We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terraza

La Terraza
Ranked #29 of 40 Restaurants in Vilcabamba
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Very small restaurant on the main plaza in town. Vilcabamba has very few restaurants to choose from so this was a "find" for us (we ate there twice one day). Mostly Mexican food and it was delicious...
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Very nice restaurant on the central square. Unfortunately they do not take reservations, and the kitchen closes quite early. Try the fajitas!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank catofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
212 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice option in Vilca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This place is in a nice location kitty corner from the central park in Vilca. They have outdoor seating, which is nice. It was very busy.

I had a tuna salad. It was basic tuna with greens, cuumbers, olives, tomatoes etc. All ingredients were fresh. It came with olive oil and vinegar to dress it yourself. Nothing fancy. My husband had beef and bean burrito, which came with a side of guac and chips. It was very good.

All told, I'd say service, food, price and value are about equal. The difference maker vs other dining options in the area might be the outdoor seating with a view of the park, people watching etc.,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alverda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok food but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

It may have been bad timing for La Terraza but both times we were there the service was exceptionally slow (even just for two cups of tea). The menu is good value. We had hamburgers for lunch one day which were ok. There is a range of other food that may be better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank anitaf642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kind People Working Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The food was better than average. However, what I must comment on was how sweet the staff was. After traveling for 8 hours by bus, I'd accidentally left my fleece there. Since the weather was so great, I didn't realize it until 4 days later. When we went back as asked about it, they handed it right back to me! I was positively elated!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ate there twice it was so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We arrived in Vilcabamba starving and found this place by the square. What a delight!
The food was great and it didn't take ages to get ready. Burritos, Nachos and Fajitas made to the perfection.
For U$ 10 you can eat very good and even have a beer or two.
If you are in Vilcabamba try La Terraza, it is worth it!
But don't try to go after 9pm, restaurants and bars close early in Vilcabamba.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Pipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Terraza also viewed

Vilcabamba, Loja Province
 
Vilcabamba, Loja Province
 

Been to La Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing