We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Barbara Hotel
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly business stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The friendliness of the staff may make up for any shortcomings someone could find, although i personally believe this hotel is more than adequate and a valid alternative to the nearby Crowne Plaza.
Clean, it offer what is supposed to deliver: a business stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    122
    41
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
26
16
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had to find a hotel for the Milan Design Fair and naturally most places were full or crazy expensive. Landing at Linate, we wanted a hotel nearby and chose Santa Barbara. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, spoke good English, and made us feel very welcome. It is mainly a business hotel. The room was at the back, quiet, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was a good buffet mix of hot,cold, pastries, fruit etc. Dinner was good enough for us to eat in both nights. And if you don't mind the 12 minute walk to the Metro, you are on a line straight into the centre.
There is no swimming pool. I just cannot change the rating to indicate no pool?

Room Tip: Ask for room at back to be quieter, but it is not a noisy location anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyjaneCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinibaldiDavide, Direttore at Santa Barbara Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
...What else?

thank-you very much!

Davide Sinibaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March. Its a nice business hotel ideal for anyone on trip to San Donato. The room I had was nice, very clean and in good repair - No complaints. I cant comment on the food as I didn't eat at the hotel.

Worthy of a special mention is how helpful the staff where I had a particular issue (my own fault) and the staff went to extreme lengths to help me resolve it. Beyond what would be considered normal and also without any charge.

It is a nice hotel, the staff are excellent and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSE_Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
357 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Santa Barbara Hotel for one night only and therefore i cannot express an exhaustive point of view of it. However i could mention that the crew is very polite and attentive and the service is simply perfect. The room was quite small and the bed not the most confortable i have used so far anyway the room suits the needs of a businessmen that have to spend few days in San Donato for work. It is located in a perfect position being close to the Metro Station and all the major offices in San Donato.

I talked to some guests and they assured me that breakfast is amazing (unfortunately i had no time to try it).

Just two small things: wifi is available in the rooms as well; bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste that seemed to be not included in the "bathroom kit" provided.

Ciao

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_Detto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent a few nights at this hotel and whilst it is out from central Milan, the subway is nearby and within 15 mins you are at the Domo. It was quieter so a great location, mainly a business hotel but still vey good for travellers. The staff were fantastic - very helpful, friendly with good advice - and the room superub. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 164tanyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was the first time I stayed at the Santa Barbara - I usually stay at the Crowne Plaza.
I found the room excellent, clean, quiet and spacious (this was a double room which had a bedroom and a lounge). The room was somewhat warm but that was most likely due to the heavy curtains. The styling was well-appointed "vintage" but not kitch. A small problem finding enough plug points but that seems to be symptomatic of a lot of Italian hotels.
The breakfast was plentiful. I would most definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neocis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My room was boiling hot, upon enquiring why the aircon was not working, I was told that in winter (21C today???) the aircon is switched off and that I had to open my window. One small problem my room is above a bar/restaurant, thus the noice and smell of old cooking oil was not welcome. Thus I ask to cancell my stay, the reception refused and said that I was the only one complaining, thus I must be the problem! - pretty rude. I was offered another room, smaller , and are to be charged the same rate as my first bigger room???? In my first room the drop stains from the last visitor was also very obvious. The internet connection is also slow and not worth the trouble. I have been allowed to cancell my second night.......never to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bus1ness, Direttore at Santa Barbara Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Nr Neil W.,
thank-you for taking the time to share your feed-back on tripadvisor.
I'm sorry to read that your experience at Santa Barbara Hotel was not satisfactory and for this reason I personally apologize.
Regarding your complaint, I'd like to make few clarification:

The weather in Milan during this end of October was absolutely unexpected.
Ten days ago the temperature was very low, and for this reason we were forced to switch-off the a/c system and switch-on the heating system. This is a normal procedure that the main hotels of the same our category do during this season.
Our reception team, after your complaint, offered to change the room. Since we were fully booked we assigned you a superior single room instead double you had reserved.
at check-out time the head receptionist having been advised previously by collegues, even if you didn't mention anything about your experience, applied you a discont on room rate apologizing for the inconvenience.
At your request not to change the room rate but deduct completely the restaurant, we were very happy that you gave us an opportunity to excuse ourselves with a solution that yourself suggested.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back again al santa Barbara hotel and be able to provide you our usual good service.

Kind regards

Davide Sinibaldi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Donato Milanese
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan Linate
Crowne Plaza Milan Linate
#2 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atahotel The One
Atahotel The One
#3 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rege Hotel
Rege Hotel
#4 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Starhotels Business Palace
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#6 of 6 in San Donato Milanese
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Milano Linate Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Hotel

Property: Santa Barbara Hotel
Address: Piazzale Supercorte Maggiore 4, 20097 San Donato Milanese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > San Donato Milanese
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Donato Milanese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Milan/San Donato Milanese, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing