We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the player mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great time at the player mar”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We went for 5 days from the 6th May. I don't think i could fault the aspects of the hotel we used and the thomson reps were really helpful and gave us a lot of information.

We were self catering so can't comment on the food, but i am glad we did go self catering because there were plenty of places to eat in the port itself, and breakfast was lovely on our balcony with the morning sun on us!

This hotel is very family orientated, but we didn't feel ostracised by the fact we are a young couple. There is a "grown up" indoor spa area which is lovely. A lot of money has been put into that and it was lovely to use it. Its got a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well as some plunge pools. Shame it doesn't open earlier. We avoided buying the swimming caps because when we went the lady was doing a treatment so bonus! The outside pool is really good for young ones, and we had a good time in it too! Plenty of beds for us to chose from.

The rooms were spacious, i liked having a separate bedroom/living area and the kitchenette is neatly hidden so its not in your face. It is pretty basic, but we managed fine with it being just us two, all the equipment was there that we needed, and there is a handy corner shop just outside of the hotel for any supplies you might need.

Hotel entertainment isn't our thing but what we saw it looked pretty average, the children seemed to love it though. Drinks are a bit pricey at the bar.

Port de pollensa itself is quite a nice little place. I guess it takes about 20 minutes to get into the heart of the action, and after a few days it was getting a bit of a drag doing that twice or so a day but it is a really lovely walk. Loads of places to get a drink, eat out ect. Nice ice cream place just outside of the bus station. Talking of buses, really cheap and we used them a lot to get about! Pollensa town is great for the 365 steps to the church, nice place to spend a few hours. If there is one thing to do its to get the train from palma to soller. Lovely place and would definitely go back there again!

All in all a top holiday in a lovely region of majorca!

Room Tip: We were facing the pool, it can get noisy so perhaps face the mountains for a bit more peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vixarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    560
    170
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,213
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here from 28th April to 5th May on our first family holiday with our five month old daughter on half board basis. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well by all the staff from reception, house keeping and especially by Donna and Tolo in the restaurant they really made our holiday.
The food was very varied and of great quality sometimes a little on the cool side but there is a microwave available. the restaurant catered well for children but as noted before they don't have kids cutlery in case you would prefer your toddler to use these you could bring some with you.
The pool area was fab lots of sun lounges and parasol there are great slides for the children, we found the area to be very clean and tidy and there was kids clubs running throughout the day.
We used the spa which was gorgeous the pool was a lovely temperature for the baby and children can use the facility from 12-4pm. You do need to wear a swim cap so bring some with you they are €2 each. I also got a massage here which was very good the spa prices are not cheap but i thought my treatment was worth the money.
We stayed in apartment 1206 which is to the front of the property and was very quiet. The room was spacious for the three of us but if there are four in the room it may be a little tight. the tv had bbc1, itv1 and 2. the lobby offers free wi-fi which we could pick up from the kitchen window also.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone we had a wonderful time here and the town of Puerto Pollen is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CiaraMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We went with our two children, aged 7 and 9 at the end of April 2012. The hotel was located at the far end of the town, so was quite quiet and peaceful. The pools and kid's club kept the children occupied most of the time. There were all sorts of family activities on hand throughout the day. The sea front was only 3 minutes walk from the hotel, and the shopping area in town was only 15 minutes away (a bit longer if you take the kids). There is a small shop in the hotel which provides all the essentials, such as milk, bread, etc.
The rooms were cleaned each day and the beds made, towels changed and toiletries topped up.
The kitchen was basic but adequate for half-board, but maybe a bit too basic for self-catering.
The air-con didn't seem to get very cool, even at night, but it did circulate the air in the room.
The restaurant was very good. There was always a wide selection of foods to tempt any appetite. The quality of the food was also excellent.
The staff, in all areas of the hotel, were friendly and courteous, and always willing to help with any questions or queries.
None of us spoke Spanish, but we soon found out that the majority of the staff, and the locals, spoke English enough to be able to understand us.
This hotel would most definitely be on our approved list of places to stay in this lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazzerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We travelled here for 5 nights. A short break for the family we booked the apartment on Thomsons website and got a fab deal, we had two apartments on the 2nd floor one with pool view the other with mountain view both were very nice we were a party of 4 adults and two children 4 and 7 they had a great time with the Splash area which were water slides just a little concerned as at leat 3 children did slip on top of this area which was like fibreglass and was in the style of a cow and toucans and the other one was a huge crab which the children loved I pointed this problem out to the rep as my grandson slipped and grazed his chin and chest hopefully they will put some sort of foam in this area. The children's clubs were fab they could go there for at leat 2hrs a day which was a nice break for my daughter and they couldn't wait for it to open. I agree the kitchen area very small. Breakfast was great and you could pay for this daily 6 euros but we tried the evening meal found it very disappointing 12 euros. For shopping we went in to town to the Eroski supermarket very reasonable( ask in town it's near the roundabout near the beach. Best to get bread, milk and water in the shop near apartments. A nice little coffee and sandwich shop about 10 mins walk they also have a little supermarket. The complex is a good walk away from the centre. We used majorcaairporttransfers.com they were fab about 202 euros return (it's about an hour drive) and they were the only company willing to take a motorised disability scooter. This price was for all of us and they were prompt and extremely courteous. Definitely use again. Entertainment at the hotel not too good but we were all tired after a long day, stayed up while the children's club was on. So all in all I would say this hotel is great for families with small children they will have a great time.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank poshlady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We (2 adults and a toddler) went in April, self catering. I am in complete agreement with many things below, but with a little one there were a few things I wish I knew in advance, so I thought I would focus on that for those of you about to go. The kitchen for us was too basic: 2 electric rings, a kettle and toaster and a microwave. That is fine, but there was very little equipment: no sieve, no frying pan, no small saucepans, no child equipment. That is to say, no plastic beakers, plates or other child friendly equipment - wish we had know so that we could take some. (This was also true in their restaurant - we even had to ask for cutlery for her). That said, I would highly recommend the place (including the restaurant - good range of food and very friendly) and we are planning to go back - we will just take her things with us!

With regards to the room - clean (and cleaned 5 of the 7 days we were there); but a little small. There were twin beds in the bedroom, and a sofa which had a mattress on a frame underneath it - so another two single beds. As our daughter went to bed a few hours before us, she was in the bedroom, so we ended up sleeping apart and one of us on the floor. It was fine for the three of us, but I think if there were four of you you may be on top of each other.

I think it does the big things really well - it is a gorgeous place, the spa is fantastic, the outdoor pools are great and the three pools means there is something for everyone. I can't comment on the children's club and entertainment - they were not open when we went. There was, however, a disco each night, which was pretty loud so I would recommend you try and get a room nearer the entrance rather than the entertainment block if noise is an issue for you.

Location - great. Not too busy, fantastic beach, some lovely restaurants. We will be returning.

Port de Pollenca is fantastic for cycling - a real bonus for us. The hotel will sort out bikes for you, and we used this service. The road bikes supplied were great - serviced and well cared for. We also hired some hybrids (and I, being a girl, got delivered a general push around bike!) - these were quite poor. We had to inflate the tyres and the gear set was dodgy. So, when we return we will try and organise the bikes ourselves.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the entertainment block due to the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank HappyGirl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We booked a last minute break here for the week before Easter. I have to say I wasn't expecting such a nice friendly hotel. Our 2 children loved the pools and slides and the Spa was absolutely lovely. The accomodation was very clean and we were given 2 apartments next to each other so we had plenty of space. All the staff were very pleasant, especially the reception staff who were exceptionally helpful. I can't recommend this place enough, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Decent quality hotel, good sized rooms, clean light and bright. Friendly staff. Outstanding feature is the 25metre indoor pool, only minor moan is the walk to the centre of the community.

Room Tip: chose a west facing room for evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,084 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing