We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central”
Review of Mar Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Calma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just got back from a very hot week in Puerto Pollensa. The resort its self is great some really nice restaurants you need to be self catering or bed & breakfast as we were at the Mar Calma.
The hotel is new & very modern, The rooms are only small but very nice, The roof terrace with the jacuzzi is wonderfull we spent a lot of time up there.
We were in room 101 & found it very noisy the hotel is next to the irish bar & on live band nights which there were 4 of in our week it was a bit much, so if you carnt bet them join them!! which we did.
The staff in the hotel were all very friendly & helpful & the hotel was kept spotless & rooms cleaned every day. The breakfast was ok nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a simple hotel, very close to the beach. It does not have a pool but has a roof top area where you could sunbathe, with a jacuzzi. When we stayed it was so hot up there it was unbearable probably much nicer when it's a bit cooler. The deck chairs up there looked nice but were very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very nice it's worth booking in for that, lovely fresh fruit, excellent bread and pastries, ham, cheeses, tomatoes very good and super service too. Close to lots of good restaurants and cafes for other meals. The air conditioning in the room was excellent. The room was small but very clean, basically equipped with a hair dryer, safe, TV and good bathroom, although the shower was dangerously slippery and nothing to hold onto, needs a bit of modifying for older clients perhaps with a hand rail? No facilities for tea making, but not a problem as there was a fridge in which you can store cold drinks. Carlos on reception was exceptionally helpful, booked restaurants for us and gave lots of good advice, really nice guy. There are only a few rooms so it never feels crowded, ideal for a good rest. We had room 206 which I suspect is one of the smallest from reading other people's comment, but it was really quiet as it looks out over the street towards the sea. Ideal for grown ups, not really a kid's hotel. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livinlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

lovely new hotel well appointed,as they used to say, rooms very simple.
grey white decor big firm beds, pillow selection big bathrooms,nice balcony with sea and town and mountain view.
went because of TA reviews and friends in England recommending it.
small rest,bar called a snack bar for some reason.
great for people watching, fantastic food and original too.
All the staff, with one exception, wonderful, kind, jolly helpful.
maria in am, a joy.
nice simple wine list and a great bar list.
totally recommend as have other TA .
negatives; sadly, Carlos is the biggest one for me, I found him rude and arrogant,he took 2 days to get shower fixed,told me it had been fixed and told me I did not know how to use shower, find out engineer had gone to wrong room and this got a giggle from Carlos, no apology, no, have a drink on us NOTHING, just a giggle. When info was asked for it was wrongly given and his whole attitude for ten days was do not bother me.
never was asked by him, everything ok and every other member of staff asked. Sorry but it soured the visit a lttle.
The door to room not fitting and letting in light, why do hotels not check this
I wonder and the worst apple tart ever as slab of wetness and EVERYTHING else was so good
Go enjoy the rooms the food the drinks and the service and hopefully YOU will get attention as others have done from Carlos

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosCapllonch, Director de Recepción at Mar Calma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and dedicate us part of your time. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to know your opinion about our staff who with their professionalism, make and achieve that guests like you leave the hotel with a good remind of their stay.
I must say that your comment regarding my person has surprised me, for the last 25 years I have been working in Hotels and never have been found “rude or arrogant “ by other guests.

I would not say goodbye without thanking you for choosing the Mar Calma Hotel for your stay in Puerto Pollensa.
Hope to see you soon in this your Hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Carlos Capllonch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed in Mar Calma for the weekend - we just wanted to escape the awful 'Summer' weather to get a bit of sun. We stayed in room 304 which had a view over the street where there are a few bars and it had a huge balcony which had the sun all day. The room wasn't very big, but was fine for the time we spent in there, It was clean and very modern. My only minor niggle is that there are no storage drawers, just shelf space in the wardrobe and no waste bin other than the very small one in the bathroom.

The roof terrace is great for making the most of the early evening sun and is very quiet and relaxing. The sound proofing kept all of the street noise out of the room, we were not disturbed at all!

All of the staff are so lovely, they are very friendly, kind and helpful, especially Tony and Carlos. Their customer service is excellent and cannot be faulted at all.

The resort itself is quite pretty and the beaches lovely and clean. Pine walk is very close by and there is a good variety of restaurants in this area, I just wish we could have stayed for longer and if I ever go back, would definetly stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoTLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went to mar calma for a week in June with my husband..and it's all we expected to be and more. Room was bright and airy. Breakfast lovely and the staff are next to none
Just one little gripe, we were in room 154 which is right next door to the Irish bar in fact I think it's in the Irish bar...music does not normally bother us and we are not complainers but this went on until 4am on live music nights. So if it's peace you want avoid this room.. But full marks to Carlos and his staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendobendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I have visited this resort many times and stayed in several different hotels and this one has to rate as one of the best. The Mar Calma was originally a one star hostel which had been closed for a number of years and has now been totally rebuilt to an exceptionally high standard. Our first impressions on entering the hotel were that it looked very nice, modern and spotlessly clean and from then on it only got better. The bedroom although a little minimalistic was adequately furnished with comfortable bed, flat screen tv capable of receiving bbc and itv channels, efficient air conditioning, free room safe and the bathroom had a large walk in shower. The first floor lounge with its white furniture and large flat screen tv is very relaxing for a quiet read or watching tv. The roof terrace is the ideal place to sunbathe and to cool off in the jacuzzi in the hot sun. The dining room and bar are very nice and the freshly prepared breakfast served by Maria enjoyable. All the hotel staff are extremely polite and very helpful and nothing appears to be too much trouble.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 13SandyBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

From start to finish we could not fault this lovely hotel. Carlos and his staff were always on hand. All areas were spotless with lovely modern design features. The air conditioning in all areas was great. Breakfast was always delicious and fresh. The hotels restaurant Ona was lovely with a good range of dishes. Beautiful sun terrace with jacuzzi, lounge for guests to use but we had a tv with british channels in our room. We were very sad to leave and will return, as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Our room booking stated interior double but that meant a balcony overlooking the street but did have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona and Jed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
757 reviews
0 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Calma Hotel

Address: Carretera Formentor 17, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Calma Hotel with its four stars and totally renovated in 2012 is situated in the most privileged centric area of Puerto Pollensa, next to the town square and the Nautic Club, and close to our best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mar Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Calma Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing