We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms”
Review of Borgo la Fornace

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo la Fornace
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gambassi Terme
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The room we had was among the best I ever had: modern, clean, nicely furnished and huge. The place is beautiful but it is a little bit in the middle of nowhere and differently from other places nearby the view is not great. The restaurant is good but a little pretentious. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgolaFornace, Proprietario at Borgo la Fornace, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Google Translation
Gentle Signora,
la ringrazio a nome di tutto lo staff per la sua bella recensione, inoltre mi fa enorme piacere che abbia notato il design presente nelle nostre stanze che caratterizza tutta la nostra struttura.
La ringrazio inoltre per il giudizio del ristorante, cercheremo tuttavia per il futuro di fornire un servizio ancora più accurato alla nostra clientele.
Nella speranza di averla nuovamente come ospite nell'attesa le porgo i miei più cordiali saluti.
Alex Pinori
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    22
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here for a week in Aug, in an apartment, on a bed and breakfast basis. The grounds and the hotel are attractive and there is plenty of space, even when the hotel is full. There is wifi in the reception and lounge/ bar. The apartment was lovely, smallish but very stylish and immaculately clean. There was a huge, very comfortable bed. It was hot. No air con and too many mosquitoes to leave the windows open at night! This is rural Tuscany, not Milan, so everyone is pretty relaxed. The pace of life is slower. A few words of Italian help. Many of the staff are young, but we found them to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, consisting of a wide range of cold sweet and savoury foods, a typical European continental breakfast. The staff on reception were particularly helpful. We asked questions about directions, trains and buses (not many!), places to eat etc every day. They even arranged transport for us to visit a local organic vineyard, which was a great experience. (I asked them nicely, in Italian...one of the waiters took us!) We spent days out walking/ exploring by car. San Gim, Florence, Sienna are all easily accessible for the day. We ate in the restaurant a few nights, after 8.30 pm. The restaurant was excellent, reasonably priced and full of Italians, which we enjoyed. We also had the option of self catering in the apartment. There are only a couple of restaurants in the nearest village, so if you like to eat at different places you will need to drive to San Gim. We were here to meet up with friends and enjoyed staying here. I like to be quite active on holidays. This is a great base for exploring Tuscany if you are willing to drive most days. We also met other British tourists who thought it was a great place to stay with children and had returned for a second holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgolaFornace, Proprietario at Borgo la Fornace, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signore,
ci fa molto piacere che il servizio di accoglienza del nostro staff sia stata all'altezza delle sue aspettative, il suo giudizio estremamente positivo ci incoraggia ad incrementare e migliorare i servizi alla clientela con nuovi itinerari e visite guidate nonchè degustazioni di vino che potranno allietare ancora di più il vostro soggiorno con i ritmi lenti tipici della Toscana.
Nella speranza di averla nuovamente come ospite nell'attesa lo porgo i miei più cordiali saluti.
Alex Pinori
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and first impressions were great; the complex is tastefully done and our room was nice. Breakfast was very poor, limited to croissants and breads as they'd ran out of cheese and ham! Breakfast was from 8am however what this really meant is that staff arrived at work for 8 and started to set up. The resaurant was ok but lacks atmosphere as only a few others were using it. The service was disappointing overall, the staff were trying their best but lacked experience and on the day of checking out there was no one on reception to do this and no one knew when the receptionist would arrive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgolaFornace, Proprietario at Borgo la Fornace, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signore
ci spiace che suo soggiorno 2012 non sia stato all'altezza delle sue aspettative, la ringrazio per il suo giudizio sul design delle camere e della struttura, per quanto riguarda il servizio colazioni abbiamo preso nota di quanto lei a ha recensito e per la stagione 2013 il nostro personale anche se giovane ma con 1 anno di esperienza in più e ancora maggior entusiasmo comincia il servizio alle 8:00 AM ed è sempre più in contatto con la reception per dare ancora maggior assietenza e fornendo maggior servizio alla nostra clientela.
Sperando di averla nuovamente come ospite in struttura dandoci un'ulteriore possibilità la ringrazio per i suoi suggerimenti che terremo ancora conto per il futuro porgendo i Ns. più cordiali saluti.
Alex Pinori
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

very quite and nice place, very clean and the staff was very polite
the room was very nice, maybe a little bit small the bathroom
Great food at the restaurant, very good the spa service

Room Tip: my room was 12 just in front of one of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here for 10 days last summer. it's a bit of an odd set up. Seems like most of the complex (low rise, spread out, tasteful) is holiday homes, so at the weekend it got pretty busy. There are a couple of blocks apartments/ suites which is the hotel. There are 2 big pools- neither of which got busy (apart from at the weekends when there were quite a few kids). Always sunbeds, we had lovely hot weather. Pool way clean and not too chlorinated. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. The staff here all seem to be under the age of 20 and, whilst they do their best, are in need of guidance and someone to crack the whip. Service is sometimes frustratingly slow. Breakfast was average- sugary croissants and some cereal.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights and the food was really good and we thought reasonably priced (I think it was about €8 for a pasta or salad). They also have an excellent wine list. The problem was we were the only people in there, so the place seriously lacked atmosphere.

You get daily access to the spa- a nice little pool with a couple of jets and some sort of shower-trail with different coloured lights and smells. Also a sauna and steam I think (can't remember) and again we went most days and were often the only people in there.

Location. Well it isn't close to anywhere. There is a biggish supermarket in Montaione where we got lunch bits on a couple of days. It's easy drive to Sam Gimigano and Siena.

Lastly, there is no aircon in the rooms and it was hot in July, so sometimes was a bit uncomfortable.

Would recommend for a chill-out, but bear in mind the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Booked their prestige suite but was given a different suite (not nearly as nice). After a long conversation with the lady at reception we were told that the couple in our room had been granted a late check out (we arrived at 4pm - checkin starts at 2pm) so we couldn't get our room. I insisted and so 3h laters we did get the prestige suite which is beautiful with a bath in the bedroom and a great shower and everything you would want. I found the place pretty deserted and the location was also a bit in the middle of nowhere. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I booked this hotel for some R&R. Whilst it is beautiful, you would be disappointed if you are expecting a resort or spa. It was virtually a ghost town (great for me!) and I really only saw other guests at breakfast, which by the way was atrocious. It was like pulling teeth to get something as they only laid out some bread, crossiants, a few slices of meat and cheese. Great coffee though. I also ate there for every lunch and dinner. The food then was great and reasonably priced.

The Spa consists of a small indoor pool wih a couple of jets, a few treatment rooms and a steam room. When I finally had my treatments after they mucked up the booking, they were very good.

My suite was lovely. The water pressure was unbelievable and so scalding hot, it was dangerous. WIFI did not work most of the time I was there. They have a kitchenette but nothing to cook with, not even a kettle to make a cup of tea!

Over all, they are very sweet and trying hard and the service, when I got it, was good. It is very pretty and peaceful but so many things went wrong, I would not stay again. Much preferred Villa San Paolo.

They also have apartments which were small and basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambassi Terme
5.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#2 of 11 in Montaione
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
244 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,193 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Borgo la Fornace

Property: Borgo la Fornace
Address: Via Ecce Homo 10a | Località Montignoso, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gambassi Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo la Fornace 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eight contemporary styled suites situated in a former brick-kiln and the 14 exclusive apartments in the surrounding Borgo, have all been created respecting the traditional Tuscan architecture and designed to offer exclusive space and comfort. Set above the Val d'Elsa with its unique and scenographic Tuscan landscapes, Montaione and San Gimignano are reachable in a few minutes and Florence, Siena and Pisa are each at a distance of 45 km. We take great care to give you the warmest welcome at Borgo la Fornace, and to offer you a truly fulfilling and relaxing stay.Borgo la Fornace si trova nel cuore della Toscana, nei pressi di Gambassi Terme e Montaione, zona rinomata e frequentata per l’ estensione e la bellezza dei boschi e per la ricchezza e salubrità delle sue sorgenti termali.Il nostro raffinato ristorante “La Fuga”offre un dialogo fra la cucina tradizionale toscana e raffinatezze mediterranee e la possibilità di prenotare il privè sulla torre della Fornace con uno spazio esclusivo per 2-8 persone.Il Centro Benessere Crisalide nella fornace invita a vivere momenti di vero relax con la sua piscina riscaldata con idromassaggio e cascata cervicale, bagno turco, percorso sensoriale ed un’ampia scelta fra massaggi e trattamenti di bellezza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Borgo la Fornace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo La Fornace Gambassi Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing