We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd holiday in the last 4 years at the Playa Mar and it is better than ever. More beds by the pool meant less hassle in the morning to reserve your spot, but as always, the highlight here is the ever so friendly staff. Led by the most helpful Sebastian at reception, his positive and friendly attitude seems to spread to all the others, and they make a real extra effort with the kids. Anything you wished to organise, it was never a problem for Sebastian and his team. I never thought I would go back to the same place twice, but looking good for a 4th trip there next year.... here's hoping!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    561
    170
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,214
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you're looking for a great place to go on a family holiday then look no further. We've just returned today on the 5th of August but would loved to have stayed longer.

This hotel is fantastically equipped for those of you travelling with young kids. We took our 2 year old and 4 year old who loved the splash pool and slides and the evening entertainment was was great for the kids - and good for the grown ups too!

We'd read plenty of reviews before we travelled and expected to find a very good hotel, the only gripe we had come across was people complaining about the air con in the rooms. Well, we found nothing at all to complain about.

Rooms:- we were in block 3 with a balcony to the roadside. We didn't have a pool view or a view of the mountains like the rooms across the other side of the pool. We did however have a very clean and comfortable room with excellent air con! The rooms were cleaned daily with a sofa bed and pull out bed for the kids in the living area. The small kitchen area was well equipped and very useful.

Restaurant:- a very light and airy restaurant which was comfortable and pleasant. During our one week stay there were 3 theme nights (Mallorcan, Mexican and Asian) all of which were very good. The restaurant opens early so if you have a fairly early pick up on your last day as we did, there's a good choice of continental breakfast from 6.30am. The restaurant staff were very friendly and made a fuss of the kids.

Pool area:- the pool gets very busy and if you're hoping to swim lengths then this pool isn't for you. It's a fun pool with kids in rubber rings, shooting water guns and having fun - just what Thomson family hotels should be like! The Crab slide can be enjoyed by kids and grown ups and the the little ones will like the small cow and toucan slides too.

Entertainment:- hats off to the Thomson team, a great job of keeping guests well entertained. Our kids loved 'Deanna Montana' in particular and she was well backed up by Tricky Nicky and Rossy Rocks. The day time programme of a couple of poolside games for all of the family, a quiz and the party in the pool were all good fun and again enjoyed by kids and grown ups alike. If you're expecting Broadway shows for evening entertainment (judging by some previous reviews I think some people do!) then you'll be disappointed. If however you're looking for having the kids well entertained for an hour followed up by a bit of bingo and then either a Gary Barlow tribute act or a bunch of Kenyan lads doing some acrobatics then you're sorted! Again, it's just what this type of hotel is, a good fun, safe and friendly place where you can enjoy some quality family time with a beer in one hand and a smile on the face of your kids.

Over the last 3 years we've visited the Bonaire in Cala Bona, the Alcudia Pins in playa De Muro and this place. I rate this far in front of the Pins and only a narrow second to the Bonaire (we just had a particularly good holiday there).

I was chatting with a guy from Ireland at checkout. He and his wife were in their mid 60's and were heading home after 2 weeks. He said they were well ready for getting back. We wanted to stay much longer. With all due respect this isn't a hotel for a mid 60s couple travelling on their own. It's a great place for a family holiday which you and your kids will love.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEVE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Playa Mar and wow, what a fantastic place! Food was out of this world, so much choice and tasted delicious....would definitely recommend going all inclusive. Staff in the restaurant and bar were so friendly and helpful and my two little ones enjoyed the 'drop in' kids club. It's about 20 min walk to the town, which has lots of little beaches along the way but to be honest the swimming pools and slides are so much fun for our children, they didn't want to leave the hotel! Only negative would be our room was a little bit small and a bit run down but it was very clean. Air con worked perfectly, so don't really understand the negative comments? You just have to make sure patio doors are closed, otherwise it doesn't come on.
All in all it was a brilliant holiday and I would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent a week here in June with our two children who are under two. The hotel is great for children especially three plus as there is more for them to do. This does state it in the Thomson brochure so can't complain. All childrens groups are for this age and above, under twos just have the crèche facility which we didn't use.

The Thomson entertainment are very good and they give it there all. They don't impinge on you if Your not interested in playing the games etc, which we liked. There is plenty to do for all the family. My 22 month old particularly loved Thomson the dog and the disco in the evening.

The swimming pools are also good fun and everywhere is very clean. There are plenty of sun beds, yes you do have to put your towels down before nine to get the spot you want, but this seems common practice these days. Otherwise you take where you can get.

We were self catering, apartment fine, quite small probably not great if you had two older children. Kitchen basic you couldn't really cook in it, but we didn't come on holiday to do this, had enough for what we needed for our baby. We were on the bottom floor next to the entertainment building had no problem with the sound it didn't effect us or the children. Bathroom fine, powerful shower, even the hairdryer was okay!

The Pine walk as most people say is beautiful but it was too far in the evening with our young children, both in pushchairs so about 25mins, so unfortunately we weren't able to go in, we did the walk during the day for lunch. This was the only downside to the holiday for us the location was to far from the centre, as we enjoy our evening meals out, but had to make do with basic tapas in the room. Or which was a god send the cafe/ tapas bar next to the supermarket, about a 5 min walk and the atmosphere and food was good. You could also get takeaways.

Another nice place was the gin bar along the pine walk about 5 mins away, was nice to go for a drink there in the evening.

All in all great hotel for families,but if you like spending your evenings out and have younger children, location isn't great due to the distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scarlett-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Playa Mar. We booked a package with Thomson, who we have been away with before, and it was a great choice.

Arrival
We arrived and were greeted with a glass of Cava in the spacious lobby. The staff were excellent from the start. We had arrived earlier than expected (our flight came in early), so they were apologetic that our room wasn't ready, but that was no problem for us, as we relaxed. Everyone who went by smiled and people seemed so friendly, it really set the whole thing up.

There is a mini-market outside the front of the hotel which stocks an incredible amount for the space! Not the cheapest, but we booked AI so didn't need much, just the occasional treat. There is a Euroski down the road that you could easily get a taxi back from.

Apartment
We went to our room/apartment and it was fine. A proper cot for our baby which I was really pleased by, and a separate bedroom. The kitchen seemed pretty basic, but the fridge was properly cold (with freezer compartment) and a good size. The bathroom was fine, probably could do with some updating- the shower head was pretty old fashioned, but all perfectly serviceable, and the water pressure was good. Our air conditioning was excellent, and we left a key in permanently, so we came back to a beautifully cool room each time.

We were really happy with the hotel, but we were facing the pool, where you could hear the noise from the Entertainment and bar, so we asked if it would be possible to move (after the first night), and this was no trouble at all. We were moved to a mountain view room and it was another really great little apartment.

So the room was good. Not the best ever, but good. However, the pool, bar, restaurant and everything else was amazing. Just lovely.

Pools
The apartments are set around the pools, and the pools are amazing. We have a toddler, and she had a total ball. There's a main pool that goes from deep to shallow with a lovely bridge, and the shallow end is a bit like the sea and landscaped really gradually, so perfect for babies and littlies. Plus, all the plastic toys when we went weren't really 'owned' by anyone so there was a free-for- all on toys, and we donated a couple of things when we left! There are loads of sun loungers, but the 'booking' of loungers was hilarious (we mock Germans for sunbed hogging! They have nothing on us!). But we always found space, and around the edge of the sun loungers are lovely shady areas we could put our baby in her pram to sleep.

Other than the main pool, there's this enormous cow that smaller kids can climb up and slide down that our daughter thought was fantastic, and perfect depth and safety. Honestly, the pool area was worth it for that alone.

Thomson entertainment is all day, so they organise all sorts which is fab. They have aqua aerobics, water polo (my OH played every day and got to know all the guys). There's music and quite a decent pool vibe, with the Thomson team working super hard to offer something for everyone.

The food...
The AI was amazing. I know the prices had gone up this year, but it was fantastic. We had cocktails every night, and cava most evenings (you could even have it for breakfast if you wanted!). The food was beautiful. Salads galore, and meat and fish that was lovely. They did themed evenings and were were there for 11 nights and didn't get bored. They make omelettes at breakfast, then at other meals there were meat or fish cooked to order, or roasts. Plus, pasta with different choices of sauces. Just so much choice!

For those travelers who like to go away and eat a 'British' diet, there were chips at every main meal, freshly cooked pizzas and the children's choice had basics for little ones who are more fussy. Then there were amazing fruits and puddings. We're not massive pudding eaters, but the choice was ridiculous- so much. We loved the Asian night, but also lovely seeing all the Mallorcan specials on the local evening, and they had fiery (!) shots to try on the way into the restaurant.

Bar
The bar at the 'theatre' was also really good. The drinks were great. We tried the house wines which were all good, and had the cocktails (the strawberry Daquiri was delicious!) and cava, as said before. They also have sandwiches through the day on AI, and icecreams.

The staff
The staff make this hotel. There are too many amazing staff to mention. The reception guys are so friendly and willing to help. We had ants in our room one morning (toddler had left some food out and we hadn't realised), so they sorted it straight away. The waiting staff in the restaurant learned our baby's name and were soooo friendly and delightful with her, they were wonderful and we went and said goodbye to them all when we left- they are fantastic. All the staff at the bar are also so great- if you make a vague effort with them they are so funny. They found my running in the evening hilarious, but we got chatting about rock climbing and they were all great. They all work stupidly long days and are so busy, so much respect.

Baby room
The baby room was below the main reception and was quiet and cool. It wasn't the 'smartest' room, but was perfect for when our baby needed a break and wanted somewhere quiet to play with soft play. This also had a feeding room, fridge and mothercare sterilising equipment, and a toilet with changing and wipes etc. Very handy. This was just a lovely quiet space to go for half an hour or so to chillout.

The creche
This was well worth it. The Thomson guys, like the main hotel staff, all deserve medals. They were so great. We put our daughter in for one session initially, but she enjoyed herself so much we booked in another couple and had some two hour times to ourselves to go to the beach! We also used the evening creche which was fantastic, and the security of having really good staff was really wonderful. They had toys, a mini ball pit, and our baby came back with 'art' and a t shirt and various other bits and bobs- she had a blast. Yey for Thomson!

The resort
We hired bikes for the day. They delivered them to the hotel with hats and a baby seat. Brilliant. We cycled along the back road toward Pollensa old town, didn't get that far, as we stopped at Llenaire and had the most stunning drink on a hilltop at the villa there. Go. It is worth it for the view alone. But this villa was amazing, just like something from history, or a novel. A total surprise as we needed a stopping point, saw a sign for tea and drinks and cycled up the drive.. wow.

The pine walk in one minute from the front of the hotel, and this cobbled walkway goes all the way to town (25 minute walk with pram) along the sandy inlets that really make this resort so stunning.
We spent most days going to the beaches outside the hotel because they were shallow and so lovely for our little one.
TIP! Take a decent pram. We took our maclaren (rather than Bugaboo) and wished with had the suspension! The pine walk is stunning, but it was a tiring push, and I felt for our little one.

We would go for a morning out, then walk back for lunch and a nap. Perfect.

We ate out a couple of times at Le Capri (really glad we booked, amazing food and location on the sea) and the at Hotel IIla' Dor (This may be misspelled), just down from the hotel. This was a total delight. Amazing cocktails to start, food to die for an service was perfect. Recommended! We went for a drink there again on the last evening. (TIP- if you do go to the Hotel IIla'Dor, book a table for 8pm. We booked for 7.30 and we had the sun in our eyes until it went over the mountains, when it was the most beautiful place. When the sun was going down, it was very hot and blinding!!)

We'll be coming back next summer. Perfect family place. Not too 'touristy' and the hotel was so close to the beach. All Inclusive was so fantastic- the choice of food, ease of being able to just not worry about cooking and washing up. It was brilliant for us and our little one. Plus the drinks would have made it worth it alone! The staff are just amazing as well.

The pine walk is beautiful. It is a way into 'town', but along the path there are cafes and little shops, and the little beaches are divine. We often hired a sunbed and parasol for the afternoon and would play with our toddler by the shallow waters. Divine.

The atmosphere was very laid back, very friendly, and really idyllic. Cannot wait to go back, with friends and my folks next time.

Room Tip: We liked the quiet so moved to a mountain view. Beautiful. The A/C in both rooms we had was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Surfer-chic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for a week early July after it being recommended to us. The apartments are clean and tidy although a little on the small side when the 2 sofa beds are pulled out maybe they could take the coffee table out to make more room. The sunbed situation was ridiculous people putting towels on the loungers at 6am you find yourself doing the same so as to get a lounger. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was excellent so can't comment on evening meal. The Thomsons girls work really hard and all the kids loved the kids club. A special mention to Tricky Nicky and Rossy Rocks these guys are superb they really get the place going they have always got a smile on there face and have endless energy. My only issue was with the parasols, one became airborne flew into the pool and hit my son on the head, these were not secured properly and when it became windy which it was most of the week they started to come out of the holders and hit people. They assured us there were new parasols ordered i hope they have them now as it was extremely dangerous.

Room Tip: If you have children under 11 years old and like full on family fun this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 121HoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We said goodbye to Playa Mar this time last week after a fantastic 2 week stay in the resort. Having stayed in a brand new Thomson family resort (Skanes Tunisia) in October we were skeptical about returning to another Thomson resort. The reps in Tunisia were less than enthusiastic about their job and resort which led to a poor experience and we almost cancelled our trip to Playa Mar but we are delighted we did not!

Location:
The resort is ideally situated at the end of the pine walk, we have a toddler and found the walk not a problem at all with the buggy as we could be in the centre in around 20 minutes. We never ended up leaving the resort that much as Playa Mar was perfect for our son but it was nice to be able to head to the beach or to a local restaurant for a change of scene.

Resort and Rooms:
I cannot fault the cleanliness of the resort the reception, pool areas, bar and restaurant are all immaculate and very safe for children. Yes the rooms need modernised but this is not sold as a 'new' Thomson resort and again the rooms were cleaned every single day of our 2 week stay. The kitchen area is tiny and it would be hard to 'self cater' in the space but again we didn't book a holiday to sit in our room so it served it's purpose to hold snacks and drinks or the occasional breakfast / lunch. We were fortunate as our air conditioning worked perfectly as I know this has been highlighted as a fault of the resort but our room (4/406) was lovely and cool and quiet in the evenings. We asked for a cot to be in our room and this was waiting on us in the room as requested.

Food:
We booked on a self catering basis however on day 2 we chose to upgrade to all inclusive, With a young toddler this suited as perfectly as meal times are never long occasions. The selection was extremely varied and there were a number of themed nights during our stay which provided a nice change. The staff in the restaurant we're all fantastic and welcomed you every day, taking time to speak to our little one too which was lovely. We did eat out a couple of times as there are so many places in the surrounding area. Pizzas from Little Italy down the pine walk are worth a try! It was however slightly disappointing that the snack bar was not included in the all inclusive rate as it was nice to sit up there at lunch time for a change.

Trips:
We went on the Thomson Family Mega Day to Aqualand this was a brilliant day and well worth the money, both adults and kids had a ball on all of the slides and the the Thomson party in the pool with Thomson the Dog went down well too! We also went to see the Pirates Show in Magauluf, we upgraded and booked the Captains VIP table package but I don't think this was worth it as the theatre is quite small and if you had booked the package below you were pretty much sitting next to where we were. It is a great show though and highly recommended!

Kids Facilities
The resort was perfect for our little boy (2) Just the right size for him to get his bearings and know where he wanted to go. The play park is fantastic (and right next to the bar which was handy in the evenings for many families), the pools are also great. We spent most of our time by the Cow slides as this was perfect for toddlers, there are also the crab slides for older children and then a large lagoon style pool. You do have to get up early for sun loungers though (one night we saw a guest putting his out at 1am as we sat in the bar?!) I am not sure the hotel will ever get this under control but in the height of summer what do you expect in a busy resort? The soft play was also a winner when the heat got too much and again was very clean and safe for kids.

Kids Club:
Our son was too young for the kids clubs however we saw a number of the acitivities during our stay and the kids all looked like they were having a ball. A number of families we met had children using the clubs and they all really enjoyed it especially things like the pizza party. The kids clubs reps Calvin Harris, Funtime Frankie, Jolly Holly, Dannisaurus, Shauny Sheep and the rest of the team were all brilliant! We used the creche facility a couple of times in the second week it was 11 Euros for 2 hours and the 1 - 3pm session was perfect for keeping your little one out of the lunchtime heat. The creche was immaculate and full of toys, ball ponds etc, it also has a separate sleeping room for the children who needed a nap. Kit Kat Karly and Messy Jessy were absolute stars with our wee boy and he used to run down to the creche door to try and get in!

Entertainment
Well where do I start I have never met such a welcoming team of reps! Tricky Nicki, Deeana Montana and Rossy Rocks never stop. They are all great fun! From our first day when Tricky Nicki came straight over to our wee boy to say hello they made it a holiday to remember. There are activities throughout the day and the team strike a really good balance with the guests encouraging you to join in but if you want to stay on your lounger then that's ok too! We did join in with a lot of the activities and as a result met a really great group of guests and got to know the reps too. The evening entertainment started at 7.30pm with Little Pups a pre school entertainment programme, this is a good idea of Thomsons but it needs livened up a little to engage the kids more (the reps worked really hard at it though!), it's not until Thomson the Dog comes out that the kids go wild! They love him! The Kennel Club was brilliant each night and again all of the entertainment team and also the kids reps got involved in this and made it a lot of fun. Yes there is bingo and it was a good laugh, for the 10 minutes it lasts I am not sure whey some previous reviewers found this such an issue. If you don't want to play you can chat for ten minutes before the live show. On a whole the evening shows were better than many I have seen in other resorts, some of the local acts were a little bizarre and dated but the shows provided by the entertainment team were good fun and good quaility - we loved the pantomime and the broadway show too. Each night ends around 11pm with the Thomson party dances, even the most reserved of guests could be seen singing along to Choco Latte by the end of the stay!

We will definitely be back to Playa Mar, it does what it says on the tin provides a great family holiday. Yes the accommodation is not 5 star quality but having stayed in newer resorts I would swap the swim up rooms and plasa tvs for 2 weeks at Playa Mar any day.

Room Tip: We stayed in block four which was nice and cool and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dancingsmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#23 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
569 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing