We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two week family hol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two week family hol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Staying at this inclusive hol where the accommodation and food and drink is of a very good standard.rooms are kept clean and towels and bedding changed regularly .children's pools and play groups are first class,thompsons child entertainers are very friendly and always there to help. Would recommend this to any family, roads are quiet and not to busy ,only five minute walk to the beach where there is a tree lined walk along to the busier beaches and shops the apartments blocks are arranged in four blocks and block 1 and 4 are the farthest away from theatre which does close at 11.00 so it is really family friendly so go and enjoy.

Room Tip: I just stayed in block one which is farthest away from pool and theatre and found this to be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    547
    169
    44
    20
See reviews for
1,176
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a first class hotel offering excellent food and facilities.

The staff were most friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be around. Special thanks to the manager of the restaurant Tolo, and Angie, who for which nothing seemed too much trouble.

The waiter in the bar, Jose, was an absolute diamond.

Overall, great holiday and i would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

WELL DONE PLAYA MAR!

Thank you Jose.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two sons aged 3 and 10 months. Excellent facilities, clean rooms and very helpful staff. The food is excellent, lots of choice and very child friendly. The dining room gets a bit hot, get in early before it fills up. The pool was cold but we were there first week in June, they had bad weather the weeks prior to our trip so think this had an impact. The weather was great when we were there.
The spa facilities are excellent, indoor pool for the kids too.
Location is great! 5 mins from the sea and beaches. Supermarket 10 mins away.
The kids loved the night time entertainment, Thompson the dog etc!
We will definately return, a very relaxed week, the staff cannot do enough for you and the food is great.

Room Tip: If you have young kids and you want to be away from the noise at night choose a room near the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Can't praise this place enough. Really excellent hotel. We were welcomed off the bus by the manager and he helped us with our bags to reception, where we received drinks. After check in the excellent receptionist offered to help us with our bags to the room. So it was a great start to the holiday. This place is really professionally run. Brilliant staff who are very friendly, always smiling and all are wonderful with the kids. I travelled with my wife and son as well as my sisters family. I requested ground floor rooms before we travelled, as my sister is pregnant. We got ground floor rooms so she was delighted with that.
The apartments are great. There's a tv with a few English stations. There's also an iron and small ironing board in the cupboard which was handy. There's also a small cooker, fridge, microwave and a hair dryer.
We were all inclusive and I couldn't fault the food one bit. A lot of variety and great quality. There was a lovely Mexican theme night which I really enjoyed.
The resort is really beautiful. I fell in love with the place after my first walk down the pine walk. Really clean resort with many restaurants.
The Thomson staff at the playa mar were the best I've ever experienced. Asha boo, Heavenly Heather, Ali g, Marvelous Mark and Sophie were really really lovely people. And Thomson should be proud to have them as staff. Top class! I will work on my accent in case we meet again! haha
I didn't use the kids club so can't comment on it but the staff were really nice and the other kids seemed to love them.
Fantastic place and thanks for a great holiday. Will definitely be
back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rkl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Got back yesterday from a really wonderful stay at Playa Mar. We were a party of 11 including 6 Little ones aged from 1 to 6. Playa Mar really did tick all the boxes as a family resort to keep the little ones entertained and the grown ups happy too. We had some drinks and nibbles on arrival which was lovely even the little ones had juice and some pastries. The staff were really friendly from the start and that made a great impression. Our rooms were on the ground floor and very near to each other as requested for our convenience. We stayed half board which suited us well and went to dinner straight away. My 3 year old daughter Olive was over tired from our journey and a bit tearful in the restaurant next thing I know the Manager had calmed her down with his friendly smile and a parrot feather cocktail decoration he gave her, next thing I know she is happily laughing. He saved the day I made a note of his name Tolo. I must say all the staff at the hotel were excellent always smiling and happy to help I can't fault them. Tolo really did stand out for me as he always had time to ask you how you are and give you a big smile! Back to the hotel itself we enjoyed the food very much and although we were there for 2 weeks we never got bored. I especially liked the Majorcan specialities, sushi nights and the Mexican theme night. My children adored the chocolate fountain.
The facilities were wonderful, the pools and slides kept kids and adults entertained. The Thompson entertainment reps were wonderful always helpful and smiling both day and night. All were fantastic but a special mention has to go to Mark who was so smiley and friendly and to Ashley who smiled made us laugh and did really wonderful choreography throughout our stay. The discos and Thompson the dog kept all the kids entertained and after 2 weeks my father bought all his 5 grandchildren cuddly Thompson dogs as souvenirs of their family holiday away which went down really well. The kids club was great we used it a few times including a chocolate party one night which my 3 and 5 year old adored. The kids club reps are so caring and wonderful with the children particularly Zoe and Mitch who had only just started when we arrived they were outstanding. We were incredibly lucky with the weather in the 30's all the last week we spend some time on the beach there which was wonderful we also did a bus trip to Formentor (stop not far from the hotel) which is well worth it. We went to Porto Pollenca market on the Wednesday and also did a trip to old Pollenca on Sunday market day there too. Make time to try Tapas in the square its well worth it and if you are feeling energetic there's the 365 plus steps to the top of Pollenca to see the quaint little church and stop for an ice cream and admire the view. My tip for the holiday is to venture out and have a stroll down the pine walk and visit the square in Porto Pollenca and have a coffee in one of the cafes the Majorcans use the prices are cheaper then the tourist ones along the front and its nice to be amongst the local people. To sum up this very long review I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with little children and Porto Pollenca itself is simply stunning go and see for yourself you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at the Playa Mar hotel and can't praise it highly enough, or the resort of Puerto Pollensa.
From the moment you arrive (we were greeted with a glass of fizz and a platter of fresh fruit on arrival) the staff simply can't do enough to make your holiday special.
The staff were the best we had encountered, the food was great and the layout of the hotel in general was very good.
We travelled with two kids - ages four and one - and they had a ball. It's probably important to address some of the negatives on other reviews.
It's true there isn't much around the hotel and the walk into the centre of Puerto Pollensa is around 25 minutes (with a buggy) but it is a lovely route along the Pine Walk.
Some said this can become a chore to do it every night for a fortnight. We didn't find that, although we were only there for 10 days, and didn't do it every night.
There aren't many other options for eating out around the hotel so if you aren't going all inclusive then you should ask yourself if a 25-minute walk both ways every night would impact on the enjoyment of your holiday.
You can also avoid the Pine Walk and walk along the street the hotel is on which would cut your time into town, although it's obviously not as scenic as it's not on the sea front.
We went B&B for 10 days and the hotel allows you to upgrade to all inclusive for a set number of days so we did that for the middle three days of our holiday at the cost of just 57 euros a day for two adults and a child and there's no doubt that was excellent value.
We felt that gave us a good mix of eating out and staying in the hotel and meant the walk didn't become a chore (there is no bus and a taxi into the centre is five euros).
And on the nights when we didn't eat in the hotel and didn't want to walk right into the centre then we found a brilliant restaurant (the only one in the immediate vicinity) just a couple of hundred yards from Playa Mar.
This is called Laguna Restaurant and the food was excellent. We later discovered it's part-owned by the cousin of Gerard Butler who had actually been in the previous day as he was in the area on business.
Along with C'an Josep which is at totally the other end of the resort, Laguna was our best meal. It was no surprise to find them rated number one and two on Tripadvisor.
There is also a Pizzeria which was good and is the first restaurant you hit on the Pine Walk so only about a 10 minute walk.
The rooms in Playa Mar were cleaned every day and, while basic, had everything you needed. Some reviews suggested shopping at the Eroski Supermarket but if you're doing a big shop then it would be too far to walk with a lot of shopping. There is a small shop attached to the hotel but there is a Spar just five minutes walk away which was perfect - and attached to that a lovely wee cafe called Store Formentor which was good for lunch.
We didn't see much of the hotel entertainment but it seemed to be what you would expect and the bar was reasonably priced with a bottle of win just four euros.
For kids there was a creche, the playpark was good and there is free wi-fi in the reception area.
The transfer time from the airport is around 50 minutes which is a bit longer than we would have liked but you can't have it all - and to be fair we were the first drop off which was a help.
All in all this hotel is excellent. Okay, it isn't bang in the centre but then you wouldn't find as good a hotel for families in the centre so you have to weigh that up.
Other critcisms surrounded the pool temperature. I have to admit it was cold and while we spoke to some who said it was too cold for their kids to go in it, we didn't find it that bad once you were in.

Room Tip: Ask for Block 1 and a room facing away from the entertainment if you want to switch off at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bez1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My family and I have just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive at the Playa Mar and had the most AMAZING time!
Before I review anything else I must first say thank you to the fantastic staff.
I have been lucky enough with my job to stay in hotels frequently and I can honestly say none of them have employed staff as good as the Playa Mar.
Angie & Tolo especially in the restaurant deserve an enormous thank you for how special they made myself and our son feel when we celebrated our birthdays and the smiles and kind words we received every day. A big thank you to Mark on reception also (plus ALL the staff everywhere else). They made our holiday so special.

The hotel is beautiful.
The food wonderful, fresh with plenty of choice.
The rooms are good, clean and do the job perfectly.
The pools are great for children but sooooooooo cold! Fine on a hot day but if you're there when its overcast then Brrrrrr!
The pool did get very very busy so we took a 5 minute stroll to the pine walk and found ourselves a quiet part of beach with the shallowest clearest waters and warm sea.
The spa is very modern and very beautiful but the pool is really deep 1.9m so not suitable for small children and after 4pm becomes a really nice grown up sanctuary.
Puerto Pollensa and the pine walk were the highlight of our evenings, quiet, sleepy, pretty and so relaxing.
The perfect holiday and will rebook at the Playa Mar in a heartbeat x

Room Tip: We chose a back room not looking over the pool and found this very quiet although I wouldnt say the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnyshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
10.6 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing