We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol.U.K.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star Hotel!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nicely situated & budget hotel,close to the beach, hotel now looking tired.Rooms nice sized, clean&tidy, balcony gave a views of the river &beach (just ! ) Dreadful sun loungers,needed replacement, but staff pleasant. town beach crowded, but convenient, lots of small useful supermarkets, & good restaurants.Nice. clean resort, would go back again, but to another hotel !

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnythediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    555
    170
    45
    20
See reviews for
1,196
162
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just arrived back from 2 weeks at the Playa Mar and we were very disappointed with some aspects of our holiday experience. Our primary disappointment was the standard of the rooms. They were small and desperately needed refurbishment. In addition the towels on sun beds rule did not apply and if we went to the pool at 7.30am most of the beds were gone! In our minds this was not the holiday we expected and the hotel seemed reticent to do anything about it.

The entertainment staff were weak and this impacted on the holiday experience. We had a visit from a rep called Johnny who was from the Alcudia Pins and was filling in for a couple of days and he was exceptional. The whole spirit in the hotel was lifted by his enthusiasm and will to please the customers. We had rain for 4 consecutive days and when the staff were asked whether they were going to carry out water polo for what was some peoples last day they said "well nobody has come and asked" and even had the nerve to ask one of the people holidaying at the hotel whether they wished to take it on.

Despite the tired rooms and sunbed wars we couldn't fault the Spanish hotel staff. They couldn't do enough for everyone and the hotel should be proud of their work ethic and wish to please.

You would be hard pushed to find a more beautiful resort than Puerto Pollensa so don't be put off by the hotel review just choose a villa or apartment on the pine walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room in Bock 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a week this August in block 3 (just behind the big crab slide). We had a ground floor room facing the road but had no issues with noise from the bar or the road.
Minor niggle was that there are signs everywhere to stop people reserving sunloungers by the pool and when we (naively!) came out at half eight to use the pool on the first day they all had towels on with very few actually occupied - turns out this is not enforced so if you want a space you should get up early! Joe the rep was fairly helpful and managed to persuade the manager to let us use some chairs from the bar as we had to feed a baby while supervising our 2 other boys (4 and 8).
The rooms are small for a family of 5 but we knew this before we went. The kitchens are tiny! 21 euros to "hire" the safe for a week seemed unneccessarily expensive!?
The pool was a huge hit with the kids - gets quite crowded by 3-4 in the afternoon. Kids clubs were excellent - may thanks to all the reps. The energy + enthusiasm of the reps was staggering!!
Thomson branded merchandise is a bit on the expensive side....12 euros for a teddy and 6 for an activity pack (although this did include downloads of the disco tracks).
The resort is lovely - perfect for a quiet family holiday. plenty of places to eat out down the pine walk.
Would love to come back - most people we spoke to were repeat visitors - would strongly consider half or full board though as it works out cheaper (bar prices pretty steep unless you drink the house plonk at 4 euros a bottle - we're not wine snobs though and it was fine)
Thank you to all the friendly, helpful staff for making it such a fab holiday

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pete2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I could not write anything bad regarding the playa mar. We (myself,wife and 2 kids 3&1)have just come back from a 10 nights stay there. We had the best family holiday anyone could ask for.the staff at the hotel are amazing would help you with anything you needed,the rooms are lovely if I was been picky the rooms are on small side that's it.the food was exceptional. I can not give enough praise for the entertainment team,deanna Montana,tricky Nikki, and rossy rocks they run the place like clockwork and keep all the kids happy.it would not be the same hotel without them they were brilliant.the hotel is in lovely location with 20 min walk down the lovely pine walk to town.overall I can't wait to return to the hotel next June reason not August was too hot for us.i hope to see all the same staff there as it was a fantastic holiday.thank you playa mar and Thomson team. Paul,Tanya,bobby and Emily...xxxdublin.

Room Tip: Never had a problem with noise levels at the hotel and we were right beside bar and stage room 2301...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorks
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our first stay at Playa Mar revealed a mixed bag! The Thomson run hotel is about 20 minutes walk away along the Pine Walk to the town square. Check in was problem free and having e-mailed the hotel before arrival requesting a high floor mountain view, we were provided with a room on the middle floor but still with a lovely mountain view. The one bed apartment was adequate and exceptionally clean, if a little jaded; it is in need of a refurb! There was maid service every day as well as fresh towels daily despite the claim of maid service 5 times a week. We decided on SC although you can eat there; apparently it's cheaper to upgrade to HB or AI whilst you are there. The kitchenette was poor for a 4* hotel; a fridge, toaster, kettle microwave and two ring hob. I was glad we had planned on eating in Puerto Pollensa every evening. The pool area was great. The crab slides were a great hit with us all! I fortunately wake up very early, as despite there being signs from the hotel about not reserving beds, if you don't put your towels down by 8.30- 9.00, you will not get your preferred place. The entertainment by the pool was good with a view of Thomson the Dog at 1.30 every day! Lots to get involved in, if you fancy it. The Kids Club was great; my son having participated in two activities. Overall a great resort for families, but rooms a little disappointing!

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing the mountains in Block 1 or 2 for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Playa Mar and although we really enjoyed our holiday there is no way that we will return until the rooms have been refurbished.

Positives
The resort of Puerto Pollensa is beautiful and the location of the hotel is great.

The pool area and slides are fantastic for the kids and kept them entertained for hours.

The kids club kept our eldest entertained every day, especially Calvin Harris and Jellybean.

The crèche staff, Karlie and Jess made us feel very at ease to leave our youngest in their care for a couple of hours a day. The girls were great and our son really enjoyed going, best thing about the hotel.

The Thompson front of house team, especially Emily seemed genuinely concerned about concerns with our room.

Negatives

The room

The room that we were allocated was damp and smelled awful, it could only be classed as a 2 star. The hotels solution to the smell was to offer us a can of air freshner. The damp issues had meant that parts of door frames had been replaced and that skirting boards were loose. On arrival the shower head was held in place with a paracetamol packet, the outdoor towel rail was hanging off the wall and the phone socket was hanging out the wall. The Thompson team did their best to get these sorted, but the smell remained.

The crèche air conditioning

The crèche has no air conditioning, just fans. In our previous stay a year ago we were told that it was being fixed the next week, but a year later it has still not been installed.

The entertainment team

The entertainment team were quite quiet and with exception of Johnny Rocks, who was only with us a couple of days and Tricky Nicky seemed to lack enthusiasm. The variety of night time entertainment was not as varied as it has been in the past at this and other family resorts and seemed to be more in house acts as opposed to external acts.

Overall we did have a good holiday, but the value for money that is offered by the level of accommodation is poor.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are allocated in blocks 1 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emma1502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just got back from a fabulous week away at Playa Mar with our 8 and 4 year old boys. We had THE BEST time! The location was lovely, the entertainment for the kids was brilliant, the food was lovely and they were asking to go back next year before we even left.
We asked for a quiet room on a high floor and it was perfect - overlooking the mountains and away from the bar. The rooms are a bit basic but were very clean. It was hot (the Aircon was a bit feeble) but being on a high floor we slept with the patio doors open and let the air flow through. We booked half board and it was great for us. Breakfast was wonderful - loads and loads of choice - about 8 - 10 different pastries, different breads and rolls, lots of fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, omlette, cheese and meats. On our last day we had an early breakfast at 6.30 and everything except the hot food was available - a real bonus. Dinners were lovely too - lots of choices - salad (both make up your own and a choice of pre-made ones) every night, a choice of veggie things and little starters, a pasta bar where my son could choose his pasta and sauce, lots of different plates of hot food, fruit, ice-cream, amazing chocolate fountain and lots of different sweets (some were the same each day, some different). We really enjoyed the Mallorcan, Mexican and Asian themed evenings. We ate lunches out at cafes or in our room (simple sandwiches and fruits and salads bought locally). Having a fridge in our room was great for keeping drinks and fruit etc cool. We didn't use the microwave or cooker to be honest. It was nice to be able to make cups of tea etc though, The room was cleaned well and regularly.
The pool was lovely - yes people do reserve sun-beds early but we didn't stress about it. We always found one to leave our towels on while we swam. We tended to go out and do our own thing in the morning and then the boys sometimes used the kids club (both drop in and 'team') during the early afternoon when it was hot before spending the late afternoon in the pool when it was quieter. The Thomson reps were great - very helpful, the kids club staff were all lovely and super helpful. The entertainment team (especially the lovely Tricky Nicky and Rossy Rocks) were so good. Such hard workers. While we were there there was an evening they had got locked out of their cupboard with all the equipment. Together they did an impromptu show for the kids so they were not disappointed and they came across calm and unstressed despite it obviously being a difficult evening. The final day of our holiday we saw Nicky arriving as we went for Breakfast, she did a full set of activities by the pool, frisbee competition,quiz, aquafit etc through the day and then led the Little Pups and Kennel Club in the evening. She was there doing the sound and lighting for the Whitney Houston tribute (which was really good) and finished with leading the dancing until 11pm. Apparently someone was feeling unwell so she filled in for them. What a star. She never stopped smiling. Both Nicky and Ross took time to learn the kids names and on our last night she made my 4 year old so so happy by inviting him onto the stage to tell his joke and sit on the special sofa. He sang the songs all the way home.
I can understand a few niggles people have mentioned about the hotel but we didn't let them bother us (of course it is hot in Mallorca in August!)
We were given complimentary tickets to use the Spa once which we did and loved it - nice cool pool you can swim lengths in, jacuzzi etc (it was a bit hot for the steam room and sauna but they were very nice). We had a morning walk to Cala Bocquer and a swim in the sea, we took a boat trip for the day (all arranged by the rep) and had various other wanders around, pedalo rides, lunches out etc. We also took a bus to Pollensa and walked around the town, had coffee etc. It was just lovely! Exactly what we needed and we are already planning to go again next year - hopefully for 10 days or even 2 weeks if we can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.0 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing