We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Duva & Spa
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
“only average”
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We stayed in the duva for 2 weeks in july and the word that springs to mind about every thing in the place is AVERAGE.The rooms are small (we have 2 kids as well)and yes they were cleaned every day but not very well a light sweep but never under the kitchen table where you ate so there was always crumbs there after they had cleaned so i used to sweep up after anything was eaten because we had found ANTS on our first day in the room.There was always a strong smell of urine in the bathroom again from day one and some ants as well .
The pool area is tight and not many umbrellas but its ok . The location is AVERAGE a 20 minute walk pushing a buggy the old squre is nice and a nice selection of resturants.And now for the entertainment or complete lack of it the day went something like this start at 11 face painting for kids,12 board games for kids,1 till 2 was lunch 2 till 3 was maybe pistol shooting then finished at 3 .IT was an aboslute disgrace no water polo no tennis even though there were 3 courts in the complex, and the night time was even worse id say they broke the world record for karoke and quizs in the 2 weeks we were there ,it was so bad i just felt sorry for the man havingto do it every night.
All in all i would go back to pureto pollensa but just not to the Average duva

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aido44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    278
    94
    31
    12
See reviews for
364
184
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

The hotel is a good 10 minutes walk out of Port de Pollenca down a main road.
The hotel reception can get a taxi very quickly and the fare is about 5 Euro.
Reception staff were very helpful indeed and very friendly.
Our room was fairly basic but a good size and was clean and tidy. Linen & towels changed every day.
Air con was okay but noisy and not the best and the hair dryer is like something from the seventies - take your own if it's important to have a decent one.
The hotel pool is a great size and was empty every morning until after 9am. Poolside area is quite squashed and there were very few umbrellas to provide shade. People reserve sunbeds with their towels.
POrt de Pollensa is a very British resort.
Pollensa is a very pretty village. Great restaurants in both.
Bus service is good and reliable.
Puig St. MAria overlooking Pollensa is a tough climb but the view from the top is breath-taking.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHBaskerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down N.Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Just back tonight from Puerto Pollensa, really beautiful, family-friendly resort which I will definitely be returning to next year, unfortunately cant say the same for the Duva.
The hotel is given 4 stars, but in my opinon more like 3 star, the health spa (which is very impressive looking) is probably the only reason why the hotel gets its fourth star.
The rooms are fine. Basic, but fine, cleaned every day, which is great.
The food is ok, nothing to get excited about, bar snacks cheap for lunch, we didnt eat in the restaurant at night so cant comment.
The location of hotel isn't great. Although only 15 - 20 min walk into resort, its a horrible walk along a cycle path on a very busy road, could be quite dangerous.
The worst part of the hotel was the childrens entertainment, or should I say lack of it!! The fact there was 3 staff was the biggest joke, cause in the 10 days we were there, my daughter could get her face painted 2 times, thats it, no disco, no games, just face painting beside the pool, which of course came off within 2 minutes. Nothing was as dissapointing, as in choosing our hotel, we discounted hotels that didnt offer childrens entertainment.
We had met alot of different families, and they all complained about the same thing. There were activities for older boys ie; water pistol fighting, archery but thats it, nothing for young children.
In my opinion there can be no excuses for a hotel that cant turn on a bit of disco music for kids to dance to, its that simple. The lack of entertainment for kids really lets this hotel down,not a hotel for families with young children.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifeCoDownN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal,Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We loved the Duva so much after a week there last year, we booked direct ourselves to stay a week this year full board. We paid the deposit in Feb to gain a discount. Upon arrival the very friendly male receptionist informed us that there would not be a buffet style lunch (as we had been led to believe) as there was very little demand for the full board service this year, but that we could eat at the snack bar instead or have a discount. This was a bit disappointing as we had enjoyed the range of foods available last year and they could have emailed in advance. This was the only real down side to the holiday as the place itself is great with no rowdyness or noise or fighting for sunbeds. If possible try to get rooms with balconies facing the garden as the sun is not beating down on it in the afternoon which allows for a nice relaxing time pre dinner. The entertainment was not great and it too was better last year. The tennis courts are great for teenagers but take your own rackets and balls to keep prices down. my son wishes to go back next year and we might although it may be time for a change. Enjoyed the week and should have stayed longer!

  • Liked — The layout of the complex and the peaceful ambience
  • Disliked — The main road outside is busy at times
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the Duva aparthotel on a self-catering basis - 4 adults & 1 under-2 in two rooms. The rooms were spacious, kitchen had great facilities which worked(!) and our room had a very nice outlook over a pond. The swimming pool was very nice, a smaller pool for our baby. Staff on Reception were very pleasant though bordered on the incredulous when we asked if we could keep the room on for a couple of extra hours (as if nobody had ever asked this before).

Because of having a child, we ate twice in the restaurant. The buffet was very good value for money at €14 per head which included 3 courses, beer & wine, coffee, tea. Don't discount this as an eating option because it's actually good.

The only small snag with this hotel (for us) was its distance to the beach. It is a good 10-15 minute walk which was not ideal with a young child. Also, a couple of tips if you're staying here: (1) the cafes over the road from the hotel do not serve the same quality of food as many other places in Puerto Pollensa (in my opinion), and (2) the Spa is more expensive than other shops in town - but that's basic economics right ?!

Definitely recommend this hotel to stay, we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeryade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Have recently returned from theDuva.

Booked last minute and not quite sure what to expect. However pleased to say that my partner and I had a lovely holiday in Puerto Pollensa. The resort is lovely - picturesque. The mountains surrounding the port provide a stunning backdrop and there is plently to see and do.

The Duva is perfectly adequate for a holiday in this lovely part of Majorca.The apartments are well furnished and spacious, although I would imagine they would be crowded for any more than 3 people. Everything that is needed for a beach holiday is provided although the decor and furniture is a little jaded and in need of refurbishment. The cleaning standard was adequate although my advice is too take some slippers with you unless you want very dirty feet in the apartment - I don't think the floors are washed very well if at all!!

The Duva is about 15 mins walk to the centre of Puerto Pollensa- very easy walk down the wide cycle path and pavements - all are lit. There is a Spar shop across the road and a bigger and cheaper supermarket about a 5 -10 min walk away. We did not eat in at all as there were so many fantastic places to eat in the centre of the resort. I would recommend Suttons on the sea front, opposite the tourist information bureau- some of the best food I have tasted anywhere in the world. The menu is contemporary mediteranean and the set menu is 16 euros for 3 courses. This is fantastic value for money and the food is 'melt in the mouth'.

The Duva has several pools and guests can use anyone they like. However they lack enough umbrellas and the main pool is very cramped. It was also very full of young children when we visited which meant it can get noisy as the little ones screamed with excitement a lot. There is entertainment at night which included cabaret and bingo - not our thing but quite a few people seemed to stay for it. The indoor pool is lovely however it is overheated - like swimming in a bath - far to hot. It is also not open to hotel guests at the very times I wanted to use it - after 3pm mon - thurs, sat or sun evening. It is mainly used by local people as are the tennis courts. It is useful to know that you can hire a pool towel there each day for 1 euro.

If you prefer a quiet room contact the hotel in advance and ask for a mountian view. Our room overlooked the mountains and tennis courts and was much quieter than those overlooking the main pool. Also there are a number of 2 and3 bedroomed apartments which can be booked on line- these looked fabulous.

I would rate the Duva as a good 3 star beach hotel It is definately not 4 star - I have stayed in many 4 star hotels all over the world adn this does not make that grade. However for a nice family beach based holiday it is perfectly fine. We would return again although hopefully by that time it will have been refurbished and the air conditioning will work!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank JayNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2008

having only stayed at the duva hotel for 1 week - you quickly get a feel for what the service and place is like. i think we stayed in the average block and the rooms are just that. apparantly there are nicer rooms on the compex but we never got to see how nice, so maybe worth inquiring before you arrive.

the food was pretty good as well - full english or cereals or continetal for breakfast along with varied fish, meats and vegi meals for the evening.

as for the hotel staff there were a different class - couldnt do enough to help you - always a friendly smile to greet you - it made our holiday to be around such friendly smiley staff. the rooms even though not 4 grade standard were cleaned everyday. fresh towels and bed linen were always supplied when we got back from the the pool or the beach which was a 10 - 15 minute walk away from the hotel. its a nice little stroll into pollenca itself so not to taxing. its quite expensive to eat out and about around pollensa but never had a bad meal wile we were there.

my partner and i got a taxi to alcudia which is 10 mins away and spent the day there by the lovely beach and not so nice blackpool like shops.

i reccommend the duva hotel for its lovely staff and friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank st-jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,042 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#13 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#7 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Duva & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Duva & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Duva & Spa
Address: Carretera Palma a Pto. Pollenca Km. 58, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#14 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Duva & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Duva Convention & Spa Center is located in the town of Puerto Pollensa in Majorca. The sandy beach with shallow waters and clean sands is under a mile away from the Duva Pollensa Aparthotel. Puerto Pollensa, which has plenty of shops, boutiques, cafes, bars, restaurants and places for a great nightlife is only 850 metres from the complex. The Duva Aparthotel offers a chilled out atmosphere, which is ideal for those looking for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of home life. Cyclist 4 Star complex with security, repair, storage and bike cleaning facilities, washing machine & drier. Professional bike hiring. Cycling & routing backup services & Cycle excursions. Training camps 7 & 14 days. As a complement of our facilities services, we offer you the opportunity succeed in the organization of your own important events. 3 Multifunctional rooms endowed with the most advanced technology and in one of the best evironment of the north side of Majorca. Open from February till November, Come and Enjoy!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Duva & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Duva And Spa
Aparthotel Duva Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hotel Aparthotel Duva
Aparthotel Duva & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing