We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Oro Playa
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent value, great location.”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have just returned from a holiday at Oro Playa, which we booked based on reading Tripadvisor reviews, so we thought we'd add our own.

First impressions were not great. We arrived on 31st May (when, I believe, the apartments had just opened for the season) and found our room to be quite shabby. The first thing I did was turn on the kettle, which blew the fuse. My husband opened the bathroom door and part of the door frame fell off. We turned on the telly only to find it was broken. Now, we couldn't really have cared less if the room had no television (and the other two faults were fixed immediately), but it doesn't create a good impression to have a broken one.

So, not a great start. But I'm happy to say things improved very much after that.

Like I said, the staff acted very quickly on these initial complaints and we found throughout our stay that all staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful.

The apartment, though basic, was sufficient for our needs. The 4 of us shared a spacious double bedroom (our two children both slept in cots provided by the hotel). The living room has a small kitchen area with hob, grill/microwave, sink, kettle, fridge, and all basic pots and pans. There's also a small balcony with table and chairs. Unlike most families, we actually ate in for 1 or 2 meals each day and found there was everything we needed.

The communal areas looked nice and were of good standard. There are two pools - a shallow one which our little children loved and a larger, deep pool which had plenty of room for a decent swim. There's also a bar (with free wifi), a lounge, restaurant (not open when we were there), pool table, table tennis, air hockey and a small children's playground. We tended to spend some time at the pool each day and the later part of the evening at the bar, and always found a very pleasant atmosphere.

But by far the best thing about these apartments is the location. We toyed with the idea of booking Habitat Apartments, which are in the same price range. But Oro Playa has a better location by far, so we're glad we did not. It is situated at the nicer end of the beach, one street back from the Pinewalk (a pedestrian promenade which borders the beach). We absolutely loved the beaches, and I can't imagine any better for young children. The sea is incredibly calm and very gently shelving, so that we felt totally comfortable with our children paddling about without holding our hands. This made everything so much more relaxed. The individual beaches are also small, so no chance of losing them! Sitting on the beach in the early evening with total calm around you was just amazing.

In the town centre (a few minutes walk) there is a large square - one of the best I've seen - with cafes, restaurants and bars around the perimeter and a big open space in the middle where local children and holidaymakers alike play every afternoon/ evening. There are lots of nice restaurants, although they are pricier than you'd normally expect for Spain. The resort also feels a bit more English than we'd ideally like, although not at all in a Magaluf kind of way.

Also a few minutes walk along the seafront is the town's bus station. We had days out in Pollensa, Alcudia (ten minutes each) and Palma (an hour away) - all of which we'd highly recommend. Just take the normal bus - don't pay for an expensive excursion.

Finally, I have to mention Coco, the children's entertainer, who seemed to have a very genuine rapport with the kids and was lots of fun. Our kids loved him and we're sure we'll all be singing songs from the nightly Mini Disco for months to come!

All in all, we would recommend Oro Playa to people who are looking for an excellent location and good value for money, although perhaps not to fussier people. You pay for what you get after all. It's a bit frustrating as you can see how easily the apartments could be improved with a bit of updating, but then again, a refurbishment would probably make them more expensive.

We had a lovely holiday. We're not usually the type to travel to the same place twice, but I wouldn't be surprised if we returned here.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank MitchellFamily81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    240
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
350
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Oro Playa; as a single mum travelling with an 11 yr old, it is always a little nerve-racking when you travel to a new destination....I needn't have worried this time; we had a fabulous time! The daily entertainment for the teens and tweens led by the irrepressible Coco was perfect and gave me plenty of time to relax and enjoy the cocktails made by the wonderful Tony and "sight for sore eyes" Andres.....all the staff were amazing from Martin and Johnny Joe to cleaners and cooks who were out of sight, but contributed so much to making our stay an amazing time.....Puerto Pollensa is a beautiful resort; we hope to be back there in August to see the friends we made.....rumour has it that the apartments will be refurbished this winter by the Mar group re the Playa Mar appts which will bring them up to a wonderful standard, but please don't spoil the atmosphere of the place!!!!!

Room Tip: Pool facing, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereToNowLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Ora Playa is just what your looking for if you have young kids or a family , there's always something to do such as table tennis or water polo organised by coco. The kids mini disco is also fun if you have little one's, who get to dress up as clowns but other entertainments make sure the adults aren't left out either. There are two good sized pools and plenty of sunloungers, so you don't have to fight for one! The onsight bar serves drinks and food up to 3pm which is handy if you just want to chill by the pool. The apartments are basic but clean with maid's changing the bed linen and towels every other day. The staff were friendly and the hotel is situated so thats it's only a 2min walk to the beach and the front which has numerous restaraunts and a great family orientated atmosphere, I recommend the "trio" which is only a 30 second walk from the Hotel. My only complaint is that the apartments are a bit dated, but they do contain all the things you need and are clean. I have also been told they intend to update them next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepinfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Rebooked Oro Playa as we had a good week in September 2009 and the accomodation was modest be friendly and clean and the position in the resort excellent.
This year, although we had another very enjoyable time in Puerto Pollensa it was not enhanced by the apartments.
Word was out that the Oro Playa was to close the day after our departure to be refurbished, sold off, or demolished depending on which rumour you beleived.
Certainly the place needs refurbishment, but previous cleandliness and good service suffered. The bar was running down the stock, no evening entertainment and by the end of the week only a handful of guest remained. On top of this there was the ant problems in a number of rooms. Still the pool was good.
So what is happening?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

we stayed the last week of september in the oro playay I am from manchester came with my family and I really enjoyed my stay in the oro playa coco was entertaining and was wonderful we did alot of activities and bingo s defenitly back when coco is there!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manclad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have stayed at the complex twice before, & were sad to see how it has declined. The location is perfect. The staff are friendly & the structure is ok. The problem is that it is poorly maintained & not well cleaned. Value for money is terrific, but most people would prefer to spend a little extra & get the apartment cleaned properly. Our apartment did not have the floors cleaned for a week. We are just a couple & don't have sticky kids & in fairness we did not stay in other than to sleep. The swarming ants that live in the flats must be eating something & if it was cleaned they might move out!! Also, don't advertise a supermarket which is closed & Coco the entertainer spent the whole week telling everyone that the entertainment was finishing & that the place was closing down!! Mar is a terrific company & could easily save the place before it dies a death.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolLandlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

the childrens entertainer coco made the holiday for us a family and he kept out 14 yr old son entertained with many different games and activities and also introduced him to many other teenagers who he could spend time with, the activities organised by the hotel were also great and most days things were going on for all at the hotel. the hotel was basic but clean and could do with updating but overall fine for us as didnt spend a great deal of time in the rooms anyway. the place was very quiet, close to beach and all resaurants, would deffinateley go back again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiescargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
#22 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eolo
Hotel Eolo
#25 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Oro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Oro Playa

Property: Apartments Oro Playa
Address: Calle Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Oro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Port De Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Pollenca
Oro Playa Apartments
Apartments Oro Playa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing