We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar Calma Hotel
Nearby Hotels
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hoposa Daina Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$1,176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hoposa Uyal Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Illa d'Or(Port de Pollenca)
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Romantic(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$435
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sis Pins(Port de Pollenca)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Aparthotel Club del Sol Resort & SPA(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
242
69
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
69
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubroof terracegin barboutique hotelthe main squarecentral locationpillow menunoisy at nighton arrivallovely hotela real sun trappuerto pollensasmall hotelwelcome drinktown squarebed was very comfortablebars restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

After multiple discussions with the other members of the party, we decided that there really was only one way to describe Mar Calma "5* appearance on a 3* budget" not that it's in anyway a bad thing... the whole place is stunning, you won't be disappointed on first appearance.

As you stay longer (after the first night) you'll start to recognise a list of small issues, our shower temperature regulator was overly stiff (although how often do you seriously change the temperature of a shower more than once), the size of the shower basin and sink aren't proportionately sized for water flow, so there is inevitable spillage, the breakfast is top quality in produce used, but poor on selection... there is a slightly cheap feel to the whole place.

However as titled this isn't a negative thing, as I say, there is something about this place you want to like so much that you overlook these things... you mop the water from the floor with a smile on your face, mix the 8 or so items in the buffet to multiply up the range on offer, enjoy the warmth of the shower, knowing you wouldn't have it set that high at home. I can't explain it, it's the definition of ineffable, there is something too great about this lovely quaint hotel to care about anything wrong.

To top it off, the owners/managers genuinely seem to care about this place, and everyone who stays here, nothing is too much, no job too big to do, or too small to be deserving of their attention. If you aren't a big breakfast eater, you would still be able to sit there for an hour at least watching the amazing efficiency with which it's served to everyone else.

I feel it's my duty to point out what is wrong with this place, the windows need double glazing where they face onto the street (the noise kept us up till the small hours) breakfast does need more selection, and the coffee and tea could be improved on (self serve would be a good start), and everything needs upgrading over time (which I'm sure it will get as funds allow).

This place has only been open a year, there are a few teething problems, but I wouldn't hesitate to return there tomorrow. I'm sure that they'll iron out the creases over time and you'll be able to say you knew about the place from the start!! In the meantime it's more than adequate to any needs you could plausibly have.

Room Tip: Take some earplugs unless you plan on following the traditional Spanish sleep patterns
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Now, of course all reviews are purely subjective, it would be foolhardy only to trust the good one's, or to dismiss something on the basis of reading a bad one, but I can genuinely say that from the experience my partner and I had at Mar Calma Hotel, we would return in a heartbeat.

The hotel itself underwent a complete refurbishment in 2012, and can't you tell. There's nothing naff or Costa-del-Cheap about it, the place is contemporary, fresh, clean-as-a-whistle, elegant and simple style with clean lines everywhere, and with only 20 rooms, you benefit from that personal touch where customer service is concerned.

Floor to ceiling glass surrounds the lower exterior and, upon entry, you're greeted by smartly dressed, exceptionally bilingual (at least!) front desk staff. We arrived in the morning (pre-check out time) and naturally, our room wasn't quite ready. Our bags and cases were secured safely behind the desk while we took a 45 minute stroll around the resort until our room was ready. We'd been in the room just a few moments when we were presented with a complimentary glass of champagne.

We chose not to stay in a room with a balcony, given that the hotel has an amazing roof top terrace with far-reaching views of the surrounding hills, Pollenca old town and port (see photos). The terrace was decked with wood, and offered a few smart deck chairs and tables, not to mention the jacuzzi! During our seven nights in the hotel, we used the terrace intermittently on most days, it was never even half full, so there was great privacy to be had, and it was a brilliant sun trap, too!

As for our room, it was exceptionally clean, I mean, exceptional! It's like everything you would expect from a four-star hotel, but often never receive. Fantastic air conditioning, built-in wardrobe with hangers, quality new safe, two bath towels, two hand towels, two flannels, shower-exit towel, flat screen tv (with BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, ITV2, ITV3, ITV4, C4 - it's always nice to wake up in a morning with Susanna Reid), H-U-G-E bed, and the option for it to be cleaned every single day was nice.

I would recommend anyone considering making a reservation to include at least breakfast as part of their booking. Every morning we were greeted in the restaurant (where you could dine either inside or out) by a super-efficient, courteous, attentive and thoughtful waiter (he did so much more than wait on though, like I say, very efficient). It wasn't your crummy old 'continental breakfast' either. You had a great range of options, and every single thing was FRESH. Three or four different breads, crusty rolls, a plethora of cereals and cold juices, lovely warm buttery croissants, pan-au-chocolat and cookies, ham, Serrano ham, incredible little chorizo pates, salami, cheese. The real gem though was the eggs option - any way you liked, with streaky Spanish bacon. I switched between tortilla (Spanish omelette, available with a multitude of fillings) and scrambled eggs (super warm, creamy and garnished with fresh herbs).

We enjoyed the food and the service so much that we booked a table on the rooftop terrace for an evening meal one night. Beautiful to watch the sun go down while eating glorious treats, and it's so lovely and personal, with only one other table being set, so the overall dining capacity was four! Thankfully, no-one was on the other table so we had the terrace and the waiter all to ourselves - we were even offered complimentary sparkling rose, sushi and a dessert.

I've waxed lyrical for way too long about the quality of the Mar Calma Hotel, it is all subjective and maybe some people would have nit-picked faults with what I experienced, but from my point of view, this was a hotel that, without question, ranks in the top five of my overseas hotels visited, and I've visited a fair old few!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Correos1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel.The Hotel was again excellent in all respects.The Hotel remains clean and well kept.Special mention must be made of Carlos and Toni who are on the front desk,nothing is too much trouble for them, and they are very efficient.
Thanks to all members of staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southwalesbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

stayed for 10 days at the end of June and was very impressed with how clean and well kept the hotel was. My room was usually cleaned during breakfast and was spotless each day. The staff in the hotel are very friendly indeed, front desk, cleaning staff and bar staff, and nothing is too much trouble. The single rooms are a bit small, however are in a good position with good views from the balcony. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Puerto Pollensa at the Mar Calma hotel which we enjoyed. The hotels location is excellent, lots of lovely restaurants and bars close by, aswell as being close to the beach. We were a little concerned having read previous reviews about the noise, but I can honestly say this was never an issue at all. The staff were friendly, the room clean, modern and spacious, very comfortable beds, soft pillows. Breakfast was good, but on our first day we were unsure if you could just pick a table or are allocated one, it was a little impersonal the service at times we felt.. The only reason I havent rated it 5 is just a few little niggles, we reported the shower on Sunday as it was set at 43 degrees which made it impossible to use and this was not fixed until Tuesday afternoon. On arrival we were given our room key and on entering the room it was clear the room was not ready it was as the last guest had left it which was a little deflating after a long journey. The gentleman on reception was very polite and apologised and offered us a glass of champagne (which I think you generally get anyway from reading other reviews) we then waited a short time for the room to be cleaned. Also we were a little upset to return one day to find our room door was not locked following the cleaners visit in the day, luckily all our valuables were in the safe, but we did find the lock a little ttemperamental and were concerned it had been open for the majority of the day. We reported it to reception and it was fixed immediately which we appreciated. We would like to go back to the resort and may visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: 304 was a good room, it was on the street overlooking the australia bar but had a very large balcony that wrapped around the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorkshireTulip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Director de Recepción at Mar Calma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Mar Calma Hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback which contribute to improve our services. 

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay and I sincerely apologize, we are taking steps to immediately improve the aspects of service that you mention. 

Kind regards,

Carlos Capllonch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews