We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delcious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Mercato

Il Mercato
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Ispica
Price range: US$13 - US$53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delcious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Salvo Latino and his family provided us with three excellent dinners while we stayed at Palazzo Gambuzza in Ispica, Sicily. They were all fun and friendly. The food was delicious, the wine perfect, the appetizers excellent. Obviously this family takes great pride in their establishment and goes out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. I highly recommend going to ll Mercato if you are staying in Southast Sicily/Modica/Ispica/Pozzallo area. Well worth the trip...not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Jane Macie... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    86
    37
    25
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Back from a one-day trip to Modica and Scicli, we were advised to try the restaurant Il Mercato, located in the centre of Ispica. The experience was simply fantastic. We found place in the outside terrace where we were delighted wiith a full choice of antipasti and unforgettable spaghetti con vongole. We completed our dinner with a variety of granitas and typical sicilian cannolis with ricotta cheese. The warm welcome and the friendly atmosphere made our dinner a magic moment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magazzu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch at il mercato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

In a loveley restored marketplace we had our lunch when visiting Ispica. We were well treated by our host Salvo. He explained to us the good products he was selling and let try us the excellent olive oil. Nice to experience so much of hospitality in such nice old little town. We only took some simple courses like risotto and a big slice of local produced cheese together with bruscetta and tomatoes from pachino. All great taste

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No just a restaurant but a whole experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We found this off the road after having looked for hours and had one of our best culinary surprises of our entire trip in Sicily. Coming in for a short meal before getting back on the road, we ended up spending 3 hours there, enjoying our food, walking around the place to take a look at the other little shops comprised in this place, with food for sale, wine, jewels, etc., and of course having a great conversation with the owner who shared he love of Sicilian food.
The meal itself was the peak of it all: only fresh products from the morning's market, some pasta prepared by the owner's mother. Fresh, locally grown, slowly prepared (this also means you have to be patient), and incredibly tasty.
Next time I go to Sicily I will go back to Ispica just for this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelique_in_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit in Ispica.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were staying in Ispica for a week with Esplora Holidays on their 'Montalbano' Tour and went for lunch at Il Mercato.
The first thing you notice is the beautiful decor and surroundings with three distinct eating areas within the Il Mercato building, as well as housing the local Tourist Information Office in this the former Ispica market building.
The staff were friendly, welcoming and provided great service. The menu offered in the restaurant area had a wide selection of dishes made from local Sicilian produce. The food when it arrived was beautifully presented and delicious.
The food and the wine were excellent value for money and this restaurant is well worth a visit if you are in Ispica.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_brown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Mercato also viewed

Ispica, Province of Ragusa
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
 
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
 
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Il Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing