We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Redbourn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

It is approx 20 min walk from the town but the pine walk is really scenic - although the path is quite difficult with a pushchair so we opted to take the back streets. The resort had undergone a recent renovation and had great water slides in the kids pool. They had plenty of good evening entertainment and kids clubs. The apartments were spacious and were really well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SusanD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    561
    170
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,214
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent 10 nights self catering at the Playa Mar during May 2011 having booked our holiday via Thomson. There were 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 kids.
We had a really wonderful holiday there, the location is very beautiful (20 mins along a Pine tree-line sea front walk to the resort centre) and the hotel is of a good standard, with excellent facilities for kids.
The hotel has recently had a new Entertainment venue built and one part of the clover shaped pool has had Crab and Cow themed slides installed for children suitable for ages up to 12 - our kids loved it! The kids entertainment and kids clubs are excellent.
There seemed to be a huge number of entertainment and holiday reps on site who were ready to answer every question we had.
The rooms are split over 4 blocks with the Entertainment venue, pools, hotel buildings located in the middle.
We were at the back of block 1 - furthest from the entertainment venue - and couldn't hear it at all even when sat on the balcony. The entertainment finishes by around 11pm and the bar closes shortly after, so even if you're in an apartment block nearer to the Entertainment, it does not go on too late.
Rooms are in a good condition, clean and comfortable. Cleaners visited our room 7 nights out of a 10 night stay and replaced towels/swept on each visit. Sheets were changed twice in that period.
All hotel facilities seemed to be in very good condition (grounds, public areas, restaurant) and well maintained.
We paid half board for breakfast and evening meal in the on-site buffet style restaurant. Perfect for kids as the resort centre is 20 mins away and also the buffet meant that if the kids were being awkward about what to eat, we could go back and get them something else!
The resort is stunning - particularly the pine walk into the centre and has lots of small sandy beaches along the sea front until you get to the resort centre. Not very built up at all, hardly any toy/junk shops to tempt the kids with stuff and amazing to step into the sea and have fish swim around you in the clear waters! Beautiful, distant mountains surround the resort in all directions.
Supermarkets in Puerto Pollensa do charge exorbitant amounts of money for everyday items such as bread (3 euro/2 pounds 70p in current exchange rate). My advice is to go into the resort centre and get any shopping you need from the Erosky City or larger Erosky supermarket on the edge of the resort - that's where Majorcan's shop!
Overall, a wonderful holiday at a comfortable hotel with great facilities for families and a beautiful, not built up, resort. Weather was good at about 25 degrees with sunshine for most of our stay too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Adey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelreviewer2008
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I have purposely not read the other reviews as I do not want my review to be swayed either way.

If you like your "aparhotel" room to have enough room to swing a cat, you may be disappointed as from what we could see you may not be able to swing the said cat in the one bedroom self-catering rooms here. The 1 bedroom rooms are tiny and to say they are basic would be an understatement. You would struggle to find a 4* hotel in this country with rooms as small and as dark and uninviting as this. We were told that all rooms are the same size so no special arrangements can be made for lovers of cat-swinging.

I described the room at the time as "grim" to one unhelpful rep who spoke to me with words ending with "do you what I mean mate". Classy.

On the bright side, if you like poo stains in your toilet on arrival, this may be up your street. This is exactly what we were greeted with on arrival. After my wife vomited several times, we called reception immediately to request a room change and for a cleaner. 6 hours later a cleaner turned up by which time we had been to the mini-market, bought some bleach and cleaned it ourselves. In a supposed 4* hotel we had to clean up someone else's poo stain after a tiring journey; Nice.

A room change call was made to us about 2 days later. The lady wanted to put us 1 or 2 floors higher on the same miserable side of the hotel that we were on. Shaded and a with a very restricted view of nothing, we rejected her kind offering and stayed where we were. We had lost the will by that point. We counted ourselves lucky when another guest complained that the room they were staying in (on the other side) were overlooking a building site and they were moved also. On checking in, another guest was moaning and kicking up a fuss about exactly the same thing. Seems like a common problem.

The rooms around the pool seem nice in that at least they have a view of something albeit I get the impression that they may have to deal wit the noise from the nightly entertainment that is poolside. The 1 bedroom rooms are persumably equally very small but on reflection, it seems you have perhaps a 50% chance of getting one as the hotel looks as though it has 4 equal sides, 2 pool view, 2 nothing/building site view. We had 2 v small children with us and specifically requested pool side in advance but did not get it. People checked out left right and centre and were not by any stretch immediately replaced by people checking in. Somehow, this went overlooked and a few hours or days later whilst we were in our miserable room having lodged a complaint and having requested a pool side room, some newcomers waltzed straight in to their poolside rooms.

Location: If you like really long walks in to the main centre of Puerto Pollensa, this may be the choice for you. There is hardly anything on the doorstep and the mini-market annexed to the hotel seems much more expensive than the other mini-markets that are in the town (we could not see any other mini-markets etc nearby). We (a young couple) timed a brisk walk when the children were being looked after by a family member and it took us 25 minutes to get in to the centre. With small children you can at least double that to say 50 minutes or so.

Not quite the gentle stroll in to the nearby centre the marketing people would have you believe. The only way this is a 10 minute stroll is if you were walking on a treadmill that was mounted to the roof of a car travelling at approx 30 miles per hour.

The good points....well the kids loved it, but then I suppose they would, they don't know any different. You could put our kids in a paddling pool with two water pistols and they'd play in it all day. There were plenty of other kids knocking around and much fun was had by them. The pool is nice and child friendly and indeed the hotel lobby is nice.

This is not in my opinion close to being a 4* hotel/room, it would just about scrape a 3* rating in my book. I have genuinely stayed in nicer and bigger 2* rooms before this.

We went in to the Illa Dor and that is a real 4* hotel in my view. I'm not sure the pictures on the web do that place justice as I wasn't convinced pre-booking. It seemed to me to be far superior to look at, right on the beach, really nice pool and looked a lot classier. I admit to being a bit envious at comparing the look of that place to our hotel esp if you can get a sea view, beautiful. The Miramar was also very nice to look at from the outside and in. Great location, close to the town (1-2 minutes) and right on the beach but also surprising classy and looked very smart in the reception area.

Anyhow, due to volcanic ash we booked a flight home on short notice and we left 1 1/2 days early. I was relieved to get out to be fair. I wont be going back here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelreviewer2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is our 11th year going to the playa mar and i would really recommend it !
Its in a gorgeous location tucked between the mountains not far from the beach and the hotel is great ,the staff are really friendly both spanish and english and as we have been going for many years now they all recognise us and always say hello. It takes about 20 minutes - half an hour on the gorgeous pine walk to get to the centre of puerto pollensa from the hotel where there are many restraunts and bars i must say the scenenery is amazing ! The hotel has many activities through out the day and night for people of all ages its a great family hotel and we look forward to our stay again this year !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amy16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

we are from northeren ireland we had a good stay lovely area and the pr coco was really helpfull and gave us good info about the area and hotel defenitly will be back in the playa mar friendly staff till soon!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerspride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was out 7th visit to this hotel. Despite the fact that they have never acknowledge we are returning visitors (no fee bottle of wine etc) we kept going back here because we love the area and the accomodation was of a good standard. However, things have slipped dramatically in the past year. The apartment was the total opposite of what we specifically requested. Plus it was filthy, Walls smeared with layers of thick dust. When I mentioned it to the staff they were totally uninterested.
Don't be conned by the good reputation this place has enjoyed. It has gone seriously down hill.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gizmo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

IF you are planning to travel to this Hotel that has GREAT reviews PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE check your booking form CAREFULLY!!! There is a Hotel in S'Illot with the same name that has TERRIBLE reviews and I can assure you is TERRIBLE!!! You can easily be duped into thinking you are to stay in Pollenca when in fact you are staying in S'Illot, don't make the same mistake as MANY others have. Hope you have a great time in the right Hotel!!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Ohgee169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#23 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
568 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing