We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We went to the Playa Mar for our first holiday abroad with our 4 year old. This hotel and Puerto Pollensa is an excellent first choice destination for that purpose. I'm not sure if this hotel would be the same once the school holidays start and the larger kids arrive but with toddlers and preschoolers it was great. We went self-catering as we like to get out and about - the facilities for this are fairly adequate for preparing drinks and snacks and there is a large table if you want to sit down and eat. The restaurants on the front are very expensive though so be warned! Our room was cleaned to an excellent standard EVERY day and our towels changed a the same time. The Thomson staff presence was excellent and all the staff were lovely and very helpful. The pool area and water slides are excellent for children although it is very loud around the pool area so not relaxing for adults (not that you get much chance of this with children anyway!!!). The usual sunbed reserving goes on (at 5:50am on the day of leaving I saw at least 3 women securing "their" beds but there are ample beds for everyone if you can't be bothered to join the race! The only grumble about that is that the sunbeds are really crammed in next to each other so not much breathing space! The inside spa is a fab retreat for parents with some great treatments available. There is a lovely little beach just a stroll away from the hotel which was a pleasant break away from the pool! It is a bit of trek to the nearest restaurants but one of the best ones is at the Laguna Pool & Bar round the corner and this is a lovely place with reasonable prices. We stayed on the top floor in block 3 room 3310 which I would definitely recommend if you want a quiet room with a nice view (partial sea and mountains). I will definitely be returning to Pollensa but probably to a quieter hotel next time!!

Room Tip: All blocks have positive aspects to them (3 and 4 at the back are out of the sun in the afternoon/ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apples9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    561
    170
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,219
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Thompson child care team were brilliant, kids club was great in particular my 4 year old son took a shine to Zoe and Charlotte in the creche formed a great bond with my 2 year old. Bar staff amazing will miss Jorge, David, Martha etc. Food amazing with the themed night being very special, restaurant staff so friendly.
Shame you couldn't see any Thompson staff on arrival at the airport as all the other reps were visible . The procedure for getting into kids club could be better as you waited in a hot spot and the time of year we went was full of tots (3-5 year olds) so it took some time to get signed in. We enjoyed the pool areas including the water slides however it could become very busy around the baby pool and getting a sun bed around there was hard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Playa Mar with our two year old. Whilst we loved the town this is not the hotel it is made out to be. The whole place is tired and need of upgrading, the pool area is extremely noisy and dirty and we found it impossible to actually find space around the pool. Despite the signs asking people not to place towels on loungers before 9am, by 8 every morning most loungers had been taken. Children are allowed to run riot around the place whilst most parents seemed content to get stuck into the all inclusive booze whist the latest hits are played on a loop at full volume. We had thankfully decided not to go all inclusive and there are some lovely places to eat in the town. We had requested a quiet room away from the stage which the hotel did put us in, but unfortunately that meant our room overlooked the hotel bins which were just as noisy being filled and emptied through both night and day. We had also requested a cot in our room when we booked - this was not there on arrival and was only delivered after we requested three times. All in all a very disappointing experience and we really can't understand all the good reviews. I would however say the cleanliness of the room itself was fine, whilst very tired, and we found the cleaners to be extremely friendly and helpful, in contrast to other staff.
We ended up spending as little time as possible in the hotel and actually had a great week exploring the town and surrounding area (the local busses are great). Puerto Pollensa is wonderful but avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonOtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPlayaMar, Front Office Manager at Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Mr LondonOtm;

First of all we want to thank you to use your time writing some words to us.
We are really sorry to read about all the inconveniences that you had at the hotel, we just can apologize If there were children by the pool and the music was to loud by the pool.
About the room, we always try do our best, but If you have told to the reception that when they come in the morning to empty the containers were to loud, for sure that we would have offered you another room.

Once more, we want to apologize to you about all the incoveniences and thank you for using your time to give us some words that for sure will help us to improve.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have recently returned from a 2week holiday at playa mar. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this resort. The hotel staff bar, reception and dining room were all so nice and so helpful they could not be faulted. They could not do enough for us. We arrived late at night and were welcomed by champagne for us and biscuits and milk for our little boy. This was the start of a very enjoyable holiday. The crèche facilities were great Charlotte and the gang were so nice and you cud pay per session if u fancied having a few hours off parent duty!! the playground, pool, slides and toddler pool was just great. The beach is also just a stones through which was nice for a change some days. The Thompson rep girls were lovely and very good at their jobs. Thompson the dog was a keen favourite too. This resort is totally family orientated..... moms and dads will love it too as the kids will b well entertained. The day boat trip to formentor is a must and a trip to the aquarium in Palma was another great day out. The apartment was average and the bathroom cud do with a little freshening up but we didn't spend all day inside so it really didn't bother us. The cleaning lady cleaned our room every day made the beds and gave fresh towels which was an added bonus as our previous self catering holiday In crete was a once a week service. Night time entertainment was great our little boy danced each nyt away and the acts each nyt varied.... some excellent some not so talented but all in all very enjoyable. We found noise levels to be low, most people were in bed by 11.00/11.30. All in all if u go to playa mar u will have a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday as ur kids will b entertained all day and nyt. Ps we were self catering for first week which gave us a chance to explore Puerto pollensa and all it has to offer. Beautiful restaurants but a little expensive. So it was a lovely change to go all inclusive the 2nd week. Food amazing, selection was fantastic, restaurant lovely and bright.... wines beers spirits soft drinks icecreams and cocktails all day and nyt included too... for 60e per for 2adults and a 2yr old it was great value. The theme nuts at dinner were a lovely idea....The produce and food quality was of a very high standard a credit to the chefs. We will b returning next year without a doubt

Room Tip: Block one ground floor was nice and quiet and a stones through from pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have loved my previous times at Playa Mar but I will not be returning. I left this Hotel on 18th June after a 2 week stay and the Air Conditioning was still not in use, despite the 32 degree heat. For the price we pay to stay here I find this disgraceful! The restaurant in particular was unbearable and although the food was better than last year it was impossible to enjoy any meal, under that conditions. It was pointed out to the new Manager, he made all the right noises but is clearly inexperienced.
The reception staff are all new and there is a severe lack of training. They are all over you like a rash on arrival but should you need any help, do not rely on getting the correct informaion. I always waited for Sebastian to be on duty as I know him from previous years and he is exceptional.
The standard of 'cleaning' in our room was very poor.
On a positive note, we were delighted to see Tolo and Donna again, always a pleasure. The ntertainment was better than last year as was the Thomson staff.
It's sad to see the Hotel go down but I am now looking for another place in PP for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillainanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Playa Mar with our two young children aged four and one.
We were self-catering and our room was in the top floor of block one looking onto the poolside. However after listening to the vocally challenged Michael Jackson impersonator for one night (with the doors shut) , we decided it was far too loud as the children couldn't get to sleep, so asked for a move. We were moved to an apartment on the other side of the block and it was like staying in a totally different hotel. Unfortunately, between approximately 2230 and 0000 hours the noise of people, especially children, running along the corridors and shouting was unbearable. The constant noise of furniture being moved was also horrendous.
We were extremely impressed by the hotel staff, who were so friendly and helpful, they really were an absolute credit to the hotel.
The self-catering facilities were disappointing and cleanliness of the rooms was well below a decent standard. The floor wasn't cleaned or mopped once during our stay, although they do provide a brush and shovel, so we cleaned it ourselves daily the keep the ants at bay!
The pool area was overcrowded with sunbeds and it was difficult to manoeuvre young children about. It was also quite dirty and lots of spilled drinks and empty cups left lying, meaning we preferred to go to the beach most days. However, our four year-old enjoyed playing in the pools and on the slides. The playground area was good and the soft play area for babies was a bonus too.
Loved Puerto Pollensa and would definitely return there, although not to the Playa Mar.

Definitely not a four-star hotel and disappointed that Thomsons mislead people with this rating.

Would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid a pool view room, as these are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA-GLASGOW-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just retuned from a week at the playa mar, would highly recommend this hotel, this is our second time and it defiantly didn't disappoint again, it's great for kids, thomson staff were lovely, kids loved the kids club, so did we gave us time to relax, stress free, food was lovely something different every night, even had a themed night where staff were dressed up, entertainment at night was great, but what really stood out to me was the hotel staff so friendly, great with the kids, excellent customer service, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#23 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
569 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing