We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in the middle of Tuscany”
Review of Tenuta Sant'Ilario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Sort of Agriturismohotel, typical Tuscan building renting out apartments. nice swimming pool although one needs a 300 meter walk to get there.
very quite location, in the middle of virtually nowhere.
ideally located to v isit e.g;San Gimigniano
great breakfast with some food typical for the region

good place to stay if you have a car (must) and want to explore Tuscany

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lovaniensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silario, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear guest, thanks for the review on this web site. It's very important for us knowing what our guests think. As you have already specified, the car is useful because the property is about 1,5 km from the main street.
The path to get the pool is about 200 meters far from the rooms B&B; it's a little bit far but we ensure it is nice to walk into the nature among the trees....anyway once you get the pool, there is a toilette so you won't need to go up often.
Thanks for the information about the position; we are in the heart of Tuscany and in less than one hour it is possible to get the most important cities Florence, Siena and Pisa...and the small towns like volterra and san gimignano are very close to sant'ilario.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The place is wonderful! Franka and her staff are the most lovely, friendly and nice people i have ever met in the industry of truism. (And i work in it). The B&B is romantic and cosy. I loved the decor and the view. One of the great things about the place is that it can not be found to easily! it's distant from any, road, city, village... simply isolated. hens the quietness and relaxation is granted! The breakfast was delicious. and we also bought 2 bottles of there own wine- which is great.

Room Tip: Call and ask for directions! if you don't call at least set your GPS to the city: "Montaio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silario, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hello dear guest, thanks for having found the time to write a feedback....thank you for all compliments. Our intention is offering our guests a unique experience and we are glad you enjoied the stay with us.
We are waiting for you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Serenity is certainly the first word that come to mind! We had an excellent stay. The booking process was excellent, the information provided ahead of time was very helpful. The location of the B&B is everything you imagine of Tuscany! Peaceful. These stone buildings are very well kept, big attention to details in everything.The room was very elegant and comfortable, down to the bottled water, coffee, teas and infusions. The breakfast was excellent and presented a variety of tastes. The hosts were helpful. WIFI worked very well. Once this is all said, the view is really to die for! We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hélène Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silario, Proprietario at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest, thanks for the positive feedback and for choosing our Estate for your trip in Tuscany while you have walked the Via Francigena. We are glad that your stay here at Sant'Ilario, even if it was for only one night, it has been pleasant.
We have lots of pilgrins every year and we know that after a long dayv walking, guests are very tired and don't want to go out for dinner. So from this season we'll offer some food for dinner as useful service.
We wish you good luck for everything, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I could have not been more happy with this beautiful, romantic place!! It is a 12th century estate full of charming, old world beauty with up to date amenities such as wifi!
The owner and staff were so very helpful, they supplied us with brochures and books to use during our stay and recommended places to visit in the surrounding area.
The drive from the main highway was a little difficult as it had been raining, however, that would not stop us from returning to this lovely place.

The breakfast was out of this world!!! Everything was made fresh every morning, there was something new and delicious to try each day!
It was the perfect place for our romantic getaway...we definitely recommend this lovely place and plan to visit again.

To the owner and staff, thank you for being so hospitable and making our visit absolutely wonderful!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridgette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guests, thank you so much for the positive feedback. The most important thing of our job is give our guests an unforgettable trip at Tenuta Sant'Ilario and we are glad we have satisfied you....we wish you all the best in life and next time you come back to Tuscany, we'll appreciate to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I will start from the nice things. Excellent view, excellent breakfast, very nice building. The lady that served the breakfast was very helpful.
As regards the rest...
Perhaps it's a place that people should visit during summer time. We arrived in winter at about 5 pm. Difficult to find the place, the road is a bad country road, probably you need a 4X4 vehicle. We called to get directions.
We were the only guests at the hotel. The lady at the reception left at 7 pm telling us that if we need anything we can call her at her private cellular.
We needed internet connection. WiFi was free but didn't exist. When we asked the lady, she said we can move around the room until we find a good spot!!!!!
In the room there wasn't a desk to sit and write. We wanted to drink coffee or tee, just something, there was nothing there.
In conclusion, before you decide to get a room there, make sure that the hotel is populated by guests and that there is someone there during the night. Yet, morning time is very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Sant'Ilario, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to share your experience with us.
We are glad first that some of our services have been appreciated like the breakfast which we take particular attention offering only local products of high quality. We are very sorry for not having fully satisfied your expectations. I'd like to explain some details about your stay: our estate is open all year and even if we are in a beautiful and scenic place with an amazing view of the Tuscan hills, in winter we don’t have lots of guests like in high season. The choice of our Estate for your stay in December in the countryside away from the traditional tourist places has been inspired because you may needed to find a quiet and peaceful corner and this is what we offer in low season.
Our property is not a hotel with a reception 24 hours open but it has a schedule of opening and closing times. This is why we always give our guests a cell phone number, which is a normal practice for us, to be always available for all needs of our guests, even by night when the office is closed. We leave in the property and with a simple call, we can always guarantee an assistance.
For Wi-Fi connection in the old 12th century building with 1.5cm thick walls is not easy to spread the signal anywhere, that's why we suggested to search the best signal area into your room. The technology today allows us better systems of spreading of those you found during your stay and we are already planning the work to improve the signal anywhere as we completely understand the importance of Wi-Fi network.
In the Estate we have a relaxing/reading room with tea and coffee corner, 24 hours open so we can always offer our guests hot beverages at any time. We are sorry that you didn’t use it, but it may be that during your short stay there wasn’t the time to show you the room.
We are sorry that being the only guest of the Estate was a discomfort, even if you had Tenuta Sant’Ilario and our services at your whole disposal. We hope to share with you and your girlfriend a new vacation to Sant’Ilario, maybe in spring or summer.
Looking forward to seeing you again, best wishes. The owner Franca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

These villas are absolutly georgeous. No detail has been left out. There is private space, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms marvelous, the views, and especially at sunset are heavenly. The place is perfectly located so that if you drive 30 minutes in any direction you encounter a tourist's paradise like Florence, Sienna, Lucca, Voltera, and on and on. The staff speak English and have a thorough knowledge of the area including resturants, etc. everyone who works there makes you feel at home. I will go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the perfect place to stay when you want a quiet life, no stress - just relaxation in fantastic surroundings! Situated in the middle of Tuscany, all the stunning little towns are within (short & easy) reach. Also, Gambassi Terme village has several restaurants and bars and well stocked supermarket, just 1 km away.

Franca and Cristina at Tenuta Sant'Ilario are so helpfull, friendly and always doing their best to ensure their guest have a great time! We arrived late and without the rental vehicle we had booked in a nearby city (never showed up), but Franca saved the day! She did more than we could ever have imagined, to make our stay perfect! Franca and Cristina are both truly fantastic and offers a level of service one just dream of!

Breakfast in the main house was an absolute treat and getting fresh bread delivered on your door every morning - luxury!

We (two families of four) rented Villa Montagnola and had more than enough room. Kids (four of them aged 3-7) loved the pool and didn't want to leave! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Tuscany!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambassi Terme
2.1 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
#2 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Il Gatto e La Volpe
Il Gatto e La Volpe
#6 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Della Certosa
Villa Della Certosa
#3 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Girasole
Agriturismo Girasole
#10 of 22 in Gambassi Terme
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Sant'Ilario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Sant'Ilario

Address: Strada Provinciale 4 Volterrana 127, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gambassi Terme
Price Range: £77 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tenuta Sant'Ilario 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending holidays within the walls of the Tenuta Sant'Ilario is like opening a treasure chest: evocative ambience, refined details, warm atmosphere and nice welcoming ....The Estate is surrounded by a 60-hectare private property on the hills of Chianti, close to the most important art cities such as Florence, San Gimignano, Siena and Volterra.Tenuta Sant'Ilario offers a wide range of experiences: a relaxing holiday, a romantic honeymoon, a gastronomic tour or simply the place for your free time, strategic starting point for a visit to the beautiful art cities of Florence, Siena and San Gimignano.Let yourself go in the beautiful surroundings of the Estate that each season offers different colours and experiences. You can see the colours of dark brown or deep red or ochre in the autumn and the bright green in spring time. Along the routes through the estate you can see the most typical Tuscan landscapes; olive groves and vineyards surrounding our villas and apartments and it is also possible to enjoy wonderful walks in the woods of oak trees and ancient elm trees as far as the lake where the roe deer and the deer love stay dwelling. Walking as far as the bottom of the valley you can see creeks and small waterfalls formed by the streams surrounding the property. The Estate boasts the most modern facilities while maintaining its historic atmosphere.Inside the property, three independent villas, six apartments and the rooms have breathtaking views over the olive groves and vineyards of the property and the forest that is home for pheasants, roe-deer and wild boar.The main villa, a former convent dating back to the twelfth century, has standard and superior rooms, and the breakfast room, where on reservation we can serve breakfast with milk, coffee, cappuccino, fruit juices, cheese and sliced cold meats, croissants, cakes and more. If the guests prefer, breakfast can be served directly to their apartment and enjoyed in perfect privacy.The Internet Wi-Fi connection is also available at the reception and in the rooms B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenuta Sant'Ilario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Sant'Ilario Gambassi Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing