We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B ever!”
Review of Tenuta Sant'Ilario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and charming place. Very calm location in the vineyards few minutes from the main road. Everything was perfect and for sure we will come back someday. A great place to enjoy Tuscany landscape. We also recommend very good restaurant on top of the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo1234t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We went for a mini honeymoon at Tuscuny for a week.
This Tuscuny traditional mention have an amazing large rooms,great breakfast, free wifi, (which works poorly beacuse of the thick walls of the the rooms..), and very warm and helpful staff, specially the lovely Cristina!
We would love to revisit again and again.
Go and visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElPoderino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest, there aren't words to answer at this kind of feedback. The only answer is THANK YOU for choosing our Estate and thank you for the positive feedback, which it includes the compliments for me....
Looking forward to seeing you again. We wish you all the best.
Bye from Tuscany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

For a 3 week road trip around Italy we stayed at many places and tried out all sorts of hotels, but never did we have more gratifying experience than the one we had at Tenuta San't Ilario. We even went back for a second longer stay. It is a wonderfully restored mansion nestling amidst cypress trees, vines, olive trees and lavender fields - peace, serenity and the finest air ever. The staff is sweet and caring, the mansion provides full comfort and they make the finest breakfast one could hope for. We will surely visit again and again, and again...

Iva & Emil from Bulgaria

Room Tip: Choose room number 6, on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It was the second time we stayed in tenuta Sant'Ilario and again, it was TOP! There is really nothing negative we can say about this tenuta. If you like a peaceful location you can't choose better. And from this location you're in the middle for visiting all the beautiful towns of Tuscany.
Tip: at the end of the little road to the tenuta, there is a very good restaurant but reservation is recommended, certainly in july and august.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

As I said in my last review our trip was Rome to Sienna to this B&B (relitively close 1/2 hour to San Giminano) to Florence to Venice to Milan then back to NYC. We stayed here two nights after touring San G Mid day and getting here around 4PM.Very peacful place to recover and relax.I would love to revisit. We had the family room where my wife and I took the upstairs bedroom and our college age boys took the downstairs twin beds. Like a separate apartment actually. Spacious nice bathrooms. The grounds here are unique and walking to the pools with panoramic view of tuscan hills with vineyards is impressive. Both B&B's we stayed at were difficult to find and I'm glad I did Google maps to a cross road because GPS's are challenging to get to theses B&B off dirt roads. You need the GPS for sure but don't expect you can plug in an address like in the US. So the dirt road down to this place is pretty much like off-roading in the US but typical to farms in Italy. There are a couple of points on this road where only one car can pass but we never encountered an issue where there was another car coming the other way. I do have to say that would have been very interesting especially at night after some red vino :-). Highly recommend this place and Franca is Great! They try to remote control the AC within a range and they are challenged there... systems work but took some time to get ironed out initially. They could also extend their WiFI at some point. You need to sit out near the check inn building if you want to connect. Breakfast is good. Nice families and couples at the pool and breakfast. We would go back here for sure! :-) Thanks Franca!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGsNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear guest, first of all thank you so much for the comment about our Estate and also the surroundings. The next guests will appreciate your information.
The wi-fi connection should work also in all the B&B rooms, probably the wi-fi signal was bad during your stay; we'll check to improve the service so the guests can join internet not only outside of the reception (that is also pleasant) but also in their rooms.
With the GPS you get lost easy because we got a new address that the gps system hasn't downloaded yet. The right address to find us is VIA GRAMSCI, which is the main street where there is the Osteria Montagnola. Or you can use the coordinates available in our official web site, which you reach the parking of the Estate. Sorry for the inconvience; we'll working to improve the driving directions thanks also to your suggestions that have been important for us. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards to all your nice family! Franca and Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Tenuta Sant'Ilario is beautifully located, with a wonderful view of Tuscany. The hosts are kind and helpful. Appartment Chiosco is well equipped for two and has its own private terrace. It proved an excellent point of departure for day trips to towns like Sienna and Florence. The countryside nearby is charming and we made a very nice walk from Gambassi Terme (Parco Benestare, Route 2). We can definitely recommend Tenuata Sant'Ilario!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HenrietteHHoogland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were all blown away with the villa here and the surrounding countryside. The breathtaking 360 degree views were such a treat to look at each day. The grounds were all stunningly kept with beautiful gargens and pools. The location was perfectly positioned for visiting all of Tuscany - only 40mins/1hr drive from Sienna and Florence and lots of lovely nearby towns as well.
We will definitely be back! LOVED it!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambassi Terme
2.1 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
385 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
#2 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Gatto e La Volpe
Il Gatto e La Volpe
#6 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Della Certosa
Villa Della Certosa
#3 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
#4 of 22 in Gambassi Terme
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Sant'Ilario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Sant'Ilario

Address: Strada Provinciale 4 Volterrana 127, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gambassi Terme
Price Range: £68 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tenuta Sant'Ilario 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending holidays within the walls of the Tenuta Sant'Ilario is like opening a treasure chest: evocative ambience, refined details, warm atmosphere and nice welcoming ....The Estate is surrounded by a 60-hectare private property on the hills of Chianti, close to the most important art cities such as Florence, San Gimignano, Siena and Volterra.Tenuta Sant'Ilario offers a wide range of experiences: a relaxing holiday, a romantic honeymoon, a gastronomic tour or simply the place for your free time, strategic starting point for a visit to the beautiful art cities of Florence, Siena and San Gimignano.Let yourself go in the beautiful surroundings of the Estate that each season offers different colours and experiences. You can see the colours of dark brown or deep red or ochre in the autumn and the bright green in spring time. Along the routes through the estate you can see the most typical Tuscan landscapes; olive groves and vineyards surrounding our villas and apartments and it is also possible to enjoy wonderful walks in the woods of oak trees and ancient elm trees as far as the lake where the roe deer and the deer love stay dwelling. Walking as far as the bottom of the valley you can see creeks and small waterfalls formed by the streams surrounding the property. The Estate boasts the most modern facilities while maintaining its historic atmosphere.Inside the property, three independent villas, six apartments and the rooms have breathtaking views over the olive groves and vineyards of the property and the forest that is home for pheasants, roe-deer and wild boar.The main villa, a former convent dating back to the twelfth century, has standard and superior rooms, and the breakfast room, where on reservation we can serve breakfast with milk, coffee, cappuccino, fruit juices, cheese and sliced cold meats, croissants, cakes and more. If the guests prefer, breakfast can be served directly to their apartment and enjoyed in perfect privacy.The Internet Wi-Fi connection is also available at the reception and in the rooms B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tenuta Sant'Ilario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Sant'Ilario Gambassi Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing