We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My lovely weekend with my boyfriend”
Review of Wishingwell Lodge

Wishingwell Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wishingwell Lodge
Ranked #20 of 26 Westville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It's was a fantastic experience for me in Durban. We stayed in very cosy nice apartment with a wonderful view from the window. Rooms were clean and tidy. Very nice style - make you feel like at home. Very close to ocean - you can easily get to the beach and to city centre! Very good location. Thank you Elizabeth (owner of apartment) for being so friendly and nice. I really recommend everybody to visit this place for Christmas or some other holiday! I d love to come back one day soon!

Room Tip: Best place to come for Christmas Nice view from the window very nice service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Yep--the title is correct--I just spent a week at the Wishingwell and while the setting is beautiful, the house has passed it charm due to poor management. The beautiful thatched roof leaks like crazy and the owner clearly can't manage. I stayed in three different rooms due to overbooking and two had been surfaced cleaned (found dirty sheets in one and uncleaned bathroom in the other). The third was the prize--a softbed set up in a large bathroom. You could roll out of the bed into the shower! The owner told me she had a softbed that had a private bathroom but no way was I expecting the bed to be IN the bathroom. With rubber tiles and the toilet in the same space--it was not a nice experience so much so that I had to clean the floor and shower with bleach on my own. To make matters worse, the two beautiful sheepdogs had not been groomed in quite a while so the main living area smelled really badly and the owner was sleeping on the couch in the dining area which made for awkward entry and exit paths. The advertised breakfast was cereal and canned fruit. Coffee machine didn't work and when I poked my head in the kitchen to ask for milk, I saw a nighmare of a kitchen that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

I think this is a beautiful house in a beautiful setting but the owner simply cannot manage it and was pretty unpleasant at times. Another guest said last time he was there it was much cleaner but there was a man managing the place and the owner was not there.

Room Tip: Dont take the "extra" room--its a bathroom!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank businesstravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The first impression is of a large African bush Lodge with beautifully landscaped gardens. Free parking and and fast checkin. Free internet in the room and nice flat screen TV and DVD player. Also nice self catering equipment. We liked the views from the windows over the nearby nature reserve. Our room was quiet from road noise which is very important to me. The owner is a friendly old lady. Highly recommended for a stay in Durban and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Value for money seems unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyPO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allwetterfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westville hotels
4.9 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
260 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Meritus Guesthouse
The Meritus Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Westville
55 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jay and Bee Guest House
Jay and Bee Guest House
#17 of 26 in Westville
3 reviews
4.1 mi away
No photo provided
Eden B&B
#21 of 26 in Westville
3 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Guest House
Kings Guest House
#6 of 26 in Westville
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wishingwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wishingwell Lodge

Address: 15a Wishingwell Road, Westville, Durban 3630, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban > Westville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Westville
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wishingwell Lodge is a grand, huge thatched house in Westville, Durban, recently converted into a bed and breakfast. The house is nestled in a magnificent and serene garden with a sparkling pool.DSTV, pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and more. We pledge fantastic service, quality accommodation and a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing