We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel and patronising reception” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Barbara Hotel
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel and patronising reception”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My room was boiling hot, upon enquiring why the aircon was not working, I was told that in winter (21C today???) the aircon is switched off and that I had to open my window. One small problem my room is above a bar/restaurant, thus the noice and smell of old cooking oil was not welcome. Thus I ask to cancell my stay, the reception refused and said that I was the only one complaining, thus I must be the problem! - pretty rude. I was offered another room, smaller , and are to be charged the same rate as my first bigger room???? In my first room the drop stains from the last visitor was also very obvious. The internet connection is also slow and not worth the trouble. I have been allowed to cancell my second night.......never to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bus1ness, Direttore at Santa Barbara Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Nr Neil W.,
thank-you for taking the time to share your feed-back on tripadvisor.
I'm sorry to read that your experience at Santa Barbara Hotel was not satisfactory and for this reason I personally apologize.
Regarding your complaint, I'd like to make few clarification:

The weather in Milan during this end of October was absolutely unexpected.
Ten days ago the temperature was very low, and for this reason we were forced to switch-off the a/c system and switch-on the heating system. This is a normal procedure that the main hotels of the same our category do during this season.
Our reception team, after your complaint, offered to change the room. Since we were fully booked we assigned you a superior single room instead double you had reserved.
at check-out time the head receptionist having been advised previously by collegues, even if you didn't mention anything about your experience, applied you a discont on room rate apologizing for the inconvenience.
At your request not to change the room rate but deduct completely the restaurant, we were very happy that you gave us an opportunity to excuse ourselves with a solution that yourself suggested.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back again al santa Barbara hotel and be able to provide you our usual good service.

Kind regards

Davide Sinibaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    118
    41
    13
    3
See reviews for
17
23
16
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Ideal location for whom travel to San Donato Milanese for work, close to airport, close to underground (20min from Milan centre), lovely personnel, good breakfast, very clean and new rooms, and wi-fi should be available now!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-NL-IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My stay at the Santa Barbara hotel was a very pleasant one with a comfortable room, gym facilities and excellent continental breakfast. The hotel is only 10-15 min walk away from a metro station for a trip into Milan and is a short taxi ride from the Linate airport. Recommended for business or leisure trips alike.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sam_k_wilkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The staff was very kind and attentive. I stated there for business and the location was very convenient. However my room, even though was no smoking, smelled like cigarette and so adjacent rooms according to my colleagues. Breakfast was very good, especially considering Italian standards. Free wifi is only available in the lobby while the rooms have free internet via cable. The cable is short, however on the first floor signal
Is strong enough in the rooms close to the main staircase.

I would have given a higher review but the smoke smell ruined the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dog_loverMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardedeu, Catalonia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Since 1998, when I started to frequently visit San Donato for business, Santa Barbara Hotel has always been the first of my choices. Service is excellent (almost friends, already), breakfast has been improving over the years (last addition is a centrifugue where to prepare your own detox juice!), and the rooms and facilities have been continuously being renovated. Now, internet access is free (wired in the rooms, wifi in the lobby). Don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosepAntonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

There are only 2 hotels in the area and this is in second place, the suffice in the restaurant on a Friday night consisted of 2 serving staff and 3 guests, and yet the service was very poor as clearly they both preferred to talk to each other in the kitchen than actually attend to their guests, on Saturday night the "menu" was the same as the previous night, and asking for potatoes with steak, NO, okay so vegetables please NO, salad only, bad enough the menu was limited,3 main dishes identical to the previous night, but to be refused any alternate other than steak with salad was an absolute disgrace

On a week day evening arriving in the "restaurant " late i.e. 9.30, closes at 10pm,with a colleague I was served vastly undercooked boiled potatoes, which my colleague also tasted and confirmed, I took the matter and the potatoes to the reception desk and left them in their presence for them to taste what their kitchen was serving, they clearly approached the staff, who then proceeded to "offer' alternates when clearly at a late hour, what was left of food on my plate and companion who was already well through his meal was not an alternate at all, on being told that the only alternate was to initially cook and serve the food correctly in the first place, the same 2 staff, decided it was in completely acceptable to berate their guest in the middle of the restaurant for having the audacity to make a complaint to their management, to say the least this is not acceptable

I must add however, in fairness, that the other staff, outside of the above, were always very helpful at all times, this was my third visit of al of several weeks duration , however as a direct result of the above behaviour it will be my last, as I have advised my company I will not stay in such hotel were to make a justifiable complaint results in such intolerable behaviour

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lampur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Santa Barbra is probably the worst hosteling experience of my life. Small rooms, inefficient service poor internet facility. Simply keep yourself away from this hotel, I stayed here for 2 weeks before I moved into a serviced apartment in Missouri area. It;s only good if you have one or two days work with Eni. Breakfast choice is really limited and restaurant do not serve dinner after 10 pm If you are travelling from June to September think twice to stay here. This place during this period remains deserted and nothing you may find in night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tariq_Hasany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato Milanese
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan Linate
Crowne Plaza Milan Linate
#2 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atahotel The One
Atahotel The One
#3 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rege Hotel
Rege Hotel
#4 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Starhotels Business Palace
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#6 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.3 mi away
Air Hotel  Linate
Air Hotel Linate
#2 of 5 in Segrate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Hotel

Property: Santa Barbara Hotel
Address: Piazzale Supercorte Maggiore 4, 20097 San Donato Milanese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > San Donato Milanese
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Donato Milanese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Santa Barbara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Milan/San Donato Milanese, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing