We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We went as a group of twelve with ages ranging from 60 down to 4. The hotel is situated at the end of a Pine Walk which is made up of many cobbled areas, so flat shoes prevent you from toppling over! For agile adults and older children the walk is about 15mins to where the shops/restaurants start. A taxi is about 5 euros to the centre of the town and we used this if we were tired after a busy day, or if the young children were getting tired and the adults couldn't manage any more piggy backs! The Pine Walk is exceptional and a delight to experience. There are many restaurants offering dishes to suit all tastes and wallets.
We spent most of the days by the pool. If you prefer a lounger near the children's pool it does help to be at the pool area for about 0845am but there's none of this leaving towels out overnight or having to be up at 6am. If you don't mind where your lounger is placed there were usually spare ones available throughout the day.Most of the adults used their common sense and left walkways in between the rows of loungers. When this didn't happen it did cause confusion. The large water features were great for children and the adults could cool off by walking through the showers of water. It's not the best pool for serious swimming. The reps were not in your face and seemed to have many willing holidaymakers to take part in the water events. We were a little concerned following the mention of slippery areas near the children's pool, but we needn't have worried as you just need to take the usual care when walking near it and of course, no running! The lifeguard was always in evidence and did a little marshalling if spirits were too high.
The bar/restaurant provided reasonable food and the waiters were quite pleasant. The evening entertainment let the complex down because the hall is far too hot, so if there was a reasonable act, most of the audience were some distance away in the bar area outside. It would also help if the backdrop for the stage could be changed rather than constantly being reminded of how many points the childrens teams had, The reps were energetic and helpful, but the surroundings let them down. It would have been nice to have had a Flamenco evening so that holidaymakers could have reminded themselves about where they were.
The main restaurant was fabulous. Self service and with lots of choice. Very reasonable wine! They had the odd theme night and the staff were very enthusiastic particularly during the Mexican night. They wore wonderful outfits! Everything was very clean and very well presented.
The rooms were clean and modern. There was plenty of hot water. The ktchenette was small but adaquate for light snacks. The buildings are low rise.
We went on a couple of trips which were very successful. One was a general trip around the coastline, stopping off for lunch and at a couple of vantage points. The other was to the pirate show which was fabulous entertainment! We also went on a boat trip which was lovely.
The older members of our group felt that there needed to be more entertainment for them during the day and evening. They enjoyed the daily quiz. The younger members were happy with everything! This was our second trip and i'd go back for more. It's an almost perfect place as far as i'm concerned.

Room Tip: The entertainment finishes promptly at 11pm if i remember correctly. So wherever you choose, you sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April201204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    571
    174
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,234
168
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was our first family holiday. Myself, my wife and my daughter (8) and son (4). We intentionally booked a family resort, and we got exactly what we asked for... We arrived to welcome drinks and check in which was great but I won't lie my first impression was dominated by a 30ft crab (later found to be called Coolio!) which was a water slide complex along with other water jet sprouting cows etc.......... Sounds bizarre I realise but as soon as remembered that I had intentionally booked a family holiday and all the cliche advice of ....."if the kids are happy then you are happy" came flooding back to me.

The rooms were ok, not massive but enough, I've stayed in better rooms but Paid for the privilege and this holiday wasn't about that, it was about giving the kids the best holiday possible.

The kids had a ball, we booked self catering but upgraded to all inclusive on day two, the food was good. Obviously the buffet style has the potential to get boring but they do everything to keep it interesting, theme nights and the quality of food was generally good.

The resorts biggest asset is the staff, they are unbelievably good, very pleasant and helpful, in the restaurant they can't do enough for you and they are so child friendly, what ever age they make a real fuss of everyone........however their kids behave !!!

The entertainment and the reps are great, I am pretty sure there was at least 4 reps there every day. The evening entertainment was good, my kids went to bed every night dancing "everybody's shuffling". The bar staff and especially Antonio looked after my family brilliantly, he was just a nice guy and a great bar man that shared a liking of onda.....onda?......no Honda! Motorbikes.......great guy.

The resort itself is a bit out of town but the pine walk is beautiful and "gin and tonic corner" is about as special a place/moment to compete with any top end resort.

The one thing that struck me about the resort was the amount of people/family's we spoke to that had been there before, the record that I found was a family of still young children that had been there for five years on the bounce!!!!!! Now it's a big wide world out there and I don't think I could ever go anywhere five years on the bounce but I would absolutely 100% go to Playa Mar again.

................if the kids are happy then you are happy...............thank you playa mar and all your staff, you gave us a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Playa Mar with another couple of friends for a week in October. We are in our sixties (well, three of us anyway!)
The hotel is a little way out of town but, as others have mentioned, it is not an arduous walk to the main attractions.
Have a look for the folder in reception containing maps of walks around the Port as well as practical information about the area.
The accommodation is set around the pools with rooms facing inwards towards the pools and gardens or outwards towards the mountains.
We were pleased to have been given a room at the end of Block 1 (room 206) which was about as far away from the entertainment area as it was possible to be. We had a view of neighbouring houses, trees and the mountains which was very calm and peaceful. I should imagine that a room overlooking the bar/stage would have been noisy at the best of times.
The apartment was very well kept and the small kitchen was handy for the early morning cuppa.
We were half-board and the meals were good overall. There was lots of choice and there were evenings where a special emphasis was placed on one aspect i.e. sushi, salads and cakes.
However, we did have to make use of the microwave on numerous occasions.
We did not really sample the entertainment - a little too loud for us - but most people seemed to be enjoying themselves.
There were a few children about - it was a Scottish holiday - but I would expect the pools to become very busy in the main season.
The town of Port de Pollenca is a delight with bars, cafes and restaurants to suit all tastes. There is a bus station near the marina from where you can travel almost all over the island. Always ask the driver the destination of the bus as it's not always obvious!
We visited the Caves of Drach, Palma, Soller and the town of Pollenca. The fares are not the cheapest but, compared to the holiday company trips, they are a bargain. There is also a list of taxi fares near the but terminal - e.g. 9€ to Pollenca.
We would stay there again but, having seen the other hotels on the sea front, would probably have a look at these first.....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel certainly lives up to its reputation as a great place to stay for all ages, the hotel is spotless our room was cleaned every day with towels changed daily. We originally booked as self catering but changed to all inclusive on arrival and we were not disappointed with our decision, plenty of variety of foods and the deserts were lovely. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, I couldn't find anything to complain about this hotel at all. I traveled with my husband and 16 year old daughter and expected the hotel to be mainly young family orientated but found that the hotel caters for all. We had a truly lovely time and would definitely recommend the Playa Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brace-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Both my wife and I are over 60 years old and we were hoping for a tranquil holiday which we certainly got, possibly due to the room location on the back of block 2, with a backdrop to the mountain.

The young lady who cleaned our room was very pleasant and did an extremely thorough job every day and always greeted us with a smile! Towels were changed every day and bedding every couple of days. There was even a vase of flowers on the coffee table on arrival - what a lovely touch.

We opted for 1/2 board and at every meal we were always extended a courteous greeting, and attentive service and the food presentation and variety was absolutely excellent.

We would say a special "thank you" to Tolo and Donna in the restaurant who always took the time to enquire as to how our day had gone with a genuine interest.

Reception was also very good with everything being promptly attended to in a very efficient manner with "special thanks" to the young man who booked us in and looked after us with a safe and telephone transactions, and also the young lady on the desk every morning who ordered the taxi's into town for us. To sum up I would say that our holiday was just what we had hoped for.

We are certainly going to book again next year.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose one that does not face the pool area and is on the third floor. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the lovely Playa Mar for 2 weeks; 2nd to 16th October and had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel certainly deserves all the credit it receives and excellent reviews from other guests. It is a Trip Advisor winner in every sense. From the moment we stepped off the minibus from the airport and entered the hotel we were impressed. Check in was very smooth and the welcome drinks of fruit juice and Cava at reception was a nice touch. The use of a trolley to put our cases on to take them to our room was also very helpful especially as we also had a wheelchair to push.
We asked for a high up room overlooking the pool and were not disappointed.
We had a room on the 3rd (top) floor in block 2 which got the sun on the balcony every morning. Our apartment, which had been recently refurbished was very nicely laid out with comfortable beds in both the bedroom and also the sofa bed in the lounge. Kitchenette area is very small but adequate for making drinks and snacks. We stayed on half board and found all the meals in the restaurant to be excellent with plenty of choice and variety. The fish, sushi, special salads and chocolate fountain were particular favourites.
There is an onsite supermarket which is open from 8am to 8pm and convenient for water and milk etc but the prices are fairly high. The Euroski supermarket near the Marina is good for those people on self catering as prices are a lot cheaper although it is a 20 min walk away.
We found all areas of the hotel were kept spotlessly clean and tidy. The maid cleaned our room every day except one. Towels were changed every time and bedding every other day. The little vase of flowers in our room on arrival was a nice touch. Thank you.
The hotel pool area is geared up for families with young children with lots of animal character slides and little pools to keep them amused. A special mention must go to Markus from the Thomson team who all the children seemed to adore.All the staff especially in the restaurant make a big fuss of the little ones and make them feel special. The Playa Mar is a Thompson families hotel and in height of the season could possibly be very noisy. However we travelled in October when older children were back at school so consequenly there were more couples their so the Playa Mar appeals to all people of all ages. We had no trouble finding a sun bed or parasol around the pool and enjoyed quietly relaxing and snoozing in the sun. The afternoon quizs were good fun. Pool towels are available to hire from reception at 5 euros per towel, you can change them for clean ones every few days and you get your money back when you return them at the end of your stay.
Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss but the Abba tribute act 'Ring Ring' and the Beatles tribute 'The Sergent Peppers' were very good indeed.
The hotel is located at the end of the Pine Walk and this is a very pleasant way to walk
into the main resort with glorious quiet little beaches and wonderful views along the way.
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel and would thoroughly recommend it. We hope to return again in the future.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaffhamsizzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Playa Mar but it will not be our last. It is in peaceful location within an easy and picturesque walk to the adequate action that this resort provides. Having become bored of late with bland hotel food we decided to make a return to the world of self catering. This resort has quality restaurants in abundance and fully justified our choice. The reception staff at the hotel were helpful, always cheerful and very accommodating. The room was clean bright and airy on the top floor overlooking the pool. The young rep Carlos who took the welcome meeting delivered it with confidence and made it interesting. Whilst on the subject of Thomson reps there was a young entertainment rep who was known on site as Marcusaurus and he was incredible. Our own children have long since flown the coop but we often commented how much they would have enjoyed the entertainment provided tirelessly by this rep. Nothing was too much trouble for him and the kids loved him. He should have his wages doubled. In fact all the Thomson reps in this hotel ( there seemed to be a lot) had a smile and a greeting for everyone
During our stay sunbeds and umbrellas were in abundance and people on the whole adhered to the ' no reserving' policy except for a group late in the week. I do feel if a hotel puts such a rule in force then they should enforce it.
This is great hotel in a fantastic resort at a good price. Book it, you know it makes sense

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRogGIlkeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#22 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing