We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Service”
Review of Nico's

Nico's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have been to Port de Pollenca on a number of occasions before and had not had the opportunity to try Nicos but decide this year to give a try. The 4 of us were so pleased that we visited 3 times during our 2 week stay. The set menu is great value and the food was cooked just to our taste. We booked a table in advance on each occasion as every time we passed they were busy, so a tip to ensure you get a table is book the day before you wish to eat there or call at 1800hrs when they open to book a table for later to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Y_Marcos, Gerente at Nico's, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and for trying our restaurant but, overall for having visited us in so many occasions on your visit to Pollença. Our cook Aita, works with only fresh products to put together and make our dishes in Nico´s, and that, the reason for our home-made dishes. It was a good idea to reserve your table. It helps us organize much better the nights and give a much better service to our clients in the busy months. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    89
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful family experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Nicos after reading reviews on TripAdvisor for Tex Mex food in Port De Pollenca, towards the end of our holiday.
Unusually all four of us left the restaurant very happy with our experience, wishing that we had found it earlier and had the opportunity to re-visit.

The set price meal was excellent value (€13.90 for 3 courses) for my teen daughters; probably not large enough for those with big appetites (such as myself) but plenty for them. They had ribs (declared unanimously as the best ever), my wife had the house steak which was huge , meltingly tender and wonderfully cooked and served with a delicious potato dish and ratatouille style vegetables.
I had enchiladas, served with rice and a delicious tomato based sauce. The rice wasn't great, but the rest of the meal more than made up for it. All this wrapped up with good friendly service at reasonable prices for freshly cooked food, made our visit memorable.

We visit Mallorca annually and Nicos will top our list of places to visit upon our likely return next year!

Helpful?
1 Thank Buster81070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Y_Marcos, Gerente at Nico's, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and your time to dedicate your comments. We will transfer your opinion to our kitchen staff. Also thank you for the comment on the rice, we will check that out. We hope to see you back some day soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were drawn in by the atmosphere, but once seated and having received our (expensive) round of drinks, we were then ignored, as the waiter favoured a pre-booked group who had arrived after us and filling up further tables with new customers. After at least 4 attempts just to get somebody's attention we were finally able to order our food (despite many waiters walking back and forth past our table by the door!!!!) .

The food took longer than expected to come but once it arrived, it could not be faulted.

Once we asked for the bill, we left more than enough cash and the waiters did not bring change, but instead assumed it was for them as a tip! Which, to be quite honest, they did not deserve even those 5€.

Will not be returning.

Helpful?
4 Thank Tilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Y_Marcos, Gerente at Nico's, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comment on the page. Our staff tries there best to satisfy our clients with an enjoyable meal. We have look into this matter. Our waiter thought that you were waiting together with another group that was also waited a table. They sat the group and did not realize that your group did not sit with them. As for the long wait for the order to be taken, we are quite sorry. Sometimes in August it is quite hard not to have some mishap with a table in full nights that pack up in a very quick way. We hope you try us again and have a completely different experience. Please except our apology from all of our waiting staff.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A welcome haven at the end of a tiring day”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Sought this place out after reading the positive reviews and it didn't disappoint. We were the first customers of the evening but the tables quickly filled up, giving a lovely bustling atmosphere. Staff were attentive and friendly and the food was just what we were all looking for. Wasn't as reasonably priced as I had been led to believe from some of the reviews but then the location and food made it worthwhile. My husband highly recommends the chicken fajitas! Would visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Y_Marcos, Gerente at Nico's, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for dedicating your time to post your comments on Nico´s and also to your husband´s recommendation. We will be waiting for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently visited Nico's as we saw on a board outside that they had pulled pork. We ended going back the next day as well. The meals were tasty, the staff friendly and the atmosphere was great. A word of warning though, Nico's is very popular as you may imagine, so if you wish to sit outside, pre-booking is advised.

Helpful?
Thank Flanagan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nico's also viewed

Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Nico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing