We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fab family holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fab family holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just spent two fabulous weeks with my partner and our kids aged 7 and 5 at the playa mar aparth hotel in polencia.
From the welcome to the good bye the staff here are amazing. The cleaners the kids reps Thompson guys all made it a brilliant holiday. We have a boy 7 and a girl aged 5 and the slides the play ground the entertainment and the kids club reps kept them occupied every day which meant we adults got some down time too.
We stayed in block 3 room 301 and it was perfect overlooking the pool bar/stage play ground area. The resort is kept immaculate by the most polite and friendly people you could meet. Rooms are not over ly big but clean and perfect for family of 4 and cleaned every day. Pool and pool side bar and restaurant are very keenly priced with lunch for kids at 5.50 € for kids meal with a drink. Bar drinks very well priced with cocktail of the day at 4 € bottle of corinita 2.50 €. We didn't eat in main restaurant but the food looked fab and the hotel offers daily deals to upgrade to all inclusive so don't book this at home. Entertainment was good and kids loved it. Bar shuts at 11:30 sharp so stock your fridge for a drink on your balcony at night when kids are gone asleep. Only down side is the little shop attached to the hotel. Very over priced for the likes of items they know you want to keep in your room...milk bread oj etc. Apart from that no bad points polencia is a town you could go to with yourself and the missus and the kids. We will be back simple as that. Make sure to visit formentor beach fab. But bring a packed lunch cause the two cafe bars are extortion simple put rip off city. But beach is amazing as is the pine walk into town from the hotel. Beautiful early evening walk. Breakfast in nostalgia opposite o haras amazing too. La fonda in the old town. .... Have the mallorcan goat and duck in cherry and strawberry sauce. 5 € gets you a taxi back to the playamar each evening from town. All an all playa mar well see you again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    547
    169
    44
    20
See reviews for
1,176
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Whilst we had an enjoyable time at the Playa Mar, my overall feeling was the hotel could be so much better.

The hotel is in a great location, right at the end of the Pine Walk which is fantastic to stroll along on an evening into town. The hotel lobby and public areas are all modern and look great. The swimming pools are nice and well maintained, but they were chaotic most of the time and it was a struggle finding sunbeds if you were not at the pool first thing.

The rooms were the main disappointment. Although mostly clean and not a bad size, they are very dated and our room had loose light fittings and an awful stained shower curtain. The kitchen areas are also extremely small for any food preparation. We also requested a mothercare cot, the first one we were given would not stay up and kept collapsing, the replacement we asked for had an awful odour that made the whole bedroom smell. We therefore gave up on the cots, pulled the sofa bed from the living room into the bedroom and made a makeshift cot. The aircon was very poor especially in the bedroom, in fact I don't think it actually worked. The wifi reception was again very poor, could barely receive an email but maybe this was our room position.

We ate once in the hotel restaurant, whilst the food was quite nice we found it expensive compared to eating in town. The evening entertainment was good to keep the kids entertained for a few hours, the Thomson team worked extremely hard.

Overall Puerto Pollensa is a fantastic resort which we would highly recommend but the hotel really needs to improve the accommodation blocks to the same standard as the nice public areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W00WAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We returned to Playa Mar this year as we loved it so much last year. Great place, brill for kids, swimming pools and slides great, entertainment at night very good and all the acts include the kids by bringing them up on the stage. Thomson entertainment team great and so friendly. Rooms lovely and cleaned every day. The pine walk into the town is lovely. Also Id recommend a gorgeous restaurant just down the road from Playa Mar, down to the right, few minutes walk and its on the left "Laguna bar/restaurant"...gorgeous food. Beach just 5 minute walk, Another great holiday in the Playa Mar. Would definitely recommend to families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip in a year but our first for 2 weeks. We could only get a studio room this week unlike last times 1 bed apartment but it worked out fine, our 4 year old was up dancing til midnight with all the other kids so was exhausted! The hotel room was a little bit dated and the kitchen too small to cook a decent meal in, but apart from that the hotel is perfect for kids, great kids club, child friendly restaurant, brilliant swimming pool with slides- pre-school heaven!

It was daughters birthday while we were they and the hotel snd Thomson staff all made huge fuss of her and made her holiday perfect.
Evening entertainment typical tacky stuff but kids all happy in the park til late and good bar.

Puerto polenca is perfect for families, beautiful and not tacky in the slightest.

Fab holiday, would recommend hotel for families but without kids it would be too noisy!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank katballee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Iv just returned from a week at the Playa Mar. I agree with other reviewers when they say it is geared up for young families. I had no children with me and still enjoyed my stay. I stayed on an AI basis and the food did get quite boring. The pool snack bar offers good value lunches which I did purchase on a couple of days for a change. Everything is kept extremely clean and tidy at the aparthotel. The Spa is beautiful and my daughter had a number of treatments all at similar prices to the UK as a treat. The Thomson team work extremely hard to make sure everyone is enjoying there stay. I have to mention Tricky Nicky who as Simon Cowell would say "always gives it 110%". The daytime activities start at 10.30 and continue until 11pm. Music is played around the pool until 5pm everyday which can make it a little noisy. I use to stroll down to the beach 5 minutes away for a break and a dip in the sea. The 4.30 Party in the Pool is very popular every day and its great to see the kids dancing and singing along to the party songs. The songs which have somehow stuck in my head even though I am home ! The evening entertainment was quite poor and could do with some improvement. The Pine Walk is beautiful and it takes about 20 minutes to walk into town where there are numerous shops, bars and restaurants. The market is in town on a Wednesday morning and definitely worth a look. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel but would only go back if I went with the small children in my family. I would however definitely return to the area again. It really is beautiful and I felt safe out walking in the evenings alone.

Room Tip: I was in block 2 overlooking the mountains which was very peaceful. The pool view rooms would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The entertainment team were excellent apart from that not good. People playing in the kids park past midnight. Keeping my daughter awake. My daughter cut her foot in the kids pool 3 times. Hotel staff useless didn't do any thing to help. The big pool was often dirty even got closed for the day.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LFOOD-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I took our 10 month old daughter on her first holiday here under the recommendation by friends that the hotel is great for children.

I agree the hotel is great for children, the pool is great for them to play in there is lots to do the kids club is great and our daughter went into the creche for 3 mornings for 2 hours each time and seemed to really enjoy it, we got a little relaxing time around the pool too!

Unfortunately when we first arrived we were disappointed because -

- put in a room right next to the bar and entertainment, not something we wanted to be near to with having such a young baby who needed to get to sleep considering we didn't arrive till 9pm and had been travelling more or less all day.
- we were told by reception that the buffet stops at 830pm therefore from 10pm there will be cold food selection available for us, this consisted off absolutely disgusting stale white bread an apple and a yoghurt and a few slices of cheese, not good especially if you can't eat white bread. so we went to bed starving.
- it was very hot when we arrived we assumed the air con would kick in after a few hours, it DIDNT!

two days in we were eventually moved to a quieter room thank god, we thought maybe the air con might be better in there, although it wasn't so i complained about that. Reception told me the air con was broken and everyone was in the same situation he said it would be fixed ASAP.
A day later we went back to reception to find out about the air con and the receptionist said he needed to speak to the engineer and get back to us, later that day when we walked through the lobby he told us the air con had been fixed!? didn't feel fixed to us, then we got talking to a couple who came last year and they said the air con has always been terrible. It was colder outside than inside!

so if you like a cool room to go to after a hot day around the pool don't stay here!

the food was very basic, the only night we enjoyed the food was the mexican night. we were all inclusive which i won't ever do again, but we ate out 4 times in the week, we were there as i was desperate for some proper food! the chef who made the omelettes every morning, has an attitude problem and no matter how many times you tell him what you want in your omelette he will put in what he likes, very rude too!

the pool was kept clean, get down quickly to secure your sun beds though, it gets very busy.

puerto pollenca is gorgeous and i will be going back in a villa with family, you to have to walk the pine walk and try laguna (it looks like a pool bar and very basic) but the foods out of this world!!!

although these points are quite disappointing i do recommend this hotel for families but only because there is lots to do for kids and puerto pollenca itself is stunning and for self catering only, the all inclusive deal is not worth it, you can't get everything at the hotel and you have to eat at certain times, there is nothing but stale horrendous sandwiches and limited ice cream for snacks in between!

i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
10.6 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing