We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very unpleasant experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corato
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

don't know how previous reviews scored high for this hotel as 1st impressions from entering lobby was not good. Hotel dated and would need a complete refurbishment. The carpet inside Our bedroom was filthy, there was a large stain on the floor, as were also the public areas. There was a very strong damp smell as soon as you entered the room. Found staff where not really concerned with issues we had made known to them. Breakfast was disappointing as there was a large youth group in the hotel who ate most of the items at breakfast time. When we went down to eat they had ran out of food and we continuously had to ask for utensils, croissants milk etc. Our daughter with her husband and two small children had moved bedrooms three times in three days due to the aircon not working, which was very distressing. Definitely not a 4star hotel, the only reason it got this rating was because of the wellness centre with its pools, which where open to the public so were very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinehill_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    58
    32
    37
See reviews for
42
41
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Oh dear where to begin!
We travelled to Corato for a family Wedding and decided to stay in the Nicotel partially due to the reviews on this site. We had booked a triple room (the largest room available) as there were two adults and two children. The first night was extremely uncomfortable as the aircon wasn't working. When we asked at reception they kept fobbing us off with excuses and trying to reset the system. Eventually on the second day they finally sent someone up to the room to fix the aircon. We returned to the room to find it still wasn't working. We were assured that it was working and we weren't using it right! After another day of arguing about this one of the receptionists finally came with us to the room and discovered ...... the aircon was broken! It turns out there was an electrical fault which caused the aircon to short out every time the room card was inserted in the room.
Finally we were moved, but only to a double room. As we were heading out that night we left it with the staff to change the beds to two doubles as they had suggested. When we returned, however this still wasn't done. We asked again but all we were able to get was a single bed added to the room. This meant our son had to sleep in another room with other family members. Finally on the third day of our holiday we were moved into a triple room again with air conditioning working! So of our 5 day stay we wasted 3 days arguing with the staff and moving rooms. Holiday ruined!
Other issues we had with the hotel
- Even with the air conditioning working the rooms were still very hot and stuffy
- Parking facilities are very poor and not very secure
- No security boxes in the rooms, if you have valuables the only 'secure' storage was a communal safe at reception which only the staff had access to
- The rooms and general hotel cleanliness weren't great (many stains on the carpets, pillow
cases were threadbare etc.)
- Phones in two of the rooms we were in didn't work (bathroom phone in the first room was actually hanging off the wall and was only in place by one screw and the cables!)
- No air extraction in the bathrooms in the rooms which meant the rooms became very hot when the showers were used. And smelly if the toilets used!
- Every day there was a group of 30-40 kids on some sort of summer scheme staying in the hotel. They were generally well behaved but a bit of a pain when they kept running down the corridors and openeing/closing the fire escapes. They also seemed to have preferential service at breakfast and by the time they were finished there was next to nothing left for the other hotel guests.
- Breakfast was VERY basic.
- A car is a must as the hotel isn't really situated near anything of interest although Corato itself is a very nice town

On a positive note however,
- The rooms are very spacious. There was plenty of room in our triple room for the staff to add an extra bed for our daughter
- The pool area was excellent and the pools very well maintained
- The people of Corato are lovely although it isn't particularly well suited to tourists. Don't expect anyone to speak much English other than the basic (although we coped OK with our basic Italian). this applies to the hotel staff also - they do not speak English at all.
- The hotel was only round the corner and within walking distance from a very handy supermarket
- The wedding was excellent in a local Villa and we now have some lovely Italian relatives!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC_NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corato hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have been to Corato a number of times and always have stayed at the Parco al Serrone which is a very nice hotel with a friendly staff. This year we wanted a change so we selected the Nicotel instead. The hotel was very nice, the room was spacious with a nice, modern bathroom. Since we were visiting family we did not eat in the resaurant other than breakfast. The breakfast was very good, but unfortunately there was some type of convention being held there in the large convention center behind the hotel which caused the dining room to be really crowded and made it a challenge to get a waitress and find something to eat. Secure parking was also a challenge for the same reason as the lot was filled past the capacity. All in all, I would still recommend the hotel, but hopefully you won't find such a big crowd when you arrive. It was much closer to the Centro and was pretty new.

Room Tip: Corato has some great restaurants.....has a lot of history and is a really nice city to visit. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Good hotel with good facilities. If I had to come back in this area I would pick it again.
Several pluses (nice pool, nice and clean rooms, helpful staff) and some minuses (the pool is open to non-customers and quite packed, tv is not working properly)
The only shocking experience was breakfast: buffet and the room were vandalized by mid-august customers and their kids. I had to sit in a table unset...but I think this is an accident and it's probably to blame on customers more than on staff

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pappone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My Mum and I stayed there for a week due to music competition taken place in their premises. Double room was very ordinary. Bathroom didn't have any toiletries or slippers. Walls are too thin, so we could hear noises from the corridor and adjacent rooms. In the beginning of June outdoor swimming pools were still out of use, even though weather was very hot. Free internet in the lobby and in the rooms was good.
Breakfast was very basic and boring, they ran out of salami and cheese very often. Coffee was lovely. Dinners were amazing, so half-board is recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poligera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed at the Nicotel Wellness in early September 2009. The hotel manager Enzo was exceptionally helpful and spoke good english. (He helped us out of a tricky spot when a Taxi driver from the airport was trying to over charge for the fare.). The rooms are very clean and the staff are friendly.

We were particularly impressed with the swimming pool and gym facilites.

The hotel offer a collection service from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenmhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford,Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

Excellent. Hotel has all the modern amenities and on premises
restaurant and bar. English spoken, secure parking, very good restaurant , fantastic breakfast, more american than continental.
Walking distance to center of town. many medieval churches, wine and olive oil agriculture. Very helpful staff. I will be going there again for sure. Car rental a must and highways to major cities excellent.

  • Liked — The ambiance
  • Disliked — I was Completely satisfied
  • Tips/Secrets — Tips accepted, but not necessarily expected.
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank angelo313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corato
1.7 mi away
Hotel Parco Serrone
Hotel Parco Serrone
#2 of 6 in Corato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maglioferro Residence
Maglioferro Residence
#1 of 6 in Corato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nicotel Bisceglie
Nicotel Bisceglie
#5 of 5 in Bisceglie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Genius Hotel
Genius Hotel
#3 of 6 in Corato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jubilee Hotel Lunch
Jubilee Hotel Lunch
#4 of 6 in Corato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Pineta
Hotel Pineta
#1 of 1 in Ruvo Di Puglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato

Property: Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato
Address: Via Gravina s/n, 70033 Corato, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Corato
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicotel Wellness in Corato is an elegant hotel localized in an area of great historical and cultural and eno-gastronomic interest, few kilometers far from Castel del Monte (Unesco site) and some of the most beautiful Romanic Cathedrals. Its 76 rooms, sober but refined, are equipped with all the comfort a guest needs. In the hotel restaurant, cozy and comfortable, guests can enjoy the typical regional cuisine as well as dietetic menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicotel Sport Hotel Corato Italy - Province Of Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing