This little beach town has it all, without the crowds and parking problems. Owner was most helpful arranging a rental car and a trip to Ephesus. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea, and it was delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
0.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
156 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#18 of 20 in Kokkari
33 reviews
10.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Konstantinos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Kerkis Bay Hotel
#13 of 13 in Marathokampos
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
#4 of 13 in Marathokampos
61 reviews
6.3 mi away
Merope Hotel
Merope Hotel
#4 of 8 in Karlovasi
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Address: Kampos, Marathokampos 831 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range: £24 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mary Apartments is a 3 star self-catering Hotel in the resort of Kamos Marathokampos on the South Coast of the beautiful island of Samos, in the East Aegean Sea. The wonderful family atmosphere ensures that you will be very welcome and comfortable as all your needs are catered for. The hotel is situated only a couple of minutes' stroll away from the center and the beach is just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Apartments sámos
Mary Apartments Hotel sámos
Hotel Mary Samos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing