We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go & visit, well worth it”

Santuario di San Francesco di Paola
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Paola
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go & visit, well worth it”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent a relaxing couple of hours here, mass was being conducted which was wonderful. Not too many tourists around so could wander around @ your leisure. Loved to see St Francis shoes & clothes which are in a shrine. Take something to eat especially around lunch time as nothing is open even in the square of Paola.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KazaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    93
    17
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Santuario di San Francesco”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We drove along the sea coast, finally reaching the town of Paola in Italy. Driving through the streets were so impressive with every turn. Amazing sculptures, beautiful arches leading down a picturesque road. We finally reached the santuary, & it was amazing. Tucked in the mountain, was this awesome place, with lots of history. A must see !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaMarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a beautiful and peaceful place to visit. We lucked out on the day when we visited this site. It was a rainy day and at times we were the only visitors there. All we could here was the water rushing down the waterfalls. It was very spiritual to see San Francesco's clothes on display in his shrine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So Beautifully Peaceful!!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

San Francesco di Paola is a must see if you are in the south. Away from the hustle and bustle and noise from the day to day, this sanctuary is truly that. Just walking through the pathways that the Saint walked through, admiring the surrounding natural beauty, meditating in the quiet of the chapels....a wonderful way to bring peace and quiet to the heart and mind. We went twice....just a quick, half day visit together. I highly recommend it...and take your time as you meander through! There is a little cafe where you can purchase snacks and drinks, but bring a lunch that you can enjoy on site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank weezie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santuario di San Francesco di Paola also viewed

Paola, Province of Cosenza
Paola, Province of Cosenza
 
Amantea, Province of Cosenza
 

Been to Santuario di San Francesco di Paola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing