We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing hostel, I loved this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilcabamba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria Izhcayluma
Ranked #1 of 10 Vilcabamba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing hostel, I loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

This hostel was amazing. It is situated in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been in my life and is a short hike away from the little village. The village is awesome too - very friendly people and such a great little culture to this town! The hostel is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Great restaurant on premise too. The bar area is large and a great place to hang out with other travelers - ping pong, darts, fire pit, etc. Free bike rentals, lots of hiking trails, AWESOME Andes spring fed swimming pool. I loved it here and can't wait to go back. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    71
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
213
107
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We were supposed to stay at Izhcayluma for 4 nights, but only stayed one. The location of the hosteria is absolutely super but the price is too high for what is offered. We stayed in a cabin (with double bed, private bathroom and a terrace with hammock). We found the hammock to be too dirty and also the bedlinnen was old and even torn in places. The cabin were very basic although did have a hot shower. The hosteria itself has lots of facilities but basics are just not in order, f.i. no chairs outside by the pool and free bike rental but the bikes are really bad. We had to pay 36 dollars a night together for the room. This price is just too high! The restaurant of the hosteria however is very good. All in all, a very mixed experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetraAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

The surroundings here are unbeatable. The staff was wonderful and the big common areas were great for meeting other people. Having to bring your laptop to the restaurant to access the wi-fi meant that you had no excuse to stay cooped up in your cabin. The pool water was cold and there are bugs but this is how the world is. Things aren't warmed and antiseptic in nature. The pleasure of being in a hostel in a natural paradise means that you experience the great outdoors, good and bad. The food was nice (except the breakfast, blech!) and offered a little of something for everyone. The walks around the hostel were excellent and tailored to every fitness level. Vilcabamba as a town is unexciting but provides all the basic necessities (international phone cabinas, internet cafes, cheap almuerzos, lush plazas) but when your accommodations are as beautiful as they are at izhcayluma, there is little necessity to venture further.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

Spent one week at Izhcayluma.

Pros: The view is spectacular. The flowers and landscaping are beautiful. The food is lovely. The kids enjoyed the pool. The walk into town is nice and relaxing. Trilingual staff. The cabins that received regular sun were very nice and relaxing. No mildew or mold smells. Only sleeps 2 though. Would stay again if I could have a cabin; otherwise, would never stay in the other rooms. Some of my colleagues enjoyed the massages that were low priced (<20$ for 75 minutes).

Cons: The bar played loud music late at night. The smell of mold and mildew was overwhelming in the dorm type rooms. We left all the windows open as much as possible. The blankets and the decorative wall hanging reeked of it and in the downstairs portion, under the loft, you could look up and see the mildew growing in the rafters. The bathroom had rocks that regularly had slugs and millipedes climbing on them. The pathway to the rooms, after a rain can be very slick.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpudId
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We picked this place off the Internet only because we had just been to Germany ( Nov.'08) and it was listed as being owned by two Germans.
The location, if you're looking for peace & quite is~unsurpassed by anything, anywhere, second to NONE !
We had one of the Chalets. total peace and tranquility. The pool, although somewhat "chilly" ( it was early Feb.09) was refreshing. The restaurant has got to be one of the best values for your money anywhere. In spite of their location, where they could gouge on the prices, they are VERY reasonable.

The "only" down-side is the fact that you have to take your lap-top to the restaurant to receive WiFi and, the extra charge of $3.oo to access the Internet was, in our opinion "tackey"!
For young and for old, this is a GREAT place. Very friendly staff, especially the perky front-desk girl who was so enthusiastic about her job, we thought she was being paid to be so upbeat but it turns out, she was genuinely really happy to work there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Not in Loja but in Vilcabamba. 2Km outside of Loja.

Breakfast included. Our family of 4-- 2 adults and 2 kids ages 11 and 5. Stayed two nights. Room 4. Private bathroom. A shared casa with 3 other rooms and a small seating area and shelves for drying cloths and 6 hammocks in the back area. Stayed here Dec 29th and Dec 30th, 2008. We have lived in Quito, Ecuador, for 4 years.

Pros

• Absolutely one of the most beautiful places, in Ecuador, that we have stayed in
• Gorgeous but cool pool water. Super clean. Lovely bubbling, trickling water falls dispersed throughout.
• Mountain bikes are FREE of charge
• Spa is spectacular. Great massage rooms, lounge chairs and lovely atmosphere, staff etc were terrific
• My spouses massage was “amazing” but mine was so-so
• The showers in the spa did not have hot water when were there—mute point
• Restaurant has a gorgeous view of the valley overlooking the small town of Vilcabamba and of the mountains. The birds and lush greenery was so impressive that I became enamored with just staring at it, endlessly.
• Separate bar. Lounge is fun, has a pool table, ping pong, DVD movies and a dartboard.
• Bar/lounge is VERY quiet and a serene environment during the day
• Property has plenty of small areas to poke a round for quiet time
• VERY helpful maps of the local hiking and trekking trails. Each guest, room, receives a folder with all the maps, trails guide inside. GREAT idea!!
• My son and I did a 3-hour hike and it was fantastic. Trails are marked but not groomed and some are rigorous and others are not while some would be for expert trekkers only
• Book exchange, games, cards and Internet are available
• VERY friendly and helpful staff although one of the servers was a tad grumpy and did not smile much, ah well.
• GREAT food. The French onion soup is amazing as are the other German and Ecuadorian food options. Crêpes are good and the pizza is brilliant but food can take a long time to get, no big deal.
• Breakfast is fine. The coffee is yummy, fresh and hot and they put coffee out for the early birds, 6 to 7 am, yes! Breakfast, food, time is 8am. All the fresh fruit and yoghurt one can eat. Delicious granola too. Homemade bread is great and healthy. Fresh juice, of course, is a god way to begin the day. Really nice mornings.
• A fantastic spot for families. There was lot of families with kids, singles, couples who all seemed to have a nice chemistry together. VERY laid back chilled place
• The grounds are spotless and divine to be in
• The shower in our room was a rock-built huge shower area with endless amounts of steaming hot water
• The bar/lounge is a quiet place to read or write during the day because it does not open until 7pm
• Airport transfer is $30.00 one way- not bad if shared
• 2 big dogs are friendly and nice to kids
• Safety and security are attentive
• Phenomenal value for the $$$$ Not expensive at all!!!



Cons

• After you pass through Loja, a challenge in of itself, on the E35 Pan American high way, Vilcabamba is a tad hard to find. We needed to stop and ask for directions several times as many roads split off into different directions. Once through Vilcabamba, again, no signs so ask for direction to The Hosteria. It is well known by locals.
• The owners would do well to post some Hosteria signs along the high way through and outside of Loja to help navigate the way
• Many, many flies and bugs all over the place. Guard your drinks and foodstuff. My wife caught a beetle in her salad and two guests, who joined us for drinks, nearly drank a fly and moth in their wine. Just be mindful of such things here. Not a criticism but more of an observation. It’s nature after all. No mosquito’s that we saw. Staff were apologetic and replaced the food and drinks.
• No seating by the pool area. This may not be a bother to most but it was for me, as my back cannot tolerate sitting on the grass—ouch!
• The bar lounge, although a fun and cool place, with great music, to hang at nighttime, needs a lot of attention to the seating. The little that is there is old, ratty, dirty, uncomfortable and very smelly. Whew! The owners should wash or re-place the couch covers and chair covers or better get new ones altogether and the hammocks are in need of a serious scrubbing as well. Too many benches for a bar/lounge
• Truchas Empanada (breaded deep fried fish) was terrible as it was burnt—not good.
• No room cleaning is provided unless you ask for it. This did not bother us, we could not careless about that but it may be of a concern for other travelers
• Restaurant is closed every Monday from 11am to 5:30 pm for cleaning
• Restaurant is open to the public so this can cause crowding at night. Kitchen closes at 8pm so get there early to get a table and/or order your food soonest. Or you can take your food the bar, as we did. Our kids preferred the bar area because of the hammocks, couches and laid back atmosphere---so, the dirty, smelly couches did not bother the kids, go figure

This is a wonderful, unique place. We're going back but without the kiddies nest time. Not a fancy pants place. Simple.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

This place was one of our absolute favorite accomodations during our two month trip so far through Peru and Ecuador. It is located a bit out of town but they loan bikes for free or catch a cab for $1.

We stayed in a cabin that had incredible views over the hills and valley, a great deck with a picnic table and hammock. The room itself was spacious with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with a huge shower surrounded by natural river rock.

Izhcayluma sits in a beautiful location, has a terrific onsite restaurant, pool, spa and to top it off, a great bar with ping pong and a pool table set far enough away from the rooms so that folks who go to bed early won`t be disturbed.

I even arranged a 6 hour horse back ride through them, which was spectacular!

This is a terrific place to relax, meet other travellers and enjoy the natural beauty in this area. I loved it so much that I am returning for a few days on my way back down to Peru!

There are dorm rooms for $9 on up to private cabins for $36. Truly a bargain!

  • Liked — All Inclusive so there is no need to go into town.
  • Disliked — Loved evrything!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PDXWindJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
2.2 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Vilcabamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
96.7 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
96.9 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
19.3 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 13 in Loja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Izhcayluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Izhcayluma

Property: Hosteria Izhcayluma
Address: South of Center 2 Km, Vilcabamba 110161, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Loja Province > Vilcabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vilcabamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Valley of Longevity in Vilcabamba, Ecuador, this unique hotel invites you to get away from stress and just relax. Its ideal location is a great starting point for the many activities that the valley and surrounding areas have to offer to tourists. Our accommodations range from dormitories to private rooms and even private cabins- tucked away in the many lush flower gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteria Izhcayluma Hotel Vilcabamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing