We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mirage .. I wish it was one”
Review of Mirage Hotel

Mirage Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mirage Hotel
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel location is very easy to miss as it is around the back of a small shopping mall off the road. From the outside we were ready to sleep in the car as the surrounding area looked very dodgy even by middle east standards. As you cant get the car around to the entrance we walked our bags from the car park. On check in the staff were okay and there was not too much confusion and they were helpful enough in getting a trolley to get the bags to our rooms. The rooms were big, clean and each has a small living room separate to the bedrooms with comfortable leather sofa and wall mounted plasma TV. A small fridge with two coffee mugs were found but thats about it, no tea, coffee or kettle. The bathroom was modern and the shower fittings were very very good (just remember to turn the water heater). One of our friends checked out the "Spa" but said the door was locked to the apparent sauna and the jacuzzi was not very Inviting.

After a good shower things took a turn for the worst. Once settled in we noticed the hotel had been interior decorated by Ray Charles. The color combinations of red & pink walls, brown doors and other decorations were horrendous.

We then started to notice a very strange noise which was constant all night, the bowing alley upstairs. We asked reception to send up a menu so we could order some food, in 10 minutes a helpful gentleman handed us a laminated menu (all with photos) and waited why we made our decision. The food on the menu is possibly the worst food on planet earth. All processed, deep fried, frozen from the food court downstairs. We ordered the “just pasta” & some chicken which was delivered 20 minutes later in polystyrene containers. The chicken was not eatable and the pasta was a spaghetti with some sort of road kill sauce that we were all very seriously worried about. We ate around the sauce and were happy that we all lived to see another day after the consumption. The staff asked if we wanted to have breakfast in the morning which we avoided due to the fact we had too much to live for.

We ventured down stairs to see if we could get some cheese and cold cuts from the supermarket to fill the gap dinner had left but all of the cheese was process sliced singles so we were defeated once again. We luckily had purchased some supplies in Dubai for the following day so we made do with some bread rolls.

As we had a very early start in the morning for a wadi b run we all went to bed at around 11pm. The beds are the hardest & most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. I have slept on wooden planks and straw filled pillows in Nepal and that was luxury compared to the beds in the Mirage. As we were all very tired we managed to sleep for about 20 minutes until a Arabic woman checked into a room between our two rooms. We could hear every word of her 3hr conversation, her screaming child was crystal clear as was the TV that she had on to drown out her child’s noise. The hotel has saved money on the sound deadening between rooms and due to this we had a total of 2hrs sleep.

At 5am we packede our bags and were happy to leave.

Room Tip: Take your own food, your own bed and ear plugs.. or just sleep in your car.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Mirage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

After the initial mission to find the place due to roadworks we arrived to friendly staff and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. Good sized room, lovely shower, robes, slippers, lots of those free toiletries... Great! Noon check out is good too.
I asked for an extra towel for my hair, but was told I wasn't allowed one. Not ideal, but forgivable as we were only staying one night.
Then there was the hammering next door till 11pm, and starting up again at 8am. A call to reception and they told us it wasn't actually in their building but they'd try to sort it. About half an hour later the banging sounded more distant, so I guess they did something. Appreciated.
Then the BREAKFAST that was included in the price....
Well, for a start I think they'd forgotten about our order. We waited for 15minutes after the cut-off time, and called. They said it was "on its way right now". Half an hour later it arrived. If we had to be somewhere at a certain time we would have had to flag breakfast altogether. When it finally did arrive an hour after we asked for it, it was missing three main orders (1x eggs, 2x cereal). When we asked where the missing eggs were we were told they didn't know how to make poached eggs so we didn't get them. Would have been good to be told that before the breakfast came up! Also, the 'scrambled eggs' were actually omelettes and were bone cold, obviously kept in the fridge as the plate was chilled too! Also, no jam or spreads as they had run out. And instead of two coffees we got a sachet of hot chocolate and a sachet of Irish cream latte mix. We did get the toast we asked for though!
As I write this my missing eggs and cereal still have just arrived with only 30mins to go til check out. The eggs are actually hot which is good. Still missing one serve of cereal but we've given up, still no jam either.
Overall: Nice rooms, friendly staff, mixed bag for service, don't bother with the breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This could have been my new East Coast 'go-to' hotel had the staff not made me feel so completely ripped-off. They added the booking charge (which was never mentioned on the website), then something funny was going on with the payment - they winced when I presented my credit card, then gave me two seperate receipts when I agreed to pay cash.

The reception staff explained that we had to fill out the breakfast order card and hang it on our door before 3am to have it delivered at a time of hour choosing. I asked about the charges indicated, but was reassured it was included. The choice looked really quite good which made it all the more disappointing when it never showed up. We had ticked the 0630-0700 slot and made it very clear to the staff that we needed to leave by 0730. It really wound me up when we phoned down to reception only to be told that breakfast is not served until 0900 and would be a buffet served in the restaurant (The adjacent Mall Food Court) - why didn't they just say that the night before!?!

It's a real shame, because the rooms are actually very good and the location is handy, but the place is being mismanaged and there is no excuse for the misinformation regarding breakfast - that really threw us off for the rest of the day.

I don't understand why a hotel would spend money on fancy decor and quality trimmings only to undermine the lot with incompetent staff who can't get the basics right and leave you feeling like you've been conned.

Room Tip: If you do have to stay here, book directly and make alternative arrangements for eating.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I had to stay in this hotel for one night as I missed calculated my scuba training so I was one day short in le meridien Fujairah, so what is next is a long story for one night.
What to begin with! Checking in: the staff knowledge is very poor, there was no one to meet us on arrival or help with the luggage until we reached the hotel door which in by the way hard to find cause its in the back of the building but they managed to tell me the breakfast time.
- Room service: there was no menu for room service in the room and when I asked for it I had to wait for more than 20 min for a menu and I had to go downstairs to follow up on my request cwith the reception, to find out that its provided by the food court of the mall.

- The executive suite is not a bad one but the design is a bit funny, as its under a bowling alley, so you will always hear some noises, oh by the way the executive suite is the most expensive suite in the hotel for 2 ppl, the A/c is central so u have to make sure it's on the lowest temperature to be able to get some cold air in the room. There is a switch for the hot water, if you don't figure that out before taking a shower I hope you enjoy cold showers, in the morning there was no water pressure what so ever, then I found out that there is no water to take a shower and there was no note regarding the issue and I had to call to follow up.

- Bed: if you like stiff rock mattresses then this is the hotel to stay but if you like a nice fluffy mattress then you will suffer to sleep and you might wake up with a back pain.

- Service: I got woken up at 7:15 am by some staff to let me know that the breakfast started and its till 10:30 where I haven't asked for a wake up call, I noticed that after his call that that some construction started inside the hotel, it seems they were calling to wake up the people so the can start hammering, when contacted the staff after it really got annoying,he claimed that's it was outside, when I insisted that its somewhere in the hotel he stated that he will check it and tell them to stop, 2 minutes later it stopped as he knew about it and knew who to call.

- Breakfast is very poor, it's include sausages, chicken nuggets, veg something and foul modames, some cold cuts some cheese and some bread. There was an egg station and pancakes.

The reception did not care that I checked out early as I couldn't stay anymore in the hotel due to all the inconvenience, she wasn't bothered what so ever.

I travel the world, I have been in numerous hotels, but this was the worst by far.

Room Tip: It's a very city hotel and it is over rated.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Ditto Steve Lockie's comments - stayed there a month ago and was pleasantly surprised. Clean and pleasant sanctuary if you just need a place to lay your ahead for an early morning dept to Mussandam. My room had TV and a little lounge area in addition to the bedroom and bathroom although strangely no glasses provided in the room for our in cheeky little sauvignon! (My partner forgot to pack the corkscrew which was - not unexpectedly -not for sale in the supermarket below (a diving knife is indeed a useful tool in such emergencies!). Convenient location and the only negatives were the mosque call early morning (I live next to 3 so you'd think I would be used to this by now!!) so bring ear plugs if this will bother you, and the fact that the online price was not what was charged - they added on to us the booking.com booking fee so book direct if you are going!! J

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We usually stay on the other side of the border at the Golden Tulip but decided to give it a tray. The rooms are very clean and modern and no musty smells, bathrooms are more than adequate and a nice selection of toiletries and towels, even lovely towel art on the beds. The staff tried hard to meet all our needs and overall a great option for a night or 2 with the convenience of being in the mall for the supermarket, etc. Bit clunky but they tried really hard - certainly we will be visiting again and a great option for the nights before or after those long Mussundam trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер был на втором этаже без определенного вида
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dibba Al Fujairah
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#3 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Jannah Resort & Villas
Jannah Resort & Villas
#10 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Hotel

Address: Sharief Mall, Dibba Al Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Fujairah > Dibba Al Fujairah
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dibba Al Fujairah
Price Range: £57 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mirage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Emirate Of Fujairah, United Arab Emirates

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing