We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Spa and Luxury Accomodation”
Review of Grotta Giusti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grotta Giusti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We drove from the South of England all the way to Tuscany to stay at Grotta Giusti for a week. On arrival we were immediately impressed by the high level of service offered by the reception staff. They were very friendly and our luggage was collected from our car and taken to our room.

Staff then gave us an initial guided tour of the hotel, the numerous lounges and reading areas, the dining and breakfast suite, the bar area with it's own large lounge and outdoor seating area. And then the Spa!!

The indoor area of the spa is reached directly from the hotel via a long corridor. You wear bathing robe, slippers and take with you your pink/red swimming cap. Everyone has to wear a swimming cap in the pool as the water is pumped up from underground caves to give this amazing naturally warm water full of minerals. Hotel guests get their own sun loungers, a small private pool and their own entrance to the main pool exclusively for their own use, day visitors to the spa have their own facilities (much more restricted). At the far end of the pool are several hydrotherapy areas from stand up to lie down jacuzzis!! There is even a wall of water that you can sit under and get pummelled by the waterfall effect.

Inside the spa there is every treatment under the sun, you'll have to look at their website for the full list. But the truly amazing deal clincher about this hotel is their underground caves: Discovered over a century ago by a labourer working in the grounds of the original manor house the hotel is now based in. He saw steam coming from under a rock in the grounds. He moved the rock and was hit by a rush of steam. They dug down and found these incredible natural caves with stalactites and stalagmites and pools of blue water, all naturally warmed by the heat of the earth.

They have managed to sculpt these caves so you can walk down into their depths. The further you walk the hotter it gets. You are invited to stay in three distinct areas and in the final one there are plenty more loungers where you sit back and feel all the stress sweat out of you!! It's an incredible experience. And hotel guests get one visit down to the caves per day for free. Just book at the spa reception.

Location , it's about half way between Florence and Pisa. Florence is a great day out, plenty to do and see and lovely shops and restaurants. Pisa we were not that impressed with as apart from the famous tower, there's not that much else to do or see. Around Grotta Giusti itself there's not that much either. The restaurants aren't up to much. And that brings me on to the hotel restaurant at Grotta.

The breakfast buffet is very varied and full, you don't half to order any additional food. Lunch is provided outside near the pool and has a lovely selection of salads etc, Keeps you feeling very healthy.

Dinner was a slight let down. Very expensive for v small portions. In the end, I relied more on the starter buffet, which is designed as an appetiser, but I tried to fill my plate with food from that so I wasn't hungry by the end.

But to end on a good note, the rooms are fabulous. Very luxurious, tended to twice a day, towels changed twice daily and a small bowl of fruit replenished through the week. Even a small card telling you the weather forecast. And in the bathroom, you can bathe in those same mineral filled warm waters pumped up from the underground caves!!

You must try this hotel, even just for a 2-3 night break added on to a Florence or Pisa city break.

Thanks for reading.

Paul and Louise

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bath and go Half Board for best quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

If you like the Wellness concept, this hotel is a nice place. But we were travelling with our children ( 8 & 12 years old) and since the average age of the guests seemed to be around 60, this was clearly not a place for us. The staff was very understanding and nice though. They let us cancel our reservation after one night at the hotel without any charges.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetinaAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Excellent service from the start at this hotel. We upgraded to half board on arrival and the food was excellent. A change of chefs suggestions each evening. Good choice for breakfast and fresh orange juice. Our room was very dark as on back of hotel. We had booked a mountain view room but didn't realise mountain would be only 20 metres from the window. The outside pool in the spa area was excellent and free to use for guests. Special area and separate pool provided for guests. Towels, slippers and gowns provided on arrival. Hotel accepts that these will be worn all day and accepted in every area until evening. The grotto was very different - a natural thermal spa. One is asked to wear a heavy, full-length, hooded cotton robe - probably to intensify the heat - very strange. Water is piped from the thermal spring to the baths in the bedrooms.There was a wide choice of treatments in the spa. The drinks in the bar were very expensive but the wine in the restaurant was an acceptable price.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel as too dark at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Grotta Giusti was everything we wanted. We arrived late but the staff were super. The facilities are excellent and the room was clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately our stay was ruined by the snobbish sycophantic restaurant manager. That was the one and only night we went to the restaurant. For the other 5 nights we went to the cafe around the corner and a rather superb little restaurant L'Osteria in the village. The food at both establishments was far superior to what we ate at the hotel. It is a super hotel but seriously avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsidebassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Was excited about the terme hoping it would have at least one hot tub. Water was lukewarm, food was mediocre, and the whole thing was overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I had always wanted to visit this famous spa in a park with an amazing thermal pool and underground grotto. But in the morning we were woken up at 6 AM by a large truck right outside our window, spraying all the trees in the pretty garden with chemicals to discourage mosquitos; the noise and spraying went on all morning. Then, without prior warning, we learned that the large thermal pool, the main attraction of the hotel, was closed for the day; we were offered a small thermal pool, but it was essentially in the middle of a crowded construction site with ladders, drills, dust, and noise, with construction workers walking back and forth --- noisy and dusty and dangerous.
The staff met all our questions with indifference, saying "It's just one day!". But it was our day, and we should have been informed in advance that the pool would be closed and the garden sprayed. A miserable morning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mmedesevigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This was a great place to take a few days to relax. The setting is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The pool was great. The hotel really knows how to do customer service. The massage services are great. I wish I had time to get more. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with everything. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
0.4 mi away
Collina Toscana Resort
Collina Toscana Resort
#2 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
69 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#12 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vintage Hotel
Vintage Hotel
#48 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
78 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#7 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
913 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bagni di Pisa
Bagni di Pisa
#1 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotta Giusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotta Giusti

Address: 1411 Via Grotta Giusti, 51015 Monsummano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monsummano Terme
Price Range: £179 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grotta Giusti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotta Giusti is located in Monsummano Terme just a few kilometres from Florence, Pisa and Lucca.Set in a private park with secular trees, the early nineteenth century villa, now a prestigious Hotel, enriched by antique furnishings and paintings, has maintained intact its historical air and natural charm. The 58 double rooms and 6 Junior Suites, furnished in a refined, fresh style, offer unexpected details such as the bathrooms in luxurious white marble with thermal water on tap. The Hotel is directly connected to the Spa, which has a modern Wellbeing Centre with an Oriental area, equipped gymnasium, numerous relaxation areas and a medical aesthetic centre. The Spa also has an open air pool with 750 square metres of thermal water, picturesque cascade and underwater hydro-massages and the large millennial Grotta to end the day with a beneficial, relaxing "steam bath". Immersed in the park are the fresh water swimming pool, tennis court and fitness walk with further trekking courses for excursions in the surrounding countryside. And, just a few kilometres from Grotta Giusti, an 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grotta Giusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf Hotel Monsummano Terme
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf And Spa
Grotta Giusti Spa
Grotta Giusti Hotel
Grotta Giusti Tuscany/Monsummano Terme, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing