We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is just a great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilcabamba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria Izhcayluma
Ranked #1 of 10 Vilcabamba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is just a great place!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is just a great place to relax, hike, party, meet good people and have a great time. I recomment everyone to stay a few nights at this friendly Hostal/ Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairtravel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    74
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
221
108
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

While some reviewers have not been kind to this hotel, I found it to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. It has a fantastic view of the valley. The rooms are comfortable, and the showers are hot. The mattresses are a little hard but this didn't stop me from sleeping. The pool was cool and refreshing.
The food in the restaurant is reasonably priced and first rate.
I had a massage (for $12) which was great.
It is easy to walk into town and you can book excursions through the desk.
If you do book, ask for a room away from the road as it is a little noisy.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 612Brian612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spent six nights in this garden paradise in January 2012. The staff is e. xcellent, friendly, briht and energetic. The 75-minute massage for $18 is not to be missed in their private spa. The one thing I would avoid is the van ride on ELITE TOURS from Loja to Cuenca. A nightmare. Select any other supplier. But we'll be back to Izhcayluma soon.,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TejanainQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A friend had recommended this place to me for a relaxation and for sure she was right. The grounds are spectacular and lush, the staff incredibly helpful and accommodating and the food at the restaurant great. I walked into the town during the day but dined at Izhcayluma each night and went to the bar each night which was a great place to meet new people.
The massage and treatment room I was expecting a t a hosteria to just be one basic room but it's a beautiful area with river rock everywhere, relaxing beds for pre and post treatments and a full glass window to look out at the lush environment.
I stayed in a private cabin which was just perfect and I enjoyed reading my book in the hammock each afternoon after a hike, horse-ride or trip to town. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. A previous review noted rats on the roof but they are not rats, they're opossum which I heard one night and asked about. Big difference.
So all in all Hosteria Izhcaylamu did exactly what I hoped it would, provided me with a relaxing, fun and zero stress week. Thanks

Room Tip: Splurge and get a private cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

16-year son shared a dorm ($10/night including breakfast), while we enjoyed a room with a fantastic view. Friendly and very helpful people at the reception. Uncomplicated, the restaurant is not so bad and inexpensive. We stayed longer than expected and fully enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: choose a suite with a balcony, absolutely worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a trip through South America with my husband last year and just happened to come across it on TripAdviser now. I was really surprised to see some of the negative comments posted.

I got ill about half way through our stay there and Peter was totally helpful and got me in touch with a friend in Loja to accompany me to hospital and translate for me. I thought there was a good atmosphere and staff were friendly and chatty. We really enjoyed our stay. The food was great too and our room was spotless. It's not 5 star accommodation but if you're backpacking (and we're not in our 20s anymore either), it's a lovely and relaxing place to stay. The only complaint I would have was that they didn't serve dinner after 8pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

One of our favorite places in Ecuador. Sitting on a hill overlooking Vilcabamba the location is set in a forest of trees and flowers with butterflies and bird buzzing around. The rooms have style and great showers and everything is workin very well (German efficiency). The restaurant is good and there's a landscape of pools and small canals for you to refresh yourself. Last but not least it has a bar and playing area which includes pool, table tennis and a human sized chess board.

It's easy to stay here a few days without even leaving the location... ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
2.2 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Vilcabamba
270 reviews
19.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
19.3 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 14 in Loja
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Romar Royal Hotel
Romar Royal Hotel
#2 of 14 in Loja
33 reviews
19.6 mi away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jardin Escondido
Jardin Escondido
#4 of 10 in Vilcabamba
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Izhcayluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Izhcayluma

Property: Hosteria Izhcayluma
Address: South of Center 2 Km, Vilcabamba 110161, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Loja Province > Vilcabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vilcabamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Valley of Longevity in Vilcabamba, Ecuador, this unique hotel invites you to get away from stress and just relax. Its ideal location is a great starting point for the many activities that the valley and surrounding areas have to offer to tourists. Our accommodations range from dormitories to private rooms and even private cabins- tucked away in the many lush flower gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteria Izhcayluma Hotel Vilcabamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing