We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday and staff.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday and staff.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the playa mar. The hotel now has a new manager - Daniel Martinez and standards are higher than ever. The staff are extremely welcoming and eager to help, the food is of a high standard and the feel of the hotel is that nothing is too much trouble. The thomson staff are ever present and wonderful with the children and the entertainment is what you would expect from a family holiday and the kids love it. The hotel now has a wonderful addition of a large indoor pool and spa offering numerous reasonably priced treatments - we have decided to return in October as it no longer matters what the weather is like as you can swim inside. The resort itself, is in my opinion the best on the Island - numerous small shaded beaches and the water is shallow and child friendly. There are no rowdy stag or hen parties just families with children looking for a nice relaxing time. Please take the time to walk the promenade along the pine walks, no matter how many times I go to Pollenca I still have to sit by the illa d'or hotel and admire the view. I hope one day to retire to my place in the sun puerto pollenca.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    571
    174
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,234
168
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for two weeks at the beginning if August. There are plenty of plus points to this hotel, for example, the food is good with plenty of selection at dinner time (the breakfast is a bit repetitive but still good), the pool bar has plenty of space and the rooms are clean and cleaned regularly. The slides are great for kids with smaller facilities for toddlers and bigger slides for older children, but if you have teens the pool area would be frustrating. Although the pool itself is not small, it is far too small to accommodate the number if people at the hotel in high season, it's impossible to swim around in without being squirted, splashed or bumped into. The situation with loungers is also ridiculous, the loungers are all taken by 8:30, although more loungers are made available at ten, they never bother to unlock them til about quarter past and there is very little space left to put them. The hotel needs to implement a policy of moving towels off unoccupied beds. The pool alone is enough of an issue for us not to consider coming back here, but if you have small children it would be good for them. The evening entertainment is very butlins style but our 5 year old enjoyed it on the rare evenings we wanted to stay in the complex. The on site shop is highly overpriced but that wasn't a surprise. Although the staff were friendly, the service at lunchtime in the pool bar was very slow to take orders or even to notice customers, we regularly had to make ourselves known to the waiters or ask three or four times for the bill.

Room Tip: Our requests for a room were not met, we were told we could swap rooms mid way through our holiday b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of July. When we arrived late in the evening we noticed two things: the noise from outside, and the significant amount of excrement smeared around the toilet bowl and pedestal - on the outside, immediately below the hygiene seal that goes around the lid - in the bathroom. We didn't expect a maid to be available at short notice so we cleaned up ourselves, in a hurry to get our very tired daughter to bed.

That wasn't easy, because we were right next to the playground: it's supposed to close at 8 but it was left open and unattended until nearly midnight. It's important to stress that we're not describing young children playing, but groups of older children shouting, bawling and throwing play equipment around.

Still, we thought. At least there's the Kids' Club. Unfortunately it seems that staffing is significantly reduced before 1st July, and as a result the capacity for the first half of our holiday was limited to just 12 children - a tiny number for a complex almost exclusively used by families. Had we known in advance that the capacity was so limited we wouldn't have booked this accommodation, because that simply isn't enough to handle the demand: despite our best efforts and lots of queuing, every single attempt to get our daughter into kids' club was unsuccessful. We weren't the only family affected by this.

We did complain to Thomson/TUI on our return, and they sent us the most insincere apology imaginable: "We are sorry about the excrement," it said, thanking us for our feedback. We won't be travelling with Thomson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPlayaMar, Front Office Manager at Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Mr Gary M;
First of all we want to thank you for your feedback because it helps us to improve.
We want to apologize If you had to clean the toilet, but is the first time that we know about a problem like this.
All the other complaints, are out of our hands, the playground area is always locked by the Thomson staff, they pick up the key and they return it to us, it should be closed in the evening for everybody just to avoid the problems that your are writing to us. The queues at the kids club and staff shortages do not belong to us.
You are giving us a bad coment for things that they are not caused for the hotel and their staff.
The header of your review is not the most appropiate because give the other people a bad idea about the hotel.

Anyway, we want to thank you for your feedback and for letting us know about your experiencies at our hotel.

Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Xisco and David are the best bar staff ever! They never fail to remember us when we return each year. This is now our 15th visit to the Playa Mar, friendly, welcoming and always go that extra mile. the quality of rooms and outdoor assets are of the highest standard, hence why we keep coming back. the food at the pool bar has a good range of meals to choose from, they are all delicious! Don't have to worry about getting up to early for a sunbed as they are chained up, there is also many shaded spots. There are a selection of activities throughout the day for both adults and children, and the reps always make sure everyone is having a good time. The trips available from the front desk such as the scenic tour around the caves of drac; pirates!, and various waterparks are all spectacular and are reasonably priced. definitely recommend this aparthotel!!

Room Tip: block one at the back has nice view of the mountains from the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the playa mar hotel with our two boys (aged 6 & 8) from late July to early August for 10 nights.

We were met upon check in at 11.30am with fruit & cava & then told we could not access our apartment until after 6pm due to other guests booking late check outs (apparently via Thomson). It was eventually 9pm when we gained access. We were later told by the Thomson rep that any delay after the 6pm deadline was down to the hotel despite the hotel being put in the predicament by Thomson accepting payment for the late check outs on point of booking in the UK. We were not alone in this situation as I believe up to 4 families had the same issue. We were given lunch (on Thomson), dinner (on the hotel) and a safety deposit box after haggling, the spa was offered to us by the hotel for showers but we found it locked up when we tried to use it, though the manager did sort this out for us. I don't want this to reflect on the hotel (or its staff) as it was Thomson who have taken payment twice for the same apartments. We will be in touch with Thomson management in the near future with regards to the situation we found ourselves in.

Once in and settled we found the hotel and the resort to be fantastic. We did upgrade from self catering to half board on some days and found the breakfasts and dinners to be excellent quality, there was always a good variety and the staff helpful and cheerful all of the time, our youngest turned six while we were there and the staff went out of their way to make his day special, in particular Tolo and Donna. The resort is beautiful and we had a few evening meals out of the hotel. The pine walk is a must and the little beaches along it are great.

Some reviewers have commented on problems with air conditioning, we had no issue as long as both balcony doors were closed. If you want it to operate while out so you come back to a cool room you will need an additional key to leave in the slot (if removed the electricity to the apartment is cut off). Our room was cleaned daily, the kitchen though small was adequate.

The sun bed situation is a little out of control, on our first full day we walked through the pool area on the way to breakfast at 8am and noted all beds taken up with towels, though a number are left chained up until after 10am.

The entertainment was good for the kids though a little repetitive, we found our kids spent most of the evenings in the play park next door rather than the by the stage area.

The water slides and the swimming pools are excellent and were a huge hit with our kids, the Thomson staff worked hard throughout out the day keeping people entertained, the crab slide was a big hit with our youngest.

All in all this was a great holiday marred slightly by the check in issue at the start. This aside we would stay here again as the staff make this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 4 are further from the entertainment stage and so quieter late on, top floors best to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Playa Mar mid July all inclusive. We have been before but was some years before, our normal resort was Cala Bona and the Bonaire Hotel.

Had a fantastic time, arrived at hotel and greeted by cava, juice, fruit and biscuits. Room in block 3 facing play park, side view of pool and lovely view of mountains. Lovely room all recently refurbished, kitchen small but did not affect us. Food was fabulous and we were impressed that the restuarant was open at 6am for continental breakfast on day of departure. Entertainment team were fab lovely to see Ashaboo again and she, Healther and Ali G made my sons holiday. The playa mar staff were all exceptional keeping everything clean and tidy and nothing too much trouble. Special mention to Tolo in restuarant who is fab and credit to hotel. Only issue is sunbeds, did find it annoying that people reserved these the night before, not sure how hotel deal with this but think need to. I did use the Spa facilities and these were also fab. As say food was fab my son especially loved chocolate fountain. Only thing I missed at breakfast was pancakes this would just make things perfect!!!
Love Pollenca such a beautiful place.

We have already booked for next July for Playa Mar again, cant wait to see everyone.

Thanks for a fab holiday
Karen and Matthew x

Room Tip: We stayed in block 3 facing pool. Is close to stage but not an issue as entertainment finished by 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night all inclusive stay at the Playa Mar and can highly recommend this hotel. My children aged 3 and 6 had a great time, everything was perfect for them. The hotel staff are exceptional. The rooms are basic but clean and the food in the restaurant catered for all tastes and was to a high standard. My kids enjoyed the kids club and the evening entertainment. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#22 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,087 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing