We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a great experience!”

La Cueva Del Paladar
Price range: US$17 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Home cooking with modern touches and hidden flavors. We have a terrace where your food or drink you can enjoy a sunset and a setting sun unimaginable. Come and enjoy it. We also have a tasting menu for 18 €
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My wife and I and our son and daughter in law visited the Cueva Del Panadar at the beginning of October 2016. It isnt the easiest place to find but its well worth the effort. The restaurant is situated in a 'troglodite' complex: you can stay there if you want, self catering or using the restaurant for meals, and although we did not go into any of the 'cottages' they looked clean and well appointed. There were few people there at this time as the season had really ended but the complex was still open for business. Guadix and the surroundings is known for its cave dwellings - they are bright and modern on the outside and well appointed on the inside. Hundreds if not thousands of people live in this way because the caves are cool in summer and warm in winter. The restaurant is partly built in a cave. We emailed ahead and told them we were coming and we got a quaint reply via Google translate, but they understood what we wanted! And that's it. The guys who run the place are really nice people. And they can cook! The menu is extensive enough covering all the main meats and fish dishes. The starters are also fascinating. We were the only people in the place when we were there as we like to eat at about 8.30 which is far to early for the Spanish who like to eat at about 10pm. All of the food was cooked to order and we could have watched the chef in the kitchen had we wanted. I can only say that it was ALL delicious and plenty of it too. The starters were enormous, not 'tapas' but big 'raciones', in fact one would have been enough for us all - but we had 3. Well, it was my son's birthday. Then we had steaks and a pork dish. Being British and squeamish about blood we asked for a bit of extra time on the steaks but they were perfect as was the pork dish. The wine list was good too - we had red and white - both excellent. I could go on and on about this place. Not sumptuous - this is a cave dwelling area - but not uncomfortable and the welcome we received from the staff was just wonderful. These guys know how to run a restaurant and you will not be disappointed! If you are in or near Guadix it really is a must!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cheesypeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel J, Gerente at La Cueva Del Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016
Google Translation

En primer lugar agradecerles su visita a nuestro restaurante que para nosotros a sido un placer atenderles y si se han ido contentos con nuestro trato y nuestro tipo de cocina todavía mas agradecidos.

No sabíamos que era el cumpleaños de su hijo pero si cuando me izo la reserva me lo hubiera dicho le podríamos haber hecho un postre sorpresa. De todas maneras Felicidades para su hijo y espero volver a verlos en otra ocasión.

Un saludo desde la cueva del paladar

Jose Manuel Juarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We had the menu feel dis for 12 euros which was really great. Food was well presented, the service was prompt and friendly. Restaurant very clean. Took us about 45 minutes to drive hear and well worth the time it took. Will definitely come again.

Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel J, Gerente at La Cueva Del Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus palabras de agradecimiento y espero verlos pronto por nuestro restaurante.

Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We sent 3 days 2 nights here, as a group of 41, at the hotel and ate in the restaurant, it was an amazing atmosphere, staff couldn't do enough for us, so attentive, including the chef who came out personally! Fantastic value and service especially as there were so many of us to cater for! The hotel was also brilliant accommodation and friendly staff, thank u to everyone for making it so wonderful :-))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daveclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

What a brilliant restaurant! The food was plentiful and well presented.We were there in a group of 41 and we were served quite quickly. Excellent value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

Reviewed this via the hotel site last month, before the restaurant was listed on Tripadvisor.
Had a fabulous anniversary meal here. It was peach season here in Benalua so all the courses were peach themed. 4 courses, two drinks and a coffee for just 20 euros. Food was fab, service was excellent and the chef came out to introduce himself and get feedback on his creations. Wouldn't hesitate going back here.

1  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva Del Paladar also viewed

Guadix, Province of Granada
Purullena, Province of Granada
 
Guadix, Province of Granada
Guadix, Province of Granada
 
Guadix, Province of Granada
Guadix, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Cueva Del Paladar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing