We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, beautiful accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 5 nights in Zenzerro which was a beautiful 3 storey, virtually detached house.
On the ground floor was a very large living/dining/kitchen - all very well furnished and equipped, with doors and patio areas on three sides. The only thing missing which would have been useful, was a microwave.
Both the first and second floors contained spacious bedrooms and adjacent bath/shower rooms.
The lovely pool and sun-lounging area was just a few yards away and the whole development was set in stunning countryside with easy access to Florence, Pisa, Siena & San Gimiagno.
Unfortunately the accommodation was booked for a wedding at the end of the week and therefore we could only book for 5 days.
I note that another reviewer who stayed in this apartment a week or two before us had a number of complaints but, if these were justified, the management had obviously managed to resolve them.
The only down side of the holiday was that the weather was a bit mixed and was, in fact better in Scotland at the same time but we still would not have missed seeing the stunning countryside around this area.

Room Tip: Would recommend Zenzerro but it is not inexpensive, however you get a lot of house for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you liked the apartment and the venue. We also thank you because you understood that if there's any problem we always do our best to fix it as soon as possible. You gave us a good suggestion, we'll consider the idea of introducing a microwave in the kitchen of the apartments. You're right about the weather, we had a terrible June and just a warm July. I think this year the weather has been weird in general.
We really hope next time you'll join us it will be for an entire week, and not just for 5 days.

Our Best Regards,
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    39
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
76
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just spent 8 nights at Tenuta Quadrifoglio with our three children (8,6,2) and would happily stay again if we return to Tuscany. We were in apartment Pepe Nero and it suited us perfectly, our two older children shared the second bedroom, and our toddler camped on a mattress in the main bedroom which was large. The living/kitchen area was great for the small amount of use we gave it. Laundry facilities were available at euro4 per wash (be aware each cycle goes for 2 hours and there is only one machine). The grounds were beautiful and as seen in the photos. The pools were too cold for us to enjoy, even on the hot days...might be better in late July/August. There was plenty of open space, especially around the hammock, where our kids enjoyed kicking the footy and running around. We had their breakfast on four of our mornings and it was always wonderful. Only reason we didn't go every day was it starts at 8.30am and our kids tend to rise early! The view is amazing from all apartments, but if you expect to witness typical Tuscan countryside of Vineyards and Olive trees directly from your balcony/vernadah, you will be disappointed. We still liked it just the same.

The location is spot on to see the sights of Tuscany. We had been to Florence & Siena before so had no desire to venture back with young children. We all loved roaming through San Gimignano. Lucca was an hour or so away and we all enjoyed hiring bikes and riding the wall around the old town (4km). A day trip to the beach (Castiglioncello) was also close by. We also used two different horse riding stables, both about 10-15 minutes away. A trip to Certaldo for dinner was also fun, and we lucked in with a family festival in the Piazza while we were there. There was plenty of restaurants open in the old town on top of the hill, and the cable car operates until 1am.

We would have no problem in recommending Tenuta Quadrifoglio to anyone, especially those travelling with children. The staff where always friendly and happy to provide any service or advice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ingrid and Damian,

Thank you for your comment. We're happy to know you have enjoyed your vacation and the apartment Pepe Nero. We're also happy to know we've been helpful to you. When I read about the laudry facilities, I felt sorry because you could select the time of the wash, there are different programs, at least 3, so you could have selected the speed-perfect (which last usually from 45 to 50 minutes). You perfect managed your holidays and I'm glad you had the chance to visit many places and to do many activities with the kids as well. You catched the perfect spirit of Tenuta Quadrifoglio. Concerning the view, Tuscan countryside is so vary, we're located in a valley, from your apartment you can see the forest, the hills and Volterra on top of them, but on both sides we have our own vineyard and olive trees :-)
Thanks again for your kind words and we really hope we can have you again as our guests.
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I will do the bad first and it's not really bad . . . you had to pay for internet, extra towels, laundry, breakfast etc. but in all honesty it wasn't that much but I thought it worth mentioning... NOW, for the good and I mean awesome - this place was beautiful! About 15 minutes outside of San Gimignano in the Tuscan countryside we were concerned that our 4 teenage children would be bored, but they weren't, they loved the beauty of the place and quite content to swim in one of the two pools or relax in the hammock. Tenuta Quadrifoglio is centrally located to Siena, Florence, Pisa & Lucca so we were able to take day trips and come back and relax. Our mini-villa, Rosmarino was homey and comfortable, we were able to cook dinner a couple of times while we were there which was a great experience! Go to the Despar mercato in Gambassi to stock up on grocery needs - the people were adorable, and helpful! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to know the boys had fun and relaxed by the pool and that you got the chance to visit many interesting places that are close to us. Our apartments have all been built with the idea of giving to the guests a home away from home and not just a holiday home, so we are very happy that you found the apartment Rosmarino cozy and functional. Regarding the initial note, we would like to give you an explanation: some services are considered extra as we are a holiday home / residence, not a luxury accommodation (where often, however, some of the services mentioned above are subject to charges). The national guidelines on accommodation facilities indicate that based on the category they belong to, some things are included and others are not. An example is the linen. We provide linen upon arrival for all guests and the exchange is done once a week, not daily, as required by the Directives. Since some people prefer the daily change as well as the daily cleaning of the apartments, we cannot deny this service to customers, but as per regulation we should not do it, it is obvious that it is an extra service. Breakfast is optional because very often those who book the apartment choose to be independent from that point of view, and as you have noticed, all the apartments have a complete kitchen.
For internet the explanation is very simple: we do not have a fast connection, we had to organize our own and at our expenses to ensure to the customers internet, since it was a very common request. The system we have adopted does not allow for safety reasons to use the same password for all devices. These passwords were free of charge up to 2013, until we found ourselves in situations where 4 people were asking up to 10/12 passwords at a time because each of them had more than one device and no one wanted to give up the opportunity to connect with all of them at the same time. The system did not allow us to create more than 50 in total and the other side we were sorry to say no to people asking for more passwords. To introduce a fee, was for us at some point almost the only choice we had. As you may have noticed, the price that we have adopted in any case is symbolic.
I hope that our explanations have clarified your doubts.
You’ll always be welcome here,

Thanks again and greetings from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary and decided to go to Italy. After much planning and research we decided to stay in the Tuscany area for a week. We found Tenuta Quadfiligio and it sounded so amazing. The price for a week was a bit higher than we planned but thought that it would be worth it since the resort looked so beautiful. We end up with a two bedroom villa, full kitchen, two bathrooms and a wonderful view.

The disappointments were:

1. The first night we got there after a long day of driving everything seemed to be fine until I decided I would used the jetted tub before going to bed. I started filling the water in the tub and when it got past the jets I denied to add bubble bath and get in. So I turned on the jet and all this black stuff was coming out of the jets. I called for my husband beau EI tried to turn off the jets but outdated. We had water everywhere as it was spraying. I ran down stairs and call the front office and they sent the night guy over and he had to help us clean up the mess on the floors. After about three more times of filling the tub the black stuff was gone, but I never used the tub after that. Each time the jets were turned in, it was hard to turn off.

2. Our fridge gave off a terrible door when you opened it. So we told the front staff about this and then sent a maid down to wipe out the fridge and do another cleaning. In fact she put some type of puck in the fridge. We ere going to buy groceries so we could do some cooking and enjoy. Nice bottle of wine but thought we should check the fridge again and it till smelled. So we never bought anything more than cream for our coffee and beer. A couple of days later we had our friends from Italy over and when we opened the fridge to get out a beer she asked what the rank smell was so I explained. Our friend went up to the front office and before you knew it we had the owner, chef, housekeeping and gardner in our villa. First the owner said it was the mop that was beside the fridge and I tried to explain that it wasn't, she had to smell the inside of the fridge. The mop was through out of the villa. Next the owner tried to say it was our shoes which were near the front door. By now I was getting pretty angry along with my friend, so I liked up the shoes and made the owner smell them. Next thing the fridge is being pulled out. To make long story short, the owner made the housekeeper rewash everything. The smell never went away, and nothing was done to compensate for it.

3. The next issue was that they have a hot tub that has beautiful views. So one night we decide to go into the hot tub to find that it was really cold and could not turn up the heat. Gain we addressed this the front office nd then sent the gardener down to turn it up. We left for the day and when we got back that evening we thought that we might go in the tub since it was turned up. Oh no, the temperature was back down, the lid off, bugs in the hot tub and no way for us to turn up the heat. Next day we addressed the issue with the front office and we were told that when we want to use the hot tub let them know and someone will come drain most of the water, clean it and fill it up with hot water, but cannot access the controls. What a joke.

Other than that our villa was nice but way to expensive for what we got, and that would be lousy customer service. And no credit for the inconveniences we encountered.

We feel that there are just as beautiful places to stay for less and less problems.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biggzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Direttore generale at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Clients,

First of all we would like to thank you for classifying us as a resort but we would like to precise that we are actually a holiday home. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered some inconveniences during your stay. Please note that the apartment you stayed in and that was booked by your friend is the most expensive among all our accommodations. In total we have 14 apartments and 5 rooms and Zenzero is the suite , it has 3 floors and can sleep up to 6 people. It’s normal that you thought it was expensive but you should know that you had less expensive options to choose from. In fact Zenzero is usually the last to be sold because it’s the most expensive. In regards to the other issues you indicated:


- You arrived at the end of May and your apartment had been empty for a long period , almost a month , due to the fact that other units are easier sold because they benefit of a lower rental rate .
Obviously before your arrival the maids had completely cleaned the apartment , including the tub but as it hadn’t been used for a long time it’s possible that some residue settled in the water jets. As you wrote yourself it was sufficient to make the water run and fill the tub 3 times to eliminate the problem. The technician checks the tub every year at the beginning of the season , the same check was made the day after your arrival. Your issue about the water splashing is simply due to the fact that any hot tub has to be filled up to and over the water jets otherwise the water will spurt. Furthermore we provide bath salts upon arrival of the client, we hope you didn’t use bubble bath or other products incompatible with the hot tub.

We are sorry that you didn’t use it for the rest of your stay because it was then functioning perfectly and you could have used it without any doubt.

- In regards to the fridge , it was cleaned along with the kitchen and the rest of the apartment .Unfortunately sometimes it occurs that clients accidently break packages containing eggs, yogurt or other foods with a strong odour that is difficult to eliminate. This might have happened to the client who occupied the apartment before you . As you have written , as soon as you informed us of the problem we dealt with it immediately ,first we sent the maid and then the second time the maid attended to the cleaning even more accurately. Since the owner was present and didn’t have the same impression when opening the fridge , it was normal to wonder if the source of the odour was external , the mop and the shoes were both very close to the fridge. The shelves of the fridge were removed and washed in the dishwasher, unfortunately it was difficult to remove the residue between the shelves and the rubber gasket. The chef who came to the apartment is the owner’s husband and for the inconvenience he offered you dinner with fish lasagne prepared by himself and a bottle of prosecco.

-hot tub. We have 2 pools and this hot tub at the disposal of all our roomimg guests. The pools and tub aren’t heated and the water temperature will vary according to the outdoor temperature. For this reason they are opened from April to October . Since it isn’t possible to heat the tub we tried to meet your needs by emptying it and refilling it with warm water. We would like to precise that it’s something we don’t normally do for all our clients. You didn’t explain that you wouldn’t be using it immediately so by the time you used it later that night the water was cold again. It is also quite normal that after a whole day you can find small insects in the water, that is why we always leave at the disposal of the clients a net near the tub that they use when the gardener is no longer present.

In conclusion, what emerges from your story is that every time you called us we came to you immediately to try and resolve the problem and in our opinion we settled within a very short time. We didn’t make a discount simply because besides resolving ordinary management issues pronto and that we consider not serious issues, during your stay the staff also asked you repeatedly if everything was ok and you always replied with a smile confirming that all was well . When there is an obvious discontent from a client and the client requests a discount before departure we have no problem in reducing the original price. You didn’t ask for a discount instead up until your departure you confirmed that all was well . For this reason we are embittered to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was a guest at my friend's wedding, and stayed 3 nights. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff is friendly and the food is excellent. The wedding was a dream, and the rest of the stay was nice and relaxed. Great memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review, we're happy to know you spent funny times at TQ! It has been a lovey wedding and we enjoyed too!

We really hope you'll come to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just had our wedding in Tenuta Quadrifoglio in June 2014 with about 50 guests that stayed on property of the hotel.

We discovered this place by a mere accident 5 years ago when we were travelling around Italy on our first holiday together. We just fall in love with this hotel and magnificent Tuscan surroundings.

We were VERY pleased to have our wedding at Tenuta Quadrifoglio. We received excellent service and help when planning the wedding. Hotel staff were always helpful to both us and our guests, sorting out all requests and questions immediately.

And it turned out to be a perfect wedding! Everything went according to plan! The ceremony was lovely, the food was excellent, the wine was complemented by everyone and everyone received first class service from the waiters! The wedding cake looked absolutely perfect and tasted heavenly! We ordered fireworks- that blew everyone away :)

Thank you again for making our dream come true!

Room Tip: Rooms in Guest House are very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svetlanawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicrila, Responsabile reception at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Svetlana and Hallvard,

We already had the chance to say thank you, but we want to tell you once more that it has been a pleasure to organize your wedding.

We wish you all the best and we're looking forward to seeing you back soon here.
A huge hug,
Cristina and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had my wedding here in may 2013 and it was brilliant we had 40 guests with us and they all said the same thing perfect,from the staff to the food to the service it was all prefect and for the big day itself everything was taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becrici, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Tenuta Quadrifoglio, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your words. They mean a lot to us. A wedding is a special event for us and each wedding is unique, that's why we take care of every single detail. Everything has to be perfect. We feel that, when a foreign couple decide to get married abroad and choose Tenuta Quadrifoglio, they need all our assistance. The bride and the groom need to relax and we want them to be free from the thoughts and the stress they might have during those days.
Now, we really hope you can visit us again for a holiday.

Cristina and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambassi Terme
23.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,255 reviews
11.1 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
640 reviews
10.1 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
744 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Della Certosa
Villa Della Certosa
#4 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Quadrifoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Quadrifoglio

Property: Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Address: Via Camporbiano 20 | Località Il Castagno, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gambassi Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A court surrounded by three stone buildings in perfect Tuscan style, where our 6 rooms are located, also 4 apartments, a large dining room and a bright veranda. Our spacious manicured garden features two pools, all immersed in the green lawns and trails that will lead you to the colours, nature and history of the Val d'Era. The main building, the Quadrifoglio, has two floors: the ground floor has a large dining room and a sun room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenuta Quadrifoglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Quadrifoglio Gambassi Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing