We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kerkis Bay”
Review of Kerkis Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Kerkis Bay”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice clean hotel in Ormos. Breakfast every day, included. The balcony was a bit small, but overall a very nice hotel with friendly staff for a good price.
Not very far from Votsalakia village (about 3 kilometres), where you can rent bikes, motorbikes and cars for a cheap price. You can book various Boat trips as well, The Best Beach nearby is Psili Ammos which is about 6 kilometres from Ormos. I went there alomost every day, it's a good place for snorkeling with very clear water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonniB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I spent about a week at the Kerkis Bay Hotel and was favourably impressed both by the Hotel (mind you, it is very simple but OK) and the village. My room was quite large with a small balcony (big enough for a little table and two chairs).
Both Ms. Stella and Mr. Socrates were very kind and helpful.
The village is quite peculiar: a few houses, a supermarket, 2 bakeries, 2 souvenir shops. No ATM, no farmacy. Just a few tourists, mainly Greeks or North Europeans.
Lovely place, but you definitely need a car. I'm used to travelling by bus in Greece, but I had the impression that this area is not particularly well served, as far as transportation is concerned.

Room Tip: Room 106 is very nice. Room 104 is OK but it is very sunny in the afternoon and you cannot possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Arrived very early in the morning, tired and wet, to find rooms ready and a breakfast including coffee, tea, yogurt, olives, ham, cheese, wonderful bread and fruit, waiting. By the second night I had learned how to use the heat (it was a stormy few days) so my room was warm. Juliette balcony was too small for more than one person, but great for drying laundry. Bed was typically Greek-hard, and hot water, provided only by solar power, was intermittent, but that was part of the fun. Food was excellent!
Would go back given the slightest reason, and thanks to the hostess for being so friendly and considerate.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not face the sea, but the hotels' taverna at the sea side is covered and screened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersnicketyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llangadfan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

stayed in this hotel recently, i found it ok, room was good and spacios and all things worked, other members of our party had problems with fridges etc.
the food and service was excellent, the sraff very friendly and helpful
only bad thing was the sond of roaring motorbikes at 4 in the morning

Room Tip: opt for one in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A lovely comfortable hotel with all mod cons, hairdryer, safe, tv, phone, wonderful bath (unusual for Greece), heater-airconditioner, plenty of sockets, lift. Staff extremely friendly, maid Katerina was in everyday emptying bins & regularly changed towels & sheets. Pleasant balcony at side looking forward towards the sea. Stella on reception & everywhere else could not do enough to make our stay memorable & a real asset to the hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of Greek Yoghurt & honey, plus toast, cereal, cheese, ham, marmalade, fresh orange & coffee. Breakfast either inside or outside in Hotel Taverna.

Not many visitors around this May, mostly from Scandanavian countries with just a scattering of Brits, postbox had been removed & just one supermarket with an amazing assortment of stock, also a wonderful bakery served us well!

Weather in May very changeable with some thunderstorms, but sun most days. Lots of lovely walks & relaxation round the pretty working harbour. Enjoyed the food in all the Tavernas & great Pizzas at the very friendly Pizza Cave. This is a working Traditional Greek village & has to be one of the most friendly villages in Greece we have visited.

Early in season no organised excursions either by sea or road, next resort Votsalakia has a pleasant sandy beach, gift shops & tavernas, more touristy but pleasant & only took approx 40 minutes to walk there for us pair of pensioners, be careful as locals dont give you much space. Also ensure carry a torch at night we experienced couple of power cuts, fortunately had our torches.

Would love to visit Kerkis Bay & Ormos again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhiannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Kerkis for a week last year and although we had the most wonderful time on Samos and adored Ormos we weren't overly impressed with the hotel. More for the staff than the structure I must say. This view has been reinforced recently. We have decided to go back to Ormos this year for 3 weeks as we loved it so much and through laziness as much as anything decided to check availability at Kerkis. Before contacting them we ran our eye over Booking.com and found a double room price of €47 per night. Rather than give money to the site we wrote to Stella at Kerkis and asked for a price on a double room thinking that if it was the same we'd book direct and let the hotel have the extra - every little bit counts. She came back to us with "a much reduced price because you stayed with us before and you're staying a long time" of a lovely €57 per night. Hmmmmmm. Thanks. This reminded us of some details of our stay last year (asking for double the rental price of a motorbike/cleaning the room once every 3 days or so but only after constant badgering when the site and booking said daily cleaning) and her attitude towards her guests. Polli da spenare we say here in Italy - ripe to be ripped off at any opportunity. I would say that the hotel is in a great position, the rooms are ok but it's a struggle to have them cleaned, food average and way below the quality of the rest of the restaurants on the harbourfront. Ok hotel very poor service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aegean
Level Contributor
212 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in Marathokampos for the first time and although we love Samos I don't think we'll go back there again.
We asked for a room facing the sea and when we booked it, we were told "you will have both sea and mountain" . Opening the room window we could sea the wall of a half-ruined house in three meters opposite and the sea between the two buildings (the hotel and the half-ruined house).
The balcony was very narrow and you ought to close the chairs and the table in order to close the balcony window.
Stella was really hepfull and polite (you like her from the first moment) but the owner was rude and always looked to be in a bad mood. (Maybe he doesn't like Greek customers, I don't know what else to suppose.)
The room was ok, clean but I didn't like the dark painted furniture. Bathroom although clean had always a 'smell'.
Breakfast buffet was poor and exposed to flies. The owner looked us with a 'half eye' when we approached for a second time there.
Marathokampos is really a tranditional fish village but has nothing to do with the rest of the island.
Maybe it looks as if it is still back in 1980...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
1.2 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
149 reviews
18.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
5.9 mi away
Merope Hotel
Merope Hotel
#3 of 8 in Karlovasi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
121 reviews
13.3 mi away
Anthis Studios
Anthis Studios
#5 of 37 in Pythagorion
154 reviews
14.4 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerkis Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerkis Bay Hotel

Property: Kerkis Bay Hotel
Address: Ormos Marathokampos, Marathokampos 831 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kerkis Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KERKIS BAY hotel is situated on the southwest sight of Samos at the center of fishing village Ormos Marathokampos.Built in a traditional style it has 29 comfortable rooms each with balcony, bathroom, music, telephone, satellite TV, fridge, air conditioning and hairdryer.The comfortable reception areas, the endless pergolas outside, the superb Greek cuisine, the beauty of the area, the overwhelming hospitality of Samos will ensure your stay is both fascinating and interesting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kerkis Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerkis Bay Hotel Samos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing