We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS ESTANCIA - THEFT ALERT!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estancia Puesto Viejo
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had a very unfortunate experience that I would like to share to all travelers intending to come and visit this estancia.
First of all the estancia is located in a beautiful part of Argentina. There is a long 90 minute drive from La Cumbre along a windy, bumpy road. The estancia is literally found in the middle of nowhere, with no neighbors nearby.
Apon arrival, my girlfriend, son and I were greeted warmly, given a brief tour, served lunch and then we spent the afternoon at the river. There was only the estancia owner and employee's daughter in the estancia when we arrived, and then the owner took off into town, leaving just her worker's daughter in the estancia. Later that evening, my girlfriend noticed that a chocolate bar was missing from our room, so, I was questioned as to why I did not save any for her. I explained that I didn't take the chocolate, and I had no idea where it was.
Later that evening, two different groups of people came to stay at the estancia, filling two rooms.
The next day during breakfast, the French group were very upset and stated that they had 5 sweaters, female underwear, and other clothes that were taken from their room. Upon hearing this, my girlfriend and I checked our bags and found that there were some items of clothing that were also missing.
After doing some investigating, and through process of elimination, we found that the only person who was at the estancia for both circumstances of theft was the daughter of the bosses's employee. I immediately confronted the estancia boss and explained the situation and that indeed the only person at the estancia for both incidents was her employee's daughter. We explained that all the stolen items were ladies clothes, so, it was not something a man would want to steal. I was very direct and to the point with the owner and said that all I wanted were the exact items returned to both myself, as well as the French group.
In the end, the owner denied everything, we never got our clothes back, and we left very disappointed.
I would not recommend anyone staying at this estancia. We felt it was unprofessional, they did not do anything to rectify the problem and offered no compensation.
Please note that I am not one to leave messages on Trip Advisor, but, after having this happen to us and our French friends, I simply wanted to give warning to people who thought of coming here.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank marktincombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vir B, Propietario at Estancia Puesto Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hi I'm Virginia, owns and'm the one referred to in this opinion. I guess it was written before he could offer to pay for the things they missed. I did this when I realized that I could never be certain who had stolen these things they missed, just somehow meet my clients. Since there was no way to prove anything to anyone. If it is true that was the daughter of 14-year employee of stay, visiting his father, but there was no evidence that well off, and every person is innocent until it can conclusively prove otherwise, and especially when we are talking about a 14 year old girl. It was a difficult circumstance, it never happened before and it will not happen again because we take the precautions so that each person can put your things safely. Also thank you very much for this opinion was that we improve our security.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

the estancia is literally in the middle of nowhere;perfect if you seek some quiet days in nature..
it helps a lot to know some spanish, as you have to ask everything yourself and you're not given any information after arriving..but also the fellow travellers who stay there are glad to help.
prices seemed alright and the food was good!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreddyandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Puesto Viejo is a very quiet place, completely lost (1,5 hour drive from San Marcos de Sierras), where you can rest and enjoy wonderful landscapes, mountains, swimming in the nearby river and horse riding with Carlos - the man who can speak to horses and goats...
The estancia in itself is very simple somehow basic. Be aware that electricity and hot water are restricted and available only a few hours per day. If you are not the backpacker type, rather avoid the ranch rooms and choose one of the 2 rooms in the estancia - it is not 5 stars but they are bigger and more comfortable. Meals are basic and good but overpriced (49ARS each) - rather buy and come with your own food if you can as you have kitchen facilities.
All in all a good retreat but don´t expect cosiness and luxury. Here luxury is simplicity, quietness, stars in the sky, free horses in the field and nature.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aniolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

nice setting and surroundings but not really a working farm with lots to do. Was very quiet when we got there but nothing really going on and we did manage to get a few people together for a horseride but that was it really. No bread making animal feeding lasooing going on at all!

taxis - 180AR each way from la cumbre

food - not AR55 per day but per meal, per person so for a basic meal of pasta with a bit of sauce this cost AR50. The water is undrinkable and you have to pay for all drinks. There is no where to buy food once you are there so you are stuck. As a comparison in the local la cumbre you can have a large meat platter with chips and wine in a nice restaurant for AR50 in total.

The lady running the station is very nice and so is the countryside but the rooms are very basic rooms. very basic food for a huge price and to charge for water in addition to that when there is no drinkable water here is a bit much. Wish to stop any other backpackers having a rather expensive surprise. In summery if any backpackers came here for the cheap dorm rooms they would pay so much in taxis and food that it would negate any savings.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

There are alot of good things about this estancia. The setting is great, and very informal, there´s a river nearby, and it could be very peaceful, except that the estancia itself is very noisey with guests. As a solo traveller with some Spanish, though not fluent, the informality seemed to mean that nothing was explained to me. I understood that excursion prices are quoted for groups, yet groups of guests, even the whole hostel members would disappear on excursions, with no explanation. I asked to go horse riding and was told this could only be possible with more people, yet watched groups go without me, and was given no notice of when it was finally decided I could go. Its a shame, because I could see how this could be a great experience, maybe if you have fluent Spanish. I was overcharged for the room. I asked for a single and this was confirmed. Then I was given a triple, and charged the full price. This made it very expensive for me. The taxi from the bus station at La Falda to the hostel costs $150. (Argentine pesos). Oh, and guests are not allowed to use electricity points, so make sure everything is fully charged if you do go.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Researcher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dorian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos Sierras
0.0 mi away
Los Tres Gomez
Los Tres Gomez
#8 of 11 in Capilla del Monte
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada De Argimon
Posada De Argimon
#1 of 64 in San Marcos Sierras
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kailash Posada
Kailash Posada
#1 of 8 in San Marcos Sierras
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Marcos Sierras
Hotel San Marcos Sierras
#5 of 8 in San Marcos Sierras
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Quijotes Complejo Turistico
Los Quijotes Complejo Turistico
#7 of 64 in San Marcos Sierras
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Paraiso Apart Cabanas
El Paraiso Apart Cabanas
#11 of 64 in San Marcos Sierras
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Puesto Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Puesto Viejo

Address: Paraje Rural Puesto Viejo, San Marcos Sierras, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > San Marcos Sierras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marcos Sierras
Also Known As:
Estancia Puesto Viejo Argentina/San Marcos Sierras, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing