We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptively relaxing”
Review of Votsalakia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Votsalakia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Reviewed 2 July 2010

You couldn't ask for a better location within the resort of Kambos/Votsalakia. It's just across the road to the beach, and you are next door to a supermarket (perfect for lugging the six packs of water), and the cash point.

You're a minute from a handful of tavernas and you'd never have to walk more than 20 minutes to reach the outskirts of the tavernas, of which there are plenty. The beach goes on and on, and isn't hugely populated. The resort has a half dozen supermarkets, a couple of gift shops, and a couple of jewellers. To see more of the island, you really need to hire a car. Whilst the roads are okay, the Pythagoria road is the hairier route around the island. You're an hour away from kokkari and Samos town.

There's no internet cafe in the resort but plenty of places offer wireless, so if you want to get online, take along a wireless device.

the hotel itself was spotless, though the rooms were fairly averagely decorated. Air conditioning was still 6 euros a night and fridge 3 euros. I had a room in the main hotel over looking the sea and the pool. Didn't notice any traffic noise myself. The cats were about, but not everywhere.

pool area not hugely overcrowded, had it to myself for a good proportion of the time, and there are usually lilos if you fee like lounging in the middle of the water, rather than having to buy one yourself.

Resort and hotel were not quite what I was expecting, and a little quieter in terms of things to do than I am used to. However, I still didn't want to leave - it lulls you into it's relaxed pace of life.

Excellent value for money.

Possibly only downside was that the locals didn't seem to want you to speak greek...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hellonophile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

Just returned from two weeks stay at Votsalakia Hotel, Votsalakia, Samos. Had a fabulous, relaxing holiday. We had a room overlooking the road and beach which could be a bit noisy at times but the views were spectacular. The breakfasts are more than adequate - feta, cooked meats, eggs, tomotoes, olives, yogurt and honey, fruit juices, tea and coffee taken on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool. We ate at a different restaurant every night and didn't have one bad meal, the prices are very reasonable as well, starter, two main courses, jug of wine - usually under 30 euros. The round the island trip was very good value, the guide was very knowledgable and informative. If you like to walk, there are several in the vicinity, we walked up to Pythagoras caves, to Marathokampos a small village in the hills with spectacular views and also the small harbour of Ormos which is very quaint and colourful. I would recommend this hotel and resort to couples, there were no children in the hotel (plenty of cats though). Michele, our rep, was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sananal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I stayed here with my best friend (I am 22 and she is 20). Although a quiet resort, it was everything we'd asked for. The restaurants are AMAZING (especially Anna's Place). The hotel's restaurant (across the road) has the most amazing views of the sea and you get 10% off. Everyone is so incredibly friendly.

The beach is two minutes away, it's very rocky and you have to pay 5 euros for two sunbeds and an umbrella. One warning is that the hotel does charge for every little thing including air conditiong (6 euros a day) and use of the fridge (3 euros a day). Saying that, the fridge is really useful as you can enjoy wine out on the balcony. We had amazing views of the mountain. The rooms are really clean and cleaned every other day (fresh towels and linen etc.).

For a cheap holiday I would really recommend the hotel and the area. There is fun if you want to find it (try Heaven, a great little bar along the main strip, and Flavour, another great cocktail bar).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine_lover87_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Fantastic Location,Food,People,Beach
THE hotel is very clean and well maintained. . If you try a few greek phrases their eyes light and they relly do appreciate you trying
Some of the places we ate at were the hotel itself, ANNA'S, NOSTOS AND one of theTAKEAWAY PLACES Towards NOSTOS'S All were very good. No faults at all with them all very friendly
Free sunbedsaround the pool(SOME PLACES YOU HAVE TO PAY) and on the hotelsbeach. PANI AND PEDRO who serve at the bar/cafe are really good lads friendly and helpful and knowledgeable.
FOOD AND DRINK CHEAP. COCKTAILS DEAR 6 EUROS.
Our rep MICHELLE (THOMAS COOK/MANOS) is, EXCELLENT answered all question,very helpful and polite, a rep you can have a laugh with., ONE OF THE BEST REPS WE'VE HAD.
We will be going back there and would recommend it for a relaxing holiday TRY THE SAMOS WINE VERY VERY NICE.
The pool could do with its own bar /snack bar but it is only a stroll to the bar/cafe

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonesy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Our third visit to Votsalakia and our first time at this hotel. Very nice small friendly hotel. Absolutely spotless, rooms cleaned daily. Pleasant pool and breakfast area. The breakfasts were nice with plenty of tea/coffee. Restaurant well worth a visit too. Typical small Greek hotel. In a lovely location overlooking beach. Taxis situated outside hotel and service bus also stops outside. Fantastic range of tavernas in Votsalakia. Samos is a beautiful island and Votsalakia a very friendly resort. It wont suit those looking for night clubs and organised entertainment. Suits us though and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 177rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thomas Jochen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
0.5 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Marathokampos
215 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Kerkis Bay Hotel
#13 of 13 in Marathokampos
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirena Residence & Spa
Sirena Residence & Spa
#3 of 13 in Marathokampos
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
#4 of 13 in Marathokampos
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Votsalakia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Votsalakia Hotel

Address: Marathokampos 83102, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range: £29 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Votsalakia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Votsalakia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Votsalakia Hotel sámos
Votsalakia Hotel Samos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing