We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familyfriendly hotel close to Lilleputthammer and Hunderfossen familiepark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent three nights here in one of their family suites. The bedroom had a doubble bed and a bunk bed for the children. It was spacious and clean and we had two bathrooms. We have had a great summer in Norway this summer and I dont really want to complain about this, but it makes it hard to sleep at night because it is often too warm in the bedroom. Each room had a fan, but it still was too hot to sleep at night. (The hotell is not responsible for the weather, I know that...)

The brekfast was included, we enjoyed it very much. Our children love pancakes and had this for most of the meals, us adults tried many things and found that the food was varied and good. In the evening we had the Family buffet, where the children from 0-6 could eat for free if one or more adults join them.

I reccomend the hotel especially to families going to Lilleputthammer (just around the corner) and Hunderfossen (3 Kilometer). In the winter you can go skiing close by.

The staff was welcoming and friendly, they helped us with everything we asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hafjell Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We planned a stop-over at Øyer on our way to the gathering at Dombås Saturday afternoon. We came to the hotel and got a room immediately from the helpful and friendly staff. We left our luggage in the room and went for some geocaching before going to sleep.

The kids "grabbed" the main bed and me and my wife were left in the bed-sofa. Not the most comfortable bed, but still.

The breakfast in the morning was a winner! Great variety of both warm and cold food. We could sit there and eat longer, but we were full and had to move on.

The bathroom appeared to be quite new, but the windows should be replaced in the near future due to water damages (rotten wood). Apart from that the hotel was nice and I would like to return to this hotel again later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The staff, without exception, are wonderful, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
However,our bedrooms were dark and dreary (111 & 113) which would have been fine if they had been external rooms but they are internal rooms which look over a changing room area, complete with a stuffed moose(?). Also a workman outside our rooms, one morning, at 8.30am was rather intrusive.
The constant warmth of the open fire is lovely and the sitting rooms are inviting.
Breakfast is absolutely fine but on our first night the hotel felt full and there was a buffet. By the time we ate at 7.45pm, the food had almost run out and was not replenished. Our second night was also a buffet and masses of food as there was only probably 10 of us dining. Our third night was not a buffet but prior to eating we had to choose between fish or meat for our main course, the starter was soup and there was one pudding. Not enough choice for a hotel of this standard and soup, soup or soup is not really acceptable as is one pudding, take it or leave it. However the wonderful staff save this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elseeCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafjellresort, Director of Sales at Hafjell Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback.

We have reviewed your feedback and notified to each department on what should be improved.

For your information, the elk moved away from the hotel today.

Kind regards

Mr Geir Kolstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Great eating and sitting area, comfortable rooms and remarkably clean bathrooms. Reasonable breakfast and tasty dinner options. Mostly feels basic but the staff and comfort pushes it over the average mark. 5 mim walk to the foot of the Half jell ski resort. 10 min taxi to the nearest train station Hunderfossen or just across the street from the coach that goes to the Lillehammer train station for a more frequent schedule to Oslo.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafjellresort, Director of Sales at Hafjell Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

It was nice to read that you enjoyed the hotel during your skiing holiday here in Hafjell. As you have written, there is only a 5 minute walk to the ski center, but it is also possible to join the free ski bus that runs from the hotel to Hafjell. On behalf of the hotel, I thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Geir Kolstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way further south in Norway. The hotel is conveniently located near the main road. There are free parking of the car. Good breakfast and wonderful dinner in the restaurant.The rooms are rather large with a fridge and possibilities to make tea/coffee. As welcome we got a little glass of local jam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Expensive, but GREAT breakfast and right next door to Lilleputthammer and Hafjell leikeland. (1 minute walk)

We paid about 2300,- for one night, included Lilleputtehammer pass for two adults and one child (our child was free because of age, if I remember this correct it's free from 0-3 years old) and tickets to Hafjell Leikeland (If you want to go to Hafjell Leikeland, those tickets are very cheap...we didn't know before we went there)

"Ola" Lilleputthammer's mascot had a dancing/singing show at the hotel which all the kids LOVED!
There was also a little playroom, perfect for the little ones, BUT a dangerous stairway next to it......

We will not spend the night there again, if the price for one room stays the same.....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed comfy, and the size is OK if you choose familyroom. We got two separate double-beds...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were two families sharing a small three rom-apartment at this resort for two nights, with a bedroom in each end and a living-room with kitchen facilities in the middle. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and nice. Free parking. A bit surprised that our towels were not changed (yes, we placed them on the floor in the bathroom), but plenty were provided initially so it didn't cause any problems. Wi-fi worked fine and is free, and there is a TV set in every room.

The outdoor area is very nice for children, and there is also an indoor playing area for smaller children. Table-tennis downstairs as well, so most children will love this hotel. Breakfast is average, I would have liked more cereal options, for example. We had dinner in the restaurant the second evening, the dishes on the menu are ok, but the buffet was below average.

But all in all a good choice for families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyer Municipality
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hafjell
Scandic Hafjell
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
3.7 mi away
Pellestova Hotel Hafjell
Pellestova Hotel Hafjell
#4 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nermo Hotell Hafjell
Nermo Hotell Hafjell
#3 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
63 reviews
8.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
8.3 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafjell Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafjell Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hundervegen 33 | Hafjell, 2636, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oyer Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oyer Municipality
Price Range: £91 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hafjell Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 45 double rooms, 2 junior suites, 4 Suit and 2 senior to choose from as well as a cafe, a fireplace lounge, a pub, conference rooms and banquet facilities. All meals are served in our charming restaurant, which also features a playroom for the youngest kids and a separate youth section offering table tennis and billiards for older children.From the hotel it takes just under 10 minutes to walk to the Hafjell Alpine Centre. There is also a free ski bus from the hotel. Outside the hotel there are grocery stores and ATM.Hafjell Hotel offers upgraded accommodation for those who want more space and comfort for their stay in Hafjell. We have 2 junior suites, 4 suites and 2 senior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hafjell Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafjell Hotel And Apartments
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing