We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Mar Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Calma Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Excellent hotel, all the staff proffesional, helpful and very cheerful. Everywhere spotlessly clean, very good quality breakfast, clean modern lines throughout, best location in the Port, you are literally 30 seconds from the square and 1 min from the Pine walk........and thats why some have said it can be noisy.....but I do think there is a great buzz about the place, and I think its great for the Port to have a new hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Mar Calma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is smartly designed, and staff personnel are friendly. However, premises are terribly noisy. The hotel is located on a street full of bars and restaurants, and even inner rooms have music noise until 3am. Not recommended if you intend to rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Argentinean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosCapllonch, Director de Recepción at Mar Calma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your exerience at Mar Calma Hotel with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Your opinion is very important tu us. We have a meeting next Friday at the City Town Hall with the local Tourism Counselor to let them know the inconveniences that some of our guests have experienced regarding the noise of the nearby bars.
Again, thank you for sharing your impressions, it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Capllonch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We rented a car and drove to the Mar Calma Hotel from the airport. This took about 1 hour. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Booked on hotels.com.

Pros:
-nice, clean, modern, new
-spacious room with balcony
-pleasant reception and staff who gave us a map, directions to beaches and other sites, and restaurant recommendations
-Wifi is included and we had no connection issues
-very reasonable room rate
-excellent location at the port and by the main square
-good restaurants nearby. My favorite was Tribeca which is only a couple blocks away. You might need a reservation though, we made our reservation in person a couple hours before it opened for dinner.
-nice breakfast spread including an order from the hot food menu (eggs, bacon).
-very nice and comfortable room
-there is nice lounge, can't remember what floor it is on
-Near Cap Formenter (lighthouse)

Things to know:
-We had a little bit of trouble finding the hotel but some locals were able to help us find it. I used Google Maps to get directions. I had emailed the hotel before arriving to ask for driving directions but did not receive a response - and I used the same email address I used previously to ask about parking and received a response to that email.
-There is street parking but if you park in a blue spot, then you have to pay a meter. If you park in a white spot then parking is unrestricted and free. We found free parking a couple blocks away, on the street where the restaurant Tribeca is located.
-Toiletries are nice but there is not hair conditioner so bring your own if you need it.
-About an hour drive from the airport.
-Not a lot of young people in this area.
-Our room was on the 3rd floor above the alley where the bars are located. There was noise til after 3am but it actually didn't bother us.
-Don't leave your balcony door open at night. We did this one night while sitting on the balcony having drinks and got lots of bugs/flies in our room.
-Nice rooftop area with a hot tub, but it's not always on so the water gets cold.

Overall we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if noise from the bars will bother you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel was great. Stylish rooms, great help at the reception. Very clean. The breakfast buffet did not have a very broad selection of sausage and cheeses, but that's the only point. Every guest could choose omelettes, pan-fried axes. Free wifi in every room, with great connectivity. Unfortunately we couldn't try the roof-pool, but we'll leave that for next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kroonkurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was possibly the most clean and modern hotel I've ever stayed in. There was not much to find fault in it. The roof terrace with jacuzzi more than made up for the fact there was no swimming pool. The breakfast (self service) had something for everyone; cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee tea, fresh meat and cheese, bread rolls and something from the cooked menu too! Our room faced onto the road so we did not experience the noise of the bars below as mentioned in some reviews. The service was first class. The wardrobe door was not attached to the slider when we arrived (Sunday) but it was put right by the time we came back from breakfast next morning. My only minus point and not really worth mentioning is that for our 11 night stay I didn't think there was enough storage space (two small drawers, some shelving and around six coat hangers).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

If you like modern living but still enjoy the personal touch then this is the place for you. I could write an essay on all the wonderful things this Hotel done for me, but instead im simply going to say - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAINIEBOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in Mar Calma last week and booked the suite as we decided to treat ourselves. We were the only room on the top floor we had our own private sun terrace which was next to the roof top jacuzzi and had views of the mountains and the harbour... The suite itself was fairly small for the money we paid but was clean modern and had mini bar with water etc in..breakfast was served on the coffee bar downstairs which was very nice and cooked fresh for you the only thing we found dissapoujnting was the fact we couldnt make a drink in our room so i had to go down to breakfast to get hot drinks and take them back to the room and then if you wanted a drink during the day wed have to pay full price for it..But appart from that had a lovely week would reccomend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylee256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#13 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Calma Hotel

Address: Carretera Formentor 17, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: £78 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Calma Hotel with its four stars and totally renovated in 2012 is situated in the most privileged centric area of Puerto Pollensa, next to the town square and the Nautic Club, and close to our best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mar Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Calma Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing