We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at playa mar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Holiday at playa mar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed for a week all inclusive. The hotel was great and very clean. My children loved the entertainment and Davey b and Faye were brilliant. However the walk into puerto pollensa is 30 minutes and long for children. Also don't get a room in blocks 2 or 3 as you will feel that the entertainment is in your room. Too loud, please turn the volume down. The restaurant is poor and I wish we had not gone all inclusive. Cold food with little inspiration and the choice was poor. Over cooked meat and freezer value food. Under cooked sausages at breakfast and uninspiring choice. Some waitresses were unfriendly and left finished plates on tables for a long time. Watered down beer n cold red wine. The food let this resort down badly.

Room Tip: Request a room without a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovefrance35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    547
    169
    44
    20
See reviews for
1,176
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Want to know what this hotel is like?? Watch Benidorm on ITV or on DVD? The similarities are uncanny! If you want an all inclusive eating and drinking fest with the family then this is the place for you. Rooms great, pool great, staff fantastic, food average, entertainments typical.
If you want self catering and to branch out into the local area it is a little more tricky. The nearest reasonably priced supermarket is a good twenty minute walk (with three small children- an hour), which makes the hotels option half board for 15 euros a day more attractive. The rooms are also equipped with the smallest kitchens ever seen.
If you like to be a little more sophisticated than an all inclusive drinking fest then the local town is excellent, it is very quaint and Spanish with history and class oozing through the swarms of British tourists. Our rep described it as "Not geared up for the British Market", so it was great for us as we would like to think of ourselves as slightly posh. He suggested visiting Alcudia instead, but that was like Blackpool on a bad day.
Don't get conned by the Thomson excursions, they charge a small fortune to sit on a hot bus with hundreds of other people all day. Much better value is to rent a car for 75 euros from reception for three days. When I say car, it was more like a tin can with a lawn mover engine (Fiat Panda), but it did the job We managed to see most of the island in our three days with a particular highlight being the Soller Railway.

Overall a great location for a cheap getaway to a beautiful Island.

Room Tip: Block 1 on the far side is nice and quiet. Room 206 gets the hotel wifi on the window sill. Not many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We found the Playa Mar a frielndly welcoming hotel with just about the right mix of catering for children and older guests. The reception staff were OK, but the Thomson reps were obviously waiting for the end of season by their general disinterest in the guests. The hotel has a redesigned pool area catering for children, and when the new spa comes along perhaps the adults will have something to amuse them as well. The catering is also new and compared well with other places, but the Thomson 4 star categorisation is a bit misleading, as compared with other genuine 4 star venues it has a little way to go.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dal503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

we visited the playa mar in october for a week with my husband and 2 young children. The first thing id like to say is the food was brilliant, lots of variation and the children had lots to pick from. Very cheap as well as we booked self catering and upgraded once out there which is alot cheaper than boonking the AI package through thomson.Entertainment was brilliant and there is lots to do here for children, my kids especially loved the waterpark. Definetly preferred this resort over cala bona as it is a much more prettier area of mallorca. As for these people moaning about hearing crickets outside there room at night, well what can i say, they are obviously just going to moan about everyone and everything and should maybe reconsider not going abroad if this bothers them. would definetly recommed this hotel for people with children cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 834kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband, 9 month old baby and I have just returned from Playa Mar. We had not travelled abroad with our baby before but on the back of a very good last minute bargain through First Choice and the previous Trip Advisor reviews we booked a week's holiday on a self catering basis and less than 48 hours later we were wandering along the Pine Walk soaking up the sun.
Previous holidays, pre-baby, were quite different but we were not disappointed with our choice. Puerto Pollensa and the Playa Mar turned out to be an ideal first family holiday for us.
The room we had was clean and nice. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor thereby avoiding the noise from the evening entertainment, which was ideal. The kitchenette was small but we didn't intend to do much proper cooking there. It was perfectly fine for making breakfasts and snacky lunches, which is what we did. We got food mainly from Eroski (much cheaper than Spar or the onsite supermarket).
We ate at the hotel buffet one night. It was fine and reasonably priced in my opinion but our preference was to eat out of the hotel (hence choosing self-catering and not all inclusive). The downside of this was that some of the restaurants and bars are expensive. You could upgrade to half board at the hotel for something like 15 euros a day, minimum 3 days, but once we knew our baby settled to sleep well in her pushchair after being fed for the night, we were happier eating out.
The walk is a reasonable distance and though we never timed it I'd say it's more like 30 mins to the "main drag". It is also a bit heavy going on the pushchair due to the uneven ground so we locked the front wheels. We found that the bumpy ride often got our baby off to sleep for a daytime nap! The walk is lovely with fanastic views and at the end of the holiday we did conclude that we were glad that our hotel was located right at the end of the Pine Walk as it meant that every day we got to walk it. We took the road some evenings and that way is probably a bit quicker, although not as picturesque.
The hotel staff were friendly and made a real fuss over our baby. We had a slight problem with our room which we reported and which was remedied immediately.
We were provided with a Mothercare cot in our room and when we requested a highchair, we were given one to keep in our room for the duration our stay.
The only negative we have to say about the hotel is that the pool was freezing, too cold for us to swim in never mind our baby, which was a shame.
There is a free soft play area (unsupervised) which we made use of and we also took advantage of the creche for three 2 hour sessions, after a free drop in session to check it out! The Thomson's staff there were brilliant and our baby was happy playing there whilst we indulged in a bit of sunbathing! We were happy leaving our daughter in their care after meeting them and seeing the creche, although before leaving for our holiday we did not expect to make use of the creche.
Puerto Pollensa is a lovely area, day and night. There were no pushy restauranteurs trying to get you to eat in their establishment, meaning you could wander along and feel unpressured deciding where to eat.
The little beaches along the Pine Walk are lovely and the sea was quite warm despite it being mid October.
We took the bus to Alcudia, both the town and the Port (lovely long beach) - both are worth a visit if you fancy getting out of Puerto Pollensa. The bus was easy and cheap. We didn't go any further afield but would consider returning to Majorca to explore more of the island.
Playa Mar turned out to be a fantastic place for us to stay with our young baby and we could see ourselves returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

i think maybe we were spoiled by staying in the bonaire at cala bona this year. although the playa mar is nice, for a retired couple as we are, there was not enough to do nearby. was a long walk into the centre and not many cafe's on the way for a sit by the sea. however, if you are a family with children, the hotel will be fine. food a bit average, we would not normally go all incl but this is the most expensive resort on the isand and, as said, a long way to the nearest supermarket. entertainment staff for kids excellent. cleaning also excellent. if all incl dont even try the curly sandwiches at the pool bar. if s/c you have a fridge (freezer comp completely frozen so you wont get anything in there) enough plates/cutlery etc and a microwave/toaster. dont even think of the shop at the entrance. prices about three times what you would get at the eroskie (dont think thats spelt correct in town). however, enjoy your holiday, weather was good so we did

Room Tip: choose a room in block 1 or 4 on the mountain/road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penny19kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you have young children this is the place for you. Fab pools and great entertainment for the kidsunder 12..Not much for the 12 - 16 age group. Johny and Fay were great reps very friendly and great fun. Hard to get sunbeds if you get up after 9am. The apartments are spotless and really nice. Two good single beds but if you want more it is the couch that transforms to a bed. A bid hard for my son who ended up sleeping with us, not ideal. The evening entertainment was very varied some very good some not so good. Prices at the bar very reasonable. I found the food to be very good but only ate there twice in the evening. The location of the apartments is quite a long walk from the main restaurants and bars, but the walk about 20minutes is a pleasant one. A great holiday and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robjanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
10.6 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing