We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel certainly lives up to its reputation as a great place to stay for all ages, the hotel is spotless our room was cleaned every day with towels changed daily. We originally booked as self catering but changed to all inclusive on arrival and we were not disappointed with our decision, plenty of variety of foods and the deserts were lovely. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, I couldn't find anything to complain about this hotel at all. I traveled with my husband and 16 year old daughter and expected the hotel to be mainly young family orientated but found that the hotel caters for all. We had a truly lovely time and would definitely recommend the Playa Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brace-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    547
    169
    44
    20
See reviews for
1,176
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Both my wife and I are over 60 years old and we were hoping for a tranquil holiday which we certainly got, possibly due to the room location on the back of block 2, with a backdrop to the mountain.

The young lady who cleaned our room was very pleasant and did an extremely thorough job every day and always greeted us with a smile! Towels were changed every day and bedding every couple of days. There was even a vase of flowers on the coffee table on arrival - what a lovely touch.

We opted for 1/2 board and at every meal we were always extended a courteous greeting, and attentive service and the food presentation and variety was absolutely excellent.

We would say a special "thank you" to Tolo and Donna in the restaurant who always took the time to enquire as to how our day had gone with a genuine interest.

Reception was also very good with everything being promptly attended to in a very efficient manner with "special thanks" to the young man who booked us in and looked after us with a safe and telephone transactions, and also the young lady on the desk every morning who ordered the taxi's into town for us. To sum up I would say that our holiday was just what we had hoped for.

We are certainly going to book again next year.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose one that does not face the pool area and is on the third floor. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the lovely Playa Mar for 2 weeks; 2nd to 16th October and had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel certainly deserves all the credit it receives and excellent reviews from other guests. It is a Trip Advisor winner in every sense. From the moment we stepped off the minibus from the airport and entered the hotel we were impressed. Check in was very smooth and the welcome drinks of fruit juice and Cava at reception was a nice touch. The use of a trolley to put our cases on to take them to our room was also very helpful especially as we also had a wheelchair to push.
We asked for a high up room overlooking the pool and were not disappointed.
We had a room on the 3rd (top) floor in block 2 which got the sun on the balcony every morning. Our apartment, which had been recently refurbished was very nicely laid out with comfortable beds in both the bedroom and also the sofa bed in the lounge. Kitchenette area is very small but adequate for making drinks and snacks. We stayed on half board and found all the meals in the restaurant to be excellent with plenty of choice and variety. The fish, sushi, special salads and chocolate fountain were particular favourites.
There is an onsite supermarket which is open from 8am to 8pm and convenient for water and milk etc but the prices are fairly high. The Euroski supermarket near the Marina is good for those people on self catering as prices are a lot cheaper although it is a 20 min walk away.
We found all areas of the hotel were kept spotlessly clean and tidy. The maid cleaned our room every day except one. Towels were changed every time and bedding every other day. The little vase of flowers in our room on arrival was a nice touch. Thank you.
The hotel pool area is geared up for families with young children with lots of animal character slides and little pools to keep them amused. A special mention must go to Markus from the Thomson team who all the children seemed to adore.All the staff especially in the restaurant make a big fuss of the little ones and make them feel special. The Playa Mar is a Thompson families hotel and in height of the season could possibly be very noisy. However we travelled in October when older children were back at school so consequenly there were more couples their so the Playa Mar appeals to all people of all ages. We had no trouble finding a sun bed or parasol around the pool and enjoyed quietly relaxing and snoozing in the sun. The afternoon quizs were good fun. Pool towels are available to hire from reception at 5 euros per towel, you can change them for clean ones every few days and you get your money back when you return them at the end of your stay.
Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss but the Abba tribute act 'Ring Ring' and the Beatles tribute 'The Sergent Peppers' were very good indeed.
The hotel is located at the end of the Pine Walk and this is a very pleasant way to walk
into the main resort with glorious quiet little beaches and wonderful views along the way.
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel and would thoroughly recommend it. We hope to return again in the future.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaffhamsizzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Playa Mar but it will not be our last. It is in peaceful location within an easy and picturesque walk to the adequate action that this resort provides. Having become bored of late with bland hotel food we decided to make a return to the world of self catering. This resort has quality restaurants in abundance and fully justified our choice. The reception staff at the hotel were helpful, always cheerful and very accommodating. The room was clean bright and airy on the top floor overlooking the pool. The young rep Carlos who took the welcome meeting delivered it with confidence and made it interesting. Whilst on the subject of Thomson reps there was a young entertainment rep who was known on site as Marcusaurus and he was incredible. Our own children have long since flown the coop but we often commented how much they would have enjoyed the entertainment provided tirelessly by this rep. Nothing was too much trouble for him and the kids loved him. He should have his wages doubled. In fact all the Thomson reps in this hotel ( there seemed to be a lot) had a smile and a greeting for everyone
During our stay sunbeds and umbrellas were in abundance and people on the whole adhered to the ' no reserving' policy except for a group late in the week. I do feel if a hotel puts such a rule in force then they should enforce it.
This is great hotel in a fantastic resort at a good price. Book it, you know it makes sense

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRogGIlkeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Playa Mar and yet again it proved perfect. We are a middle aged couple and like to go out of school holidays, but we have been before in school hoildays with our grandchildren and our stay was just as good. We requested a quite room at the back of the hotel, on a high floor, which we received. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening & were greeted by the manager who was excellent. Reception, snack bar and maids were also very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas around the pools. The entertainment was of a good standard but not intrusive. Another good addition was the iron and small ironing board in the room (if like me you are not very good at packing). The walk into Puerto Pollensa takes about 20 minutes, but it is so lovely along Pine Walk with its little coves and beaches. Yet again another great holiday.

Room Tip: Try block 4 at the back on a high floor its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielW190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were delighted that we chose the half board option at the Playa Mar as the dining room was quiet and light, the service was excellent and the food fantastic value for money. Try the house red at E4 a bottle! Having the kitchen and fridge in the apartment was useful for early morning coffee and chilling the beer. Since our last stay, a spa has been constructed and is an impressive addition. Although on the edge of town, the hotel is in a quiet location and a very pleasant stroll along the pine walk, or a few minutes on a bike.
The hotel is a good location for a cycling break as there are numerous flat green routes as well as more challenging rides nearby. Without exception, the staff were all helpful, warm and welcoming. Some areas of the hotel could be noisy, due to children, piped music and evening entertainment, but this is avoidable if you want a peaceful holiday. MultiHire, just off the road into town, is a fair and reliable place to hire bikes and many other items.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

First time travelling with Thomson but definitely won't be the last time. All reps, entertainers and kids club reps were so friendly and very approachable. Playa mar absolutely fantastic family hotel and enjoyed by all ages. Perfect layout, and not too big. Swimming pool areas great for kids of all ages. Rooms ideal size,with kitchenettes area and fridge. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed daily also.

Restaurant good size, light, airy and very clean. Staff very pleasant and very friendly. Special mention to Tolo and Donna for making mealtimes extra special. Food lovely with plenty of choice over the 11 days we stayed there, never a day where there was nothing we liked to eat on offer. Evening entertainment varaiable but generally good. Only down side to the hotel is the position in the town of puerto pollens. It is situated on the Pine Walk which is lovely and walking along the beach front into the main town took approximately 20-25 minutes which is no good for a 3 year old. But scenery stunning never the less.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
10.6 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#13 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing