We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Tunas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Tunas
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We travelled back to Havana by car and had to find a place for a one night sleep-over. It was difficult to find something due to late hour so we wwere happy to find this state run hotel. We were please by the possibiolity to pay with your CC, price being some 43 CUC breakfast and dinner included. The hotel was built several decaded back and has not been renovated since, it is a bit dark, rooms are dirty but spacious, there is a swimming pool/bar area but there was no-one and the water in the pool has not been cleaned since 1990´s. Food in the restaurant was dreadful, maybe because it was based on all-you-can-eat model. Except for us most of the guests were Cubans driving trucks so it was a kind of "business hotel". There were many mosquitos in the room, the bathroom was a joke, TV OK.

We were happy to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milan_czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is so old, however, the people that work there tried hard to keep it going.
I stayed here for one night as some of my friends insisted to visit this place.
For overnight stay they charge 21 CUC single occupancy, breakfast included.
The air conditioner works overnight, you can't hang the shower head. They provide a lot of towels 4 pieces for overnight stay and 2 small bar of soap, no shampoo.
The hotel has a disco but opens only on Saturday's we were there on Wednesday,
To get to the center of the city, you can ride a horse buggy for 2 cuc and as it gets very late they charge 3 cuc.
There's nothing special in this little city or town (whatever Las Tunas), but the city has a disco and has some sit down restaurants. We went to eat dinner at Rio Chico, food is ok. The disco is also a stonethrow away from El Rapido, where locals and tourist hang out or meet.
I will not sleep here again I'd rather go to Cadillac for 10 cuc more you're in the middle of the action. :)

Room Tip: Upper floor I guess is better, stayed on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Just a complete waste of time. Service is so bad. Rooms are dirty and I wished I stayed at a rental house. Very slow paced staff and it got annoying. Pool was only highlight but even that was not great

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frankturriz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

On my recent trip, I decided to try the Hotel Las Tunas. I have had good results with other Islazul hotels and I figured that this one might provide welcome facilities not available in a casa particular, especially in view that Las Tunas a small place. This hotel has a good location, on top of a hill just outside the center of town. The hotel’s monolithic Russian inspired architecture is ugly and horribly dated, however this is the norm.

For some reason, this year the front desks at some Islazul hotel have been posting inflated high season prices, which are clearly not justified, based on their apparent occupancy rates, which probably run under 50%. A better deal can be had by going directly to the office of the local Islazul Agency, or in this case simply walk over to the Ecotur Travel Agency, located in the same complex, beside the Tienda. A basic room with double occupancy dropped in price from CUC 42 to CUC 32. Go figure (Es Cuba!). Suites with king sized beds were more expensive.

My plan was to entertain some Cuban friends at the poolside during the day, however I no sooner checked in than they drained the swimming pool for extended repairs, right in the middle of the high season ! I was going to try to impress my girlfriend with the pool and when I showed her around the hotel, I discovered that all the water was gone out of the pool, as if a bad joke had been played on me.

The rooms were clean and reasonably modern, the house staff very friendly and accommodating. The rooms have TVs which carry the HBO Latin America channel, which has old Adam Sandler movies and similar low-intelligence movies dubbed in Spanish.

There is a reasonably well stocked Tienda on site.

The hotel had one Internet terminal available for tourists, situated in the middle of the lobby. It worked.

The front desk staff was friendly but overwhelmed most of the time, moving at a glacially slow pace. This hotel needs a few more basic staff, such as an additional check in clerk, in addition to better training.

For some reason, it was impossible to place and outbound local call from my room, although it was possible for others to phone in to me. As a result I had to use the pay phone in the lobby. This was not the case in other Islazul hotels where the phone worked properly and I could call out from my room.

The breakfast buffet (included in the basic room price) was disappointing, as there was minimal selection of food items, no fruit juices, cold coffee and no chef preparing fresh cooked eggs and omlets. Instead, a server was busily occupied with tasks that were clearly redundant.

In summary, this hotel has very good potential, especially in view of its good location in small town, however before it can begin to realize on this potential, it must begin to offer up better services to its guests. The hotel is crying out for better management.

Room Tip: Choose from a basic room or a suite, but do the purchase from the Islazul Agency or the Ecotur trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Typical Islazul Cuban hotel - modern, Soviet block on outskirts of town, basically comfortable with the amenities you need and cheap at 25CUC singles. Decent sized pool, if a bit on the mucky side, slow internet available and iffy breakfast - checking in is the usual ponderous process.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgefoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel last summer. Price is good,20 usd per night for single room but.
No hot water
when raining the water gets inside your room
You can find any kind of insect in your room so be ready for anything
Stuff at the lobby bar very friendly

Room Tip: If still you wanna stay there,please make sure they don´t give you a room with balcony, that will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neves_Liliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tunas
42.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,506 reviews
97.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,325 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Islazul Cadillac
Hotel Islazul Cadillac
#4 of 5 in Las Tunas
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Club Amigo Mayanabo
#2 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
989 reviews
32.9 mi away
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
#1 of 1 in Puerto Padre
1,094 reviews
42.7 mi away
Brisas Santa Lucia
Brisas Santa Lucia
#3 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tunas

Address: Ave 2 de Diciembre s/n | e/ Ave. Carlos J. Finlay y Ave. 30 de Noviembre,, Las Tunas 75100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Las Tunas Province > Las Tunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Tunas
Price Range: £34 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Tunas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Las Tunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Tunas Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing