We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible as others say”
Review of Hotel Cseppko

Hotel Cseppko
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aggtelek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cseppko
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aggtelek
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The pros; Walking distance from the main cave at Aggtelek, their version of a cordon bleu, made with pork and awe cheese was to die for! staff very friendly. Very reasonably priced and offered late check-out free of charge.
The cons: It is very old, the sauna/pool area closes so early it is not even worth the time after the trek in the caves.
In all, a decent place to sleep for a good rate, and very good food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-4-excitement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cseppko
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

First of all, this hotel isn't located in Eger, but in a little village named Aggtelek.
The one and only advantage of this hotel is that it is located about 300 meters from the World Heritage's Site famous Cave of Aggtelek.
The hotel interior, the service and the whole impression is like traveling back in time about 20 years - kinda old school, a bit of the communist Hungary. If you like staff like that, you'll love that hotel.
The staff is by the way very kind and helpful and the environment and location make this hotel a very good choice - if you don't have superior expectations.

Room Tip: Basically it's all the same...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Can't recognize this as the same place that got those hostile reviews. Staff very helpful room comfortable and ensuite bathroom OK, no plug in wash basin but that's the norm for many hotels in this part of the world. Food good with more than you can eat the norm. In an ideal setting if you want to get away from diesel fumes and dust and enjoy the countryside instead. Make your own bed but that's no hassle unless you're bone idle

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

As part of a tour group of 9 people, we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were basic but clean. The bed linen was clean and the bathroom was clean with clean towels.
The staff we met were all friendly and they tried hard we the food (I am vegetarian). The meals on the whole were fine. The local people use this hotel for weddings so it can't be as bad as some reviewers make out. The location of the hotel is stunning with wonderful countryside all around and the hotel is set in its own large grounds. The building itself is old and dates back to the communist era. The rooms were not serviced and this is only done if you ask for it. I had a fridge also in my room which worked. I have stayed in many other 4 star hotels that had no refrigerator for drinks. If you want to find faults you can but the reason people come here is the location and its a brilliant base for walking or nature based pursuits. This more than compensates for any failings of the hotel. In short its not the Ritz but the hotel is OK for a few nights stay so don't be put off by the other reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowbo764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Even though there wasn't anything BAD with the accomodation; it was fairly clean and the personel friendly I can not understand how they can have received 3 stars - or for that manner be referred to as a hotel! The hotels interior, furniture, matresses or even the sheets have not been changed in the last 30 years. It's like travelling back in time but in a bad way. Everything is extremly worned out, the rooms reminds one of dormitory rooms and and everything is very basic. I didn't suffer of staying there but I can't belive you have to pay 15 000 ft for it, I have stayed in way better placer for half and in youth hostels (with better standard) for a fifth of this price. I assume you only pay for the location (just next to the caves). However, the village offer plenty of other accomodation for a lot less and I'm sure any of them are better than this one.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hursomhelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

This is a rather mediocre hotel. The rooms were just ok, not bad, not good either. I'm inclined to agree with the previous comment about the manager being very rude. He really is a strange character. However, all the other staff were quite friendly and helpful.

The place the hotel is situated in is really quite beautiful, though the same cannot be said about the hotel, which, honestly is an eyesore in the area. Its just a large ugly cement block.

But, basically, its okay for a night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogami_itto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

hotel cseppko is a dump with the rudest manager i have ever met. the hotel itself is in a great location. the rooms are dirty the toilet was leaking the food is not that great. there is a bowling alley downstairs for a fee but we couldnt use it because it was reserved found out later the staff were down there playing. the plates and cups they give you are cracked and dirty when i complained about the room we were told by the manager actually he screamed at us that he was the owner and we could leave for free well we couldnt because we had had a drink so we stayed. breakfast was awful there was foam on the top of the hot water i aske the waiter to change it but he was abusive. we stayed only the 1 night and left.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aggtelek
18.1 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#10 of 22 in Eger
90 reviews
39.4 mi away
Eden Vendeghaz
Eden Vendeghaz
#4 of 5 in Aggtelek
1 reviews
39.4 mi away
Boroka Vendeghaz
Boroka Vendeghaz
#1 of 5 in Aggtelek
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cseppko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cseppko

Address: Baradla oldal 2, Aggtelek 3759, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Aggtelek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aggtelek
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cseppko 3*
Number of rooms: 72

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing