We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth reading to understand what you will get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments Oro Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Oro Playa
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth reading to understand what you will get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

From the moment you arrive at these apartments the scene is set - a large crack in the reception area main window is just the theme that runs consistently through this tired apartment complex.

Oro playa is desperately in need of some TLC. The layout and the location of the apartments are just great - really no complaints, they are just in need of some serious renovation.

All staff were very friendly and approachable - reception staff were positive and helpful when required with good accurate info provided.

We travelled without children on this occasion, but I have to comment the Entertainment host COCO - I have been on many family holidays as we have 4 Children. This guy was very hard working and totally focused on providing daily entertainment for all ages and the time and effort with the youngsters at the Mini disco was truly commendable.

Free WI FI available in main reception area - this should be extended to the whole complex area as part of 2011 improvement plan.

I would return to the Oro Player apartments if renovations are completed 2011/12 as was mentioned several times by staff during our stay.

Room Tip: Great location for access to the Pine walk and various eating places
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knockout28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    240
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
350
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here again for a short family break and it continues to fit the bill. Maybe it's due to it's layout, but from the moment you arrive there is steal community feel to the place. This comes from the number of repeat clients, so it's easy to meet up from friends from yesteryear. What's amazing is how quickly new guests are integrated into this unique atmosphere, regardless of their country of origin.
There is no doubt the apartments themselves are now becoming a little tierd, but that can easily be forgotten/forgiven as you enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and excellent location. This of course is all galvanised by the excellent and tireless Cocco who makes everybody feel welcome from the moment he meets them. Supported by the excellent Andreas behind the bar and the rest of the staff the Oro Playa really is a special family Holliday destination. The one downside this year is that Kiko has moved to another hotel, his crazy antics will be missed I'm sure from the OP's regulars.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouseteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The location of this hotel can't be faulted. It's away from the beach front but only by a one minute walk! Port de Pollenca itself is an ideal location to go if you have small children and want a relaxing family holiday. Not one awful British bar in the whole of the resort! The sea is calm and shallow so young children can paddle safely and the fish will take bread out of your hands they're so tame! On to the hotel! Staff great all were very helpful and welcoming. Easy check in, no fuss just handed a key to our room. Bad points - accommodation is very basic and in dire need of updating. It looks like it's hasn’t been updated since the 70's. The shower in our room ran at a trickle and when this was reported and fixed it didn't improve. There were holes in lamp shades, terrible stitching in sofa bed (which thank god we didn't need to use) and mould in the bathroom. That said, for the price and it’s location, it is worth the money charged. Just a shame because with a little money spent on maintenance this could be a great cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This was our 3rd time at the Oro Playa. Peurto Pollensa is a stunning resort and so family friendly. Oro Playa is so handy to the beach and the many restaurants in the town. In comparison with other apartments and hotels the Oro Playa is good value. The rooms (particularly the bathrooms) are in real need of up-dating, but I am told the apartments will be renovated this Winter. The staff were helpful and Coco the Clown is by far the best asset of Oro Playa. So friendly to all and very appealing to the children. So many daily activities were conducted for the children (and at times adults!). We had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have recently returned from 10 days at the Apartments Oro Playa in Puerto Pollensa. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. Coco, the entertainments manager was amazing, my children (4 and 3) loved him. They especially enjoyed the childrens diso. we have been to the resort before and these apartments are in an excellent location, very near to restaurants and the spectacular pine walk and a stones throw from the beach. Pool was great, kiddies pool brilliant as could sit on loungers and watch children as they were completely safe.
The decor is a little tired and could do with some investment to spruce it up a little. Very clean though and reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthejearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Having stayed here in 1998 when our children were young we have returned a further 6 times. This is due to the value for money , great friendly atmosphere and lovely pool. Even though the children are now mid teens they enjoy the activities hosted by Coco, who always makes them feel welcome. These include Rifle shooting, Pool and table tennis competitions.
The apartments are in a lovely location 1 minute walk to the beach. Will return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrykingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

it was an awesome holiday we made loads of friends
they took us out for some drinks and went to clubs
lots of fun
coco the clown and Andreas the barman are legends
excellent apartments
very happy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daverayner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
Aparthotel Galeon Suites
#23 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mar Calma Hotel
Mar Calma Hotel
#15 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Oro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Oro Playa

Property: Apartments Oro Playa
Address: Calle Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Lastminute so you can book your Apartments Oro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Port De Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Pollenca
Oro Playa Apartments
Apartments Oro Playa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing