We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Mar Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Calma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We rented a car and drove to the Mar Calma Hotel from the airport. This took about 1 hour. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Booked on hotels.com.

Pros:
-nice, clean, modern, new
-spacious room with balcony
-pleasant reception and staff who gave us a map, directions to beaches and other sites, and restaurant recommendations
-Wifi is included and we had no connection issues
-very reasonable room rate
-excellent location at the port and by the main square
-good restaurants nearby. My favorite was Tribeca which is only a couple blocks away. You might need a reservation though, we made our reservation in person a couple hours before it opened for dinner.
-nice breakfast spread including an order from the hot food menu (eggs, bacon).
-very nice and comfortable room
-there is nice lounge, can't remember what floor it is on
-Near Cap Formenter (lighthouse)

Things to know:
-We had a little bit of trouble finding the hotel but some locals were able to help us find it. I used Google Maps to get directions. I had emailed the hotel before arriving to ask for driving directions but did not receive a response - and I used the same email address I used previously to ask about parking and received a response to that email.
-There is street parking but if you park in a blue spot, then you have to pay a meter. If you park in a white spot then parking is unrestricted and free. We found free parking a couple blocks away, on the street where the restaurant Tribeca is located.
-Toiletries are nice but there is not hair conditioner so bring your own if you need it.
-About an hour drive from the airport.
-Not a lot of young people in this area.
-Our room was on the 3rd floor above the alley where the bars are located. There was noise til after 3am but it actually didn't bother us.
-Don't leave your balcony door open at night. We did this one night while sitting on the balcony having drinks and got lots of bugs/flies in our room.
-Nice rooftop area with a hot tub, but it's not always on so the water gets cold.

Overall we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if noise from the bars will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel was great. Stylish rooms, great help at the reception. Very clean. The breakfast buffet did not have a very broad selection of sausage and cheeses, but that's the only point. Every guest could choose omelettes, pan-fried axes. Free wifi in every room, with great connectivity. Unfortunately we couldn't try the roof-pool, but we'll leave that for next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kroonkurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was possibly the most clean and modern hotel I've ever stayed in. There was not much to find fault in it. The roof terrace with jacuzzi more than made up for the fact there was no swimming pool. The breakfast (self service) had something for everyone; cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee tea, fresh meat and cheese, bread rolls and something from the cooked menu too! Our room faced onto the road so we did not experience the noise of the bars below as mentioned in some reviews. The service was first class. The wardrobe door was not attached to the slider when we arrived (Sunday) but it was put right by the time we came back from breakfast next morning. My only minus point and not really worth mentioning is that for our 11 night stay I didn't think there was enough storage space (two small drawers, some shelving and around six coat hangers).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

If you like modern living but still enjoy the personal touch then this is the place for you. I could write an essay on all the wonderful things this Hotel done for me, but instead im simply going to say - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAINIEBOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in Mar Calma last week and booked the suite as we decided to treat ourselves. We were the only room on the top floor we had our own private sun terrace which was next to the roof top jacuzzi and had views of the mountains and the harbour... The suite itself was fairly small for the money we paid but was clean modern and had mini bar with water etc in..breakfast was served on the coffee bar downstairs which was very nice and cooked fresh for you the only thing we found dissapoujnting was the fact we couldnt make a drink in our room so i had to go down to breakfast to get hot drinks and take them back to the room and then if you wanted a drink during the day wed have to pay full price for it..But appart from that had a lovely week would reccomend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylee256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from the Mar Calma.This is a new Hotel which is excellent.The staff are first class and cannot do enough for you.We were given a room on top of the Irish/Australian Bars which did not make for much sleep.In fairness when we requsted a change of room we were moved to the other side of the Hotel which was brilliant in all respects.My advice go for this Hotel but get a room away from the only noisey bars in Port de Pollenca.The only reason i do not rate this Hotel excellent in all respects is the noise from the Bars we had to put up with on our first night.It went on till past 0300hrs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwalesbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

A spotless and modern hotel in the centre of Port de Pollenca.

Very comfortable beds, spotless bathroom with excellent shower, good air conditioning. Breakfasts were delicious.

I've given it 4 out of 5 as there is some noise from the Irish bar next door, I'm sure they would move you if this was an issue but we were out every night so not much of a problem for u, we were just surprised that soundproofing wasn't considered when they redecorated with the hotel so close to the few really lively bars in the resort.

The roof terrace with jacuzzi was great and a nice break from the beach for chilling out on, we had it to ourselves a couple of times which was lovely.

Special mention has to go to the staff who were excellent and the most friendly hotel staff I've come across in a long time.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue be sure to ask for a room facing away from the nearby Irish bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,175 reviews
0 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Calma Hotel

Address: Carretera Formentor 17, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Calma Hotel with its four stars and totally renovated in 2012 is situated in the most privileged centric area of Puerto Pollensa, next to the town square and the Nautic Club, and close to our best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mar Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Calma Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing